We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Treatment! Thank you for being a home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #34 of 457 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Amazing Treatment! Thank you for being a home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had a family emergency and needed to stay at a hotel close to the NYU Medical Center. Sarah
and the rest of the staff was wonderful! Actually, Sarah who was working on Tuesday March 5, was a godsend. I arrived after flying in late the night before. When we arrived at NYU early in the morning the doctor told us it would take several hours for the surgery and for us to come back later. It was wonderful to be able to have somewhere to go somewhere and regroup.

Having the room 1.5 miles from the hospital was what we needed. It allowed me to stay late in the city and get up early in the morning to check on my mom. In short it allowed me to be there for my mom. Sarah was really helpful and asked me how I was doing. She was more than a friendly face. She made us feel really welcomed. She cared! Additionally the hotel was in a great location you could walk or easily get around the city with cabs, bus or train.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello Really2Real4U -

I want to thank you for your words of praise on our new Residence Inn by Marriott and especially on my Guest Service Associate, Sarah. My entire team takes pride in the service we provide our guests and it is appreciated to receive your feedback. Sending our get well wishes to your mom for a quick recovery.

Thank you again!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    121
    35
    11
    0
See reviews for
226
108
21
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spent 5 nights here with my husband and teen daughter. We had plenty of room, a full kitchen, and a lovely view of the Chrysler Building. The hotel is newly renovated and clean, and we found the staff to be very helpful. We mostly used the subway to get around, the nearest stop is three blocks away and Grand Central station only a few more.

Free breakfast was a nice perk for NYC, but I'd avoid the consistently overdone scrambled eggs and suggest bringing a parka to wear while you eat. Some of the air conditioning vents blow with enough force to ruffle the napkins. We actually played a game where we bet on how long it would take people who settled at one very nice (but chilly) table to move.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear cabbagerice -

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at our brand new Residence Inn by Marriott in Manhattan. Sounds like you were able to enjoy a room with a view and our excellent guest service. Our entire team looks forward to hosting your next trip to the big apple.

Thank you again.

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for three days (April 13) with three others. We shared a two queen room. The room was quiet, comfortable and fairly large for nyc standards. large frig, cook top and microwave were provided. Staff was super helpful and very friendly.
Location is good... a little away from the turmoil of things.... but still only a few blocks from everything. We mostly walked but also took cabs which the hotel easily stopped for us. Breakfast was good.... standard, but certainly sufficient.
I would definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: no view from any that I could see, but not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello gigidev -

Let me thank you for writting this reveiw of your recent stay with us in Midtown East. It is great to hear you were able to enjoy one of our spacious guestrooms with a fully-equipped kitchen. We hope to see you the next time you travel to New York City.

Thank you again, it is greatly apprecitate.

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

From the check in to the free breakfast it was a great hotel. A full kitchen in the room? Plus a fridge? I wish we stayed longer than just one night. The breakfast was hot and fresh! Bagels, fruit, eggs, cereal and HOT coffee! Being on 48th street we were a quick walk to Grand Central which made it ideal for getting anywhere in NYC. When we checked out the bellmen was prompt on getting us a taxi and off we went. Very clean and updated room. Very satisfied from check in to check out!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear BeachLife18 -

Let me thank you for your written review. We take pride in the service provided to our guests and pleased to receive your feedback. We hope that you will be able to stay even longer on your next visit to the big apple.

Thank you again, it is appreciated!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Residence INN New York Midtown east is newly renovated. Room are very comfortable and well decorated and modern. It was very busy over the week-end. The only negative issue is that I had to change room going from a very large room to a regular room. I had two separate room merged into one reservation which was confirmed several time. The acting manager without asking us decided to switch us from room because our room was already promised to someone else. Once we can back at night our card was no longer working. We went down to the front desk and get our card replace which they did without asking for ID ???? . When I ask for a late checkout, the night manger which I was not dealing with my room number and she advise us that they to change our room. That is when we found out that they had gone through our room pickup all our stuff without asking our permission and transferred our luggage, empty the safe, when through the kitchen, the bathroom, everything etc.. I complained right away telling them that it was a breach of privacy and they could at least attempted to contact us but. The manager was really not receptive and thought tat it OK and we were making a big deal. I told her that they had already given our old room key without asking an questions which did not make any sense. To make a long story short... Please ensure that you have only reservation and lock your stuff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello montyofkanata -

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm terribly sorry for the room change you encountered during your stay that was in our error. This is certainly not the service we strive to provide our guests. I understand my team was able to take care of you during your stay. I do hope you give us another try the next time your travels bring you to Manhattan. You may contact me directly at ri.nycha.gm@marriott.com for personal service.

Thank you again.

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This month-old hotel was a pleasure to stay in. We came here for my partner's birthday along with his college-age kids. Had two wonderful rooms, albeit in separate floors.

Coming in from Penn Station required two subway changes, although if you're arriving at Grand Central Station you're less than a five minute walk. If you're coming to Manhattan by private car on the other hand, well, you need psicological help and psychiatric drugs.

The front desk staff is superbly knowledgeable and eager to please. And they know the best cubbyholes to eat and have fun in the area. Our first night we took dinner at the Cornell Club and our second night we went to eat at the theater district prior to the evening show for the Book of Mormon.

The rooms are superbly done. Yes. It is Manhattan. They're small, although our space was probably larger than most permanent Manhattan studios. Kitchens were small but extremely well done. Salient in the rooms was the soundproofing. And clearly signed emergency exits and modern firefighting systems.

If there is one bit for improvement, is the breakfast. The scrambled eggs were so overcooked as to be inedible. And Fox and Friends blathered incessantly in the diming room to ruin everyone's breakfast and drive people away.

For a stay in Manhattan, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Cubanissimo -

Wow! Thank you for the great review on your recent stay with us at our new upscale Residence Inn by Marriott Manahattan/Midtown East. We take pride in the service our seasonsed staff provides and it is great to hear your feedback. We hope to be your home away from home the next time your travels bring you to Manhattan.

Thank you again, it is greatly appreciated!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CALI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just checked out of the Residence Inn/Midtown East and was very pleasantly surprised. We usually stay at the Renaissance or Ritz. This is a great little gem on the east side, yet still within a reasonable walk to shops on 5th & Madison, Times Sq and of course Grand Central. Despite our room somehow missing housekeeping service on the first day, our stay was still very positive. Personable staff. Well appointed & spacious rooms. Good breakfast bar selections. Will absolutely stay here again....likely in a few weeks for our daughter's graduation. Keep up the good work Residence Inn/Midtown East!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear bjjzmom -

Thank you for your kind words of praise in your review of your recent stay with us. We really do have a great Midtown East location close to many attractions including Grand Central Station and 5th Avenue Shopping. On top of that, our seasoned staff is here to assist you during your stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to the Residence Inn Manahttan/Midtown East!

Coridally,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott(R) in Manhattan. Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, the United Nations, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio and one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and a select few with outdoor space and views of the Chrysler Building. A fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to energize your mornings. And, a generous fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. And stay focused and productive when it's essential. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.