We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #36 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Campinas, SP.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were staying in a Hotel at 48th street and decided to extend our stay in NY, but our hotel didn`t have rooms available for the dates we wanted. We were lucky to find Residence Inn by Marriott exactly at the same street and made our reservations. We simply loved the hotel. Very well located, with large room (super clean) and two large beds and a big screen TV. We stayed in a Studio Room, with a completely furnished kitchen, including microwave popcorn! Other amenities offered by Residence Inn Marriott included: a very good hot breakfast, free wi-fi, business and fitness center. The staff was very nice and professional and we "felt home" since the first moment. We will certainly choose Residence Inn by Marriott (Manhattan) in our next trip to New York and will recommend it to our friends and Family. Our special thanks to Anthony Chrones, Assistant Guest Services Manager, who was very friendly and warm.

Room Tip: Studio rooms are very confortable. We stayed at 8th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello Nadir2013Nov-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience, thank you for your speical shout to Mr. Chrones! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    124
    35
    11
    0
See reviews for
230
110
21
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, WV
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Large rooms by NYC standards stylishly furnished and super clean! Very comfortable beds and with the typical Residence Inn layout, includes a complete and efficient kitchen! This is such a good location and the staff is so helpful, friendly and professional. I will definitely go back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Faced the street on the 3rd floor, but heard no noise-rooms have room darkening curtains and slept l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear mbgregory-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a one bedroom suite - 2 beds & a sofa bed. We need 3 beds, as we have a teenage boy who is too tall to share a bed with dad and I don't make my son & daughter share a bed - they are too old to do that any longer. Room is huge for New York standards. We were excited to find room 1231 has a large balcony. I just wish the weather had been nicer so we could really enjoy it.

Room was clean. A/C unit provided an excellent amount of white noise. We heard the heavy-footed guests above us one night, but that was it.

Staff were very kind and helpful. We interacted with the front desk, concierge, bellman, housekeeping and breakfast staff.

Breakfast was good for our purposes. Lots of variety. Although, they did run short on forks on Saturday & Sunday. The dining area was a zoo on Sat & Sun, but the breakfast staff opened up a conference room downstairs for our use. It was quite nice, actually.....quiet, no one bumping you or staring you down for your table.

My husband and I enjoyed the complimentary coffee after we came back from dinner.

Location is great. 3 blocks from the 6. Reasonable walk to Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building and other tourist attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear KTIllinois-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your suite with two queen size beds and sofa sleeper & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Was in a rush to book a room on marathon weekend and did not notice the E in front of the address. Have stayed in the Marriott on 40th and the one on 6th Ave. So when I did notice was worried about accessibility to cabs and subway. Did not have to worry a bit as I had a cab instantly each morning. Could not get over the cheery welcome! And the huge red velvet cupcake in my room. The location is very good for shopping and for dining. A quick cab ride and you are near the theaters. The free breakfast was truly outstanding. The hot foods changed daily - once there was mini potato pancakes! The rooms were spotless with super kitchenettes - although I just used the fridge and coffee maker. Huge flat screen TV. Very nice walk-in shower.I would not hesitate to stay here again. A true find.

Room Tip: We were on floor 8 so could hear the sirens and garbage trucks - but hey, that is NYC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Mary Kay D-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you found us by mistake and that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was my first time to New York City. This was the perfect hotel to stay in. It is very up to date and looked brand new. The rooms were huge and had big screen TV's in the living room and bedroom. You got complementary microwave popcorn which was nice when you wanted a late night snack. They serve complementary breakfast every day which is a huge plus especially if you want to save a little money when on vacation. The location was great as well. when you leave the hotel, take a left and go about 8 blocks down and you were by Rockefeller center and very close to time square. The staff was very nice and always willing to help. I would suggest this hotel to any friend or family member. Check it out and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Anders07-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was very pleased with my staff. Great location, easy access to Grand Central. The staff was outstanding. Bedding was very comfortable - especially after running the NYC Marathon - huge TV so I could put my legs up and relax. I only have one complaint the shower floor needs to be re-grouted. It did not look very nice. The toilet was running during my stay but with the bathroom door closed you couldn't hear it so I didn't bother to call maintenance. I did let the staff know when I was leaving so they could address it. The kitchen area was huge and the food was so of the best I have made at any Marriott hotel. I would highly recommend and would stay again!

Room Tip: I would ask to stay away from the street side it might be a little loud with a room facing 48th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear kksdad431-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a well-located hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The room we had was huge, with a separate living room and bedroom. The galley kitchen, just inside the entry door, was fully equipped with a hotplate, microwave, fridge and dishwasher. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. There was large flat-screen TV in the living room and another one in the bedroom. There's a convenience store for groceries around the corner on Lexington and a Whole Foods about six blocks away. The buffet breakfast was very good with a variety of offerings, and food was kept restocked. Our only complaint was the slow elevators which get very busy between 8 and 9 a.m. Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear TPTVancouver_B_C_-

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our great locaiton. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in New York City.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott(R) in Manhattan. Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, the United Nations, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio and one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and a select few with outdoor space and views of the Chrysler Building. A fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to energize your mornings. And, a generous fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. And stay focused and productive when it's essential. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.