We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in midtown Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #33 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mendon, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in midtown Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at this Residence Inn and loved it! The location is very convenient, within easy walking distance of Grand Central station, Rockefeller Center, the UN, and Fifth Avenue and Madison Avenue shopping, and just about a 25 minute walk to the Empire State Building, and 34th Street shopping.

The staff were wonderful, sending welcoming emails before we arrived, and warmly welcoming us when we got there. They provided directions to ATMs, restaurant and stores, all in a friendly manner that made us feel at home. We even received assistance in contacting an on-demand wheelchair accessible taxi service which made a big difference in being able to get to the Statue of Liberty in a timely way.

We had a corner suite, which I considered a great value. It included a living room, a bedroom and 1 and 1/2 baths. I especially appreciated the books on the bookshelves in the living room. One of them was
New York Deco, photographs of art deco features around New York. As soon as I got home, I bought a copy of the book for myself. I'll use it to help plan our next trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Kathy M-

Thank you for your detailed review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our dedicated and service oriented associates in addition to our Executive Premium Suite with New York City touches in the details of our design. I look forward to seeing you on your future travels to the big apple.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    170
    39
    12
    2
See reviews for
305
150
26
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The staff at this hotel made our stay very special. Left cupcakes in our room for our daughter's 16th birthday with a card signed by the staff! We were on west coast time so the staff (loved Jorge!) helped us to box breakfast up to take back to the room. Everyone was courteous. Couldn't have asked for a better hotel. Be careful about the car service they recommend. It ended up being more expensive than the flat rate offered by others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Kathy S-

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us during a special occasion, celebrating your daughters sweet 16! We look forward to seeing you when your travels bring you back to the Big Apple.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The staff rocks!!!!! They helped with everything and are very proactive. I needed help at the business center. They came straight away and picked up what I needed. They are also fun and great service industry people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear a k-

Thank you for your review of your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our service oriented associates. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We recently stayed here for a week with our 1 year old son while my husband was in the city for business. My son has peanut and nut allergies, and I contacted the food & beverage team prior to our visit to see if there was anything safe for him to eat in the daily breakfast buffet (which is included). Not only did Christian reassure me that there would be plenty of options, but on the first morning of our visit Ramon greeted me by name and thoroughly explained what was safe. Not only did he (or a member of his team) continue to do so each morning, but he went so far as to offer to photocopy ingredients lists to reassure us all the more. Traveling with a toddler who has allergies can be difficult, but Christian, Ramon and the rest of the food and beverage staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and taken care of. Thank you again!

The hotel itself is fantastic for families wanting a little more space (and separate room) when traveling with a baby or toddler. Impressive rooms for Manhattan. Clean, quiet, and easily accessible to most areas of the city (either by foot or public transportation). This hotel is now my first choice for future visits to Manhattan!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Lindsay L-

Thank you for your detailed review of your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that a major component of that was our food & beverage department lead by Christian. We are very lucky to have such detailed and service oriented mangers and associates with us. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We always stay at Marriott hotels, so when we planned on seeing a show on a Friday night we decided to stay overnight. Looking at locations, point values, etc, we ended up here. I think next time we stay in NYC, it will be a no brainer and come back to this location. The service was impeccable! Check in was a breeze and we were greeted with self-serve hot chocolate. It was about 10 degrees outside, so that hit the spot. We were on the 16th floor and the room for NYC was huge. Two queen beds, a couch, little kitchen, nice modern bathroom, very clean and comfortable! In the morning when we went down for breakfast the selection was huge - more so than many other Residence Inns we have stayed at. I went over to get some cut up fruit and they were out, so asked if they would be bringing more out. The woman said yes and it would be pineapple and I said no problem. My hands were full so I figured I would go to my table and come back for it. Less than a minute later the woman showed up at my table with a bowl full of pineapple! Talk about service! Since we were staying only one night, we left our bags at the hotel while we explored the city for the day. They were so nice about storing our bags and retrieving then again. This place is tops and will be back later in the year for another stay and show!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Jennifer F-

We appreciate your detail review of your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your experience was effortless with the service oriented team we have. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels being you to New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This place was amazing we were here for my son's 11th birthday and to se a Broadway play. Sam the bellman and Derek the customer relations guy were above abd beyond. Derek got is cronuts ad we we asked where to find them abd Sam was great with the luggage abd directions and just all-around overly helpful. We will only stay here from now on. Oh yeah abd the rooms were clean warm abd comfortable they removed all the down being abd made this a trip to remember for years.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Shadd S-

We appreciate your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Derek and his team made it memorable for you and your family.I hope that we have the pleasure of accommodating you when your traveling bring you back to New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for nearly a week. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We stayed on the 32nd floor out of 34 so the view of the Empire State Building was amazing. The room has a double bed and a double sofa bed. It has a fridge freezer, dishwasher and microwave, mini safe and items of cutlery. The breakfast facility was okay, there's both hot and cold variety of breakfast options. The locations is good and staff very friendly.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott(R) in Manhattan. Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, the United Nations, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio and one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and a select few with outdoor space and views of the Chrysler Building. A fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to energize your mornings. And, a generous fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. And stay focused and productive when it's essential. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.