We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First NYC stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First NYC stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I ran the NY half marathon this March and decided to bring my family with me. From just the moment we arrived, the doorman was very helpful - not rushing us, helping with our bags. Our room was very nice and spacious, clean. The kitchen was really important because 2 of my children have severe allergies and we need to cook often. The balcony was a huge bonus. My kids loved to come out and look at the view from the 12th floor. Excellent stay! We are coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear ron v-

Thank you for your review of your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our service oriented associates. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    87
    21
    7
    0
See reviews for
177
76
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had a great trip to NYC and really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room was stylish and comfortable. Loved having the kitchenette. Very clean. Staff was quite helpful. Lots of fun activities nearby. I loved how we were treated well [and given our choice of high floor or room with a balcony] even though we traveled on points.

Room Tip: It's New York. High floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear HestiaMaryland,

Thank you for staying with us, and our team is very happy to read your positive review following an enjoyabl stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel is located in midtown - 11th/Lexington and is close to Grand Central Station and the UN HQ. Great location. The valet took our suitcases to our room and gave us a brief heads up on were the nearest cafes were etc. He also told us the Voss water in the room was not complimentary - the price is under the bottle $15 for the one litre and $7 for 500ml. That information deserved a good tip.

Staff very helpful, allowed to take breakfast back to suite. Cooker and fridge in room, with two TVs, so no fighting with kids.

The only downside is their suites are very small.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear KapopoO,

Thank you for staying with us, and our team is very happy to read your positive review following an exceptional and memorable stay. We look forward to welcome you and your family back to our hotel and hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was so impressed with this hotel! The staff was so nice and very accomodating! Our guest room was great! Very large for NYC hotels! The room was spotless, the beds are very comfortable, great room! And Sam, the bellman was the best! I was so happy to see him each day and he always made sure we had everything we needed! The breakfast was great too! Great location and great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear SalemSoccerMom,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service oriented associates and specifically Sam our bellman. We look forward to seeing you again in the future when your travels bring you to New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We did have a problem during our stay as our room had some mechanical issue and no other room was available. We're glad that the shift manager (Anthony) and his team went the extra mile to ensure we're taken care of and fairly compensated due to the inconvenience.

Positives
We certainly appreciated the warm welcome, the team really tried hard to make right the issues we're having. We're also impressed with the hotel upkeep. The hotel looked clean throughout and the breakfast room is spacious, well organized and has much better presentation than the Residence Inn Times Square in my view.
Although the hotel was not centrally located to all the major venues/attractions (especially Times Square), but is close enough and within walking distance to most places, and easily accessible since it's quite close to Grand Central station (within 10 min walk). If you don't want to walk too far to Grand Central, there are a lot of good Japanese restaurants nearby that offered really good value.

Negatives
The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night (on Tuesday night). Fortunately this was a false alarm, but awaken us and made us concern for a while (since we're in upper level) nonetheless. Although the hotel and the room were clean, but unfortunately there was some unpleasant smell in our bathroom. We're not sure if this was caused by the kind of cleaning agent the hotel is using, or it was the smell of mold/mildew that formed due to poor air circulation/ventilation in the bathroom.

Having said these, we would definitely love to come back to Residence Inn in Midtown East if we visit Manhattan again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear st4rg4z3r,

Thank you for your detailed review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at the Residence inn by Marriott. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service oriented associates and that we were able to recover the mechanical issue that you encountered. We look forward to seeing you again in the future when your travels bring you to New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel was OK. I was disappointed with the room because we got a room with views of the back of 3 buildings and some other metal objects. I just took a quick peak and closed the curtains again because it seems pretty claustrophobic and creepy to see rooms from buildings all around us.

The room and bathroom are quite small. It was like a cruise cabin. But oh well, we were only staying one night before heading off to Niagara Falls so the view and room didn't matter all that much I suppose. But I most likely wouldn't stay here again. There are better hotels.

The breakfast was fine, I think the hotel wasn't too busy so we didn't have issues with the elevators or breakfast being crowded.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear swingonastar-

Thank you for staying with us during your recent travels to New York City and for your review on TripAdvsior. I apologize that you feel the hotel was only okay due to lack of a view and the size of our guest rooms. For Manhattan standards our rooms are of generous size including all of the amenities that we provide within the room such as the kitchenette in every guest room. For future reference if you are looking for a room with a view we do offer upgraded room types that do have a more enjoyable views of the New York Skyline or even the Chrysler Building. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoyed your time at Niagara Falls.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was a great location and loved the hotel. We were close to Broadway and 3 metro stations. You could walk to Rockefeller Plaza and really Broadway. I stay in NY at least once a month, normally for business and it's usually at higher scale/ trendy hotels. I would compare this hotel equally as nice. I came with family this time and for the space and amenities it was well worth it. I love that they offer breakfast and that made it really convenient. I know what to expect with a residence inn and they have consistent great service and amenities. I tried the workout facility, I had it to myself. It provided the standard equipment and had personal

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear M&M's1,

Thank you for staying with us and your wonderful review on TripAdvsior. It is wonderful to hear that you would compare us to higher scale hotels as we strive ourselves to always exceed our guests expiations and ensure their stay with us is effortless. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed many of our complimentary amenities including our daily hot breakfast with a rotating menu that includes cheese omelets, eggs florentine, & Belgium waffles and many more. I hope we have the pleasure of accommodating you on your future travels to New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott(R) in Manhattan. Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, the United Nations, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio and one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and a select few with outdoor space and views of the Chrysler Building. A fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to energize your mornings. And, a generous fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. And stay focused and productive when it's essential. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.