We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #34 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is not The Four Seasons, but it is absolutely worth the 200-250 USD they charge. Rooms are clean, large enough and everything works. Even the included breakfast is actually not that bad. Cannot beat the location. All in all a very fair place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hello bobbylion1234-

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and complimentary breakfast which rotates on a daily basis. We look forward to seeing you again when you travels bring you to NYC.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    169
    39
    12
    2
See reviews for
301
148
26
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Spacious great rooms located off the beaten path of the hustle and bustle..Close to Rockefeller Center,Times Square and midtown tunnel to go across to queens ,bronx, Long Island if needed....Property is very well maintained can accommodate up to 6 in a room in their 1 bedroom suite (2) queen comfortable beds and sofa bed ... Bonus breakfast is included as well saves a few dollars..... Exceptional service from the front desk to house keeping service....I have stayed in various Luxurious Hotels around the world witness the service for yourself peoples its just amazing.......

Room Tip: Studio King bedroom is very spacious for the price offered
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear 609jerome-

I would like to thank you for your great review of your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott. I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our centralized location in the heart of midtown east in addition to our spacious suites. I hope that we have the pleasure of accommodating on your future travels to the Big Apple!

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The location is excellent. The employees were friendly and helpful. The gym is well equipped; but if that is not enough Central Park is a short and enjoyable run away. And the breakfast... impressive; a step above any Residence Inn breakfast I have had and worthy of NYC. I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear s rk6501-

I would like to thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott. I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our centralized location in the heart of midtown east in addition to all of our wonderful amenities. I hope that we have the pleasure of accommodating on your future travels to the Big Apple!

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We can recommend this hotel on its great location. A stones throw to Grand Central,Rockerfeller centre and a subway only a couple of minutes away. The room size was adequate and we used the kitchenette to our convenience. The gym had up to date equipment. The laundry was useful as it was located on the lower floor. We felt that the breakfast included was very good value. Staff were helpful and assisted us promptly with friendly service.The furnishings and upkeep were to a high standard. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Roamers46-

I would like to thank you for splendid review of your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott. I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our centralized location in the heart of midtown east in addition to all of our wonderful amenities. I hope that we have the pleasure of accommodating on your future travels to the Big Apple!

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I decided to write this review before I return home and forget:). So - this is our last night here after spending 7 wonderful nights and absolutely delighted of our choice. Our room was very clean, new and modern, spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom, a huge shower a totally equipped kitchen. After asking for a quiet room in a high floor we got room 1435 which was indeed peaceful, so we could relax and sleep in our great vacation. Complimentary breakfast included eggs, yogurts, fresh fruits and occasional Mexican dishes which were all good. Fitness room was also nice and inviting and hotel staff were all very kind and helpful. Located in 48 st. & Lexington Ave. Residence Inn Manhattan was very good for our purpose- very safe and out of the Times Square mess, with lots of nice restaurants, bars and shops. We Would absolutely return here, highly recommended!

Room Tip: A room in the highest floor possible would be a good idea due to possible noise from the street. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear meiravit-

I would like to thank you for great review of your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott. I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our spacious rooms fully equipped with a full size fridge, stovetop, microwave, and dishwasher. I hope that we have the pleasure of accommodating you on your future travels to New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stay over a hundred nights a year in Marriott hotels across the US with many of those in NYC. Last year when I first stayed at this hotel there was no doubt that from that point forward this would be my first and only choice for business and pleasure travel to NYC. The stellar service and professionalism starts with the curbside greeting from Sam to the smiling front desk staff and continues throughout my stay by all the folks in the hotel. I can't say enough about this team and the excellent service culture at this property. Congratulations, you take it to the next level.

David Pulver; Atlanta,GA

Room Tip: Building is extremely quiet and rooms are spacious for NYC standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear David P-

I would like to thank you for your wonderful and detailed review with your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we are now your primary hotel when traveling to New York City. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I travel to NYC frequently for business and have stayed at a variety of upscale hotels in the midtown area -- this Residence Inn exceeds all others in terms of quality, convenience, value, and cleanliness. The location is fabulous and the hotel is next door to many other quality hotels/walking distance to Grand Central.

First, the staff is outstanding. Nykia had checked me in with a great, helpful attitude which set the tone for my visit, but the best experience was when I was stressed-out the day that I was leaving NY.Nykia went above and beyond when I was late leaving the city at 4 pm (when all of the taxis are off duty). She went into immediate problem solver mode -- hailed a cab and loaded my luggage while I was in the restroom changing my clothes. I can tell you that I rarely find that level of genuine caring at other full-service hotels.

This newly renovated location offers large, very clean rooms with kitchen amenities -- a rare treat in New York. The breakfast is convenient, fast and served in a very pleasant environment with attentive staff that quickly clear away empty plates. Ammenities that I love at this hotel: FREE wifi, FREE business center printing services, FREE breakfast and light evening dinner reception, FREE hot chocolate with marshmallows, FREE well appointed, clean gym with apples, water and towels. I recently stayed at "5 Star" property that offered none of these perks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from 48th street. Garbage collection happens in the early morning hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hello WeRroadtripping

Thank you for your wonderful detailed review of your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Manhattan/ Midtown East. I am pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations on many levels, specifically with our wonderful service oriented associates led by one of our Assistant Guest Services Mangers, Nykia. We look forward to seeing you on your future travels to NYC.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott(R) in Manhattan. Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, the United Nations, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio and one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and a select few with outdoor space and views of the Chrysler Building. A fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to energize your mornings. And, a generous fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. And stay focused and productive when it's essential. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.