We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night's Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #36 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Night's Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel has been renovated/updated recently and we found the rooms to be well laid out and in great working order. Most importantly the bed was so comfortable, the room clean, the kitchenette was handy, and there are windows in the room which open! We used the concierge before we arrived to secure Ranges playoff tickets and for some of the bus tours and Lillian was so helpful in advance and the team at the front desk were excellent too when we arrived.The breakfast downstairs each morning was well laid out, with constant food being replenished and the selection did vary from one day to the next. As stated in other reviews the eggs are on the dry side, not sure why, just add salsa or ketchup. Or better yet, have the waffles, they were great. I will recommend this hotel to all those who like a quiet city location. City's do have noise and we live in one ourselves, yet we could sleep like babies with the windows open at the Residence Inn. If you are flying out of LGA this hotel is no more than a 20-30 taxi ride for early morning flights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Diana D -

Let me thank you for choosing our brand new Residence Inn by Marriott for your recent visit to New York City. It is great to hear you enjoyed your spacious suite along with the hot breakfast buffet which is included.

If you are ever back in New York City, we hope to host you again! Thank you!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    123
    35
    11
    0
See reviews for
228
110
21
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've traveled to NYC many times for business or pleasure over the past 40 years, and like many of the other reviewers here, have also experienced hotels both "good" (good seasonal prices, good value sometimes, convenient locations, etc.) and "bad" (cramped and noisy rooms, no storage space, postage stamp-sized bathrooms, etc.). By comparison, this recently-opened (February 2013) Residence Inn is EXCELLENT! My wife and I stayed here for about a week and have nothing but the highest praise for everyone and everything. Every staff person we met was exceptionally polite, knowledgeable and sincerely helpful. Wish we could remember specific names, but everyone we met there between April 27 and May 3 was absolutely professional and wonderful. The room itself was among the very best we've stayed in, while in Manhattan. For us, it had everything we needed (nice fully-equipped kitchenette, nice-sized bathroom, plenty of storage space, exceptionally comfortable bed, and very quiet). The location is superior! It's very convenient to everything in mid-town Manhattan; close to subway and bus stops, and yet far enough away from the craziness, like Times Square. I was able to use Marriott Rewards for our stay, but pricing is comparable to other hotels with similar amenities, and maybe even better when you consider a nice hot breakfast is included (by the way, the public breakfast area is huge!). We also liked other public spaces off the lobby, like the comfortable and separate meeting areas, lounging area, and public computer area. I/we HIGHLY RECOMMEND this property to anyone traveling to New York City for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: As mentioned by some other reviewers, even-numbered rooms located on the highest floors have slight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello TheBrasilian -

Thank you for staying with us and the great written review. We take pride in the service provided to all our guests and it is wonderful to hear of your experience. It is also great to hear your were able to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning and our spacious lobby to relax.

We look forward to hosting you the next time your travels bring you to Manhattan!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you haven't stayed in NYC before, you need to know that (as others have mentioned), space is at a premium. I have stayed at a very expensive hotel in the city as well as more modestly priced accommodations (such as the Residence Inn; at least it was moderate with my corporate discount, not sure what regular prices are) and in my opinion, there is absolutely no reason to shell out big bucks for a room in Manhattan. First, there is so much to do in the city that regardless of whether you're there on business or leisure, you'll likely not spend a ton of time in the room. Secondly, even the trendy luxury hotel I stayed at before had a tiny room (and no pool). What you should focus on instead is the location - and the Residence Inn is in a great spot in Midtown - a few minutes walk from Times Square and Rockefeller Center (but at the same time, not as crazy busy as those areas).

The room was fine - comfortable bed, nice shower, good Paul Mitchell toiletries. There's also a mini-kitchen - I wouldn't see the use of this except for a long-term stay and maybe not even then. There are just too many dining options right outside, but I guess it's still a nice-to-have. No way around it, rooms are still smaller than what you'll find elsewhere in the country. But again, this is New York.

Everyone was friendly, check-in was quick, and the doormen helped me find taxis.

I didn't have the complimentary breakfast since I was in search of my perfect NYC bagel (which I found at Ess-a-Bagel, just a 5-minute walk away), but I did take a look and it seemed nice. Standard hotel breakfast with breads, scrambled eggs, potatoes, etc., but also Belgian waffle makers, which are always a nice touch.

My one complaint is that the walls are paper thin. Not in terms of hearing city street noises, but in hearing everything down the hall. No one on the floor was being excessively loud, but I could still hear every conversation and every time a door opened and shut. Some good sound-proofing would be a good enhancement because if you are a light sleeper as I am, it may not be a difficult night's sleep.

I'd stay here again, I'd just ask if there's a quieter room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello Sunny7777 -

Let me thank you for this review of your recent stay in our brand new Residence Inn by Marriott with its great Midtown East location in Manhattan. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We certainly hope to see you the next time you are in the big apple. Thank you again.

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, FL
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

In my last trip to New York I stayed in the Residence Inn on 48th Street between Park and Lexington Avenues. It was the first time I was in this hotel. I really liked it. The entire personnel was very friendly. The room was very big – the shower was almost a walking closet –. I liked the fact that I had a refrigerator and a little kitchen. Breakfast was included in my rate and it was sufficient and with good variety. The location could not be better. I personally like to walk in New York, but there are several subway stations including Grand Central at walking distance from the hotel. The bed was very comfortable and I was very thankful that I was able to get a room in a higher floor so I didn't hear any noise. Residence Inn is not a luxury hotel. It is a practical one with more than the basics for a comfortable stay in New York.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear TrudieA -

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review on our brand new Residence Inn by Marriott in Midtown East. It is great to hear your comments on the team of associates here to provide your with great customer service along with mentioning the complimentary hot breakfast buffet and great location.

We hope to see you the next time your are visiting New York City! Thank you again.

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights on Eastern week. Very good service I have to make special mention to house keeping in the 7 floor. The staff was very pleasant and attentive and the breakfast in the morning offered many options for all tastes! We stayed in a two queen room with a complete kitchenette, nice comfortable beds, and a small bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello VaferTouring -

Thank you for this review of your recent visit to our brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Manhattan/Midtown East. A special thank you for the praise on my staff including your room attendant. Your comments are greatly appreciated.

Thank you again.

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went to New York with some friends this weekend. Just a one night stay. The Residence Inn really fit the bill. VERY nice sized room. Clean. Well Maintained. Knowledgeable and helpful staff. Free breakfast is always a plus. Hey, we had a view out of our room even though it was reserved using Marriott points. It's not really close to anything, which I can't decide if it's a plus or a minus. There were a couple bars and restaurants and we were able to walk about 10 minutes to get to Times Square. We were able to sleep with the windows cracked without hearing all the sirens and horns so I'll go with a PLUS! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello PattyG12 -

I want to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us! It is great to hear your were able to enjoy one of our spacious guest suites including our hot breakfast buffet. We look forward to seeing you the next time your are in Manhattan.

Thank you again!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a brand new hotel and it's very nice. The location can be difficult to find on your smartphone maps because it's so new -- use the hotel's address and NOT the name to find it.

The rooms are big - FOR NYC. You MUST know this before coming here or you will be disappointed. If you are used to staying at Residence Inns across the country, please understand that your room or suite will not be like the one you stayed at in, say, Texas. You do get the mini kitchenette, which is nice.

We arrived at 8am, so our room obviously wasn't ready but the staff took our bags and we went off to explore the city. Later in the day, a staff member called us to let us know our room was ready -- at noon! Awesome! We didn't wander back to the hotel until 6:30 though.

Room was clean and modern - plenty of plug-ins for your electronic devices. Beds are comfy and the room was very quiet. They had plenty of towels stocked in the bathroom, which was important because we had 4 people in our room. Usually we have to ask for more, but not this time.

A free breakfast at your hotel is UNHEARD of in NYC, so I definitely appreciate it. This is your standard Marriott breakfast buffet, however, it's pure chaos. Maybe this is different during a weekday but on a Saturday morning, it was a mess. Kids running around everywhere, nowhere to sit (unless you want to get up at Farmer O'Clock), and constantly running out of food, plates, silverware and coffee.

The employees running the breakfast area were doing the best they could - they were doing the best they could. I suggest adding more staff.

Elevator is terribly slow, especially during breakfast hours. Expect the elevator to stop at EVERY floor between the hours of 8am-10am.

We have a room in the middle floors (I think this place only goes up to 16 or 17 so you will NOT get an amazing view of the city staying here) and had a boring view. Fine for us because we've been to NYC before, but if you're looking for a great view from your room, you might want to look at another hotel, or book the penthouse.

The 6 train is very close - like about a 2 block walk. If you're concerned about location, DON'T BE! As long as you are near a subway station, you're good to go. Grand Central is close, if you're coming in that way. We arrived via Penn Station, so we had to take the subway here. If you're deciding between this hotel and the Times Square location, STAY HERE. I've been to NYC a LOT and Times Square is my least favorite area of the city.

Anyway, I'd stay here again! We booked the room on points, so I don't know what the cost was comparably to other hotels, but we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear OwlYaDoing -

On behalf of my team of associates, thank you for taking the time to write this review. You are correct when mentioning the large size of our guestrooms for a New York City hotel. We hope to be your host the next time your in the big apple.

Thank you again - your feedback is important and appreciated.

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott(R) in Manhattan. Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, the United Nations, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio and one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and a select few with outdoor space and views of the Chrysler Building. A fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to energize your mornings. And, a generous fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. And stay focused and productive when it's essential. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.