We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome veggie sushi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beyond Sushi

Beyond Sushi
229 E 14th St, New York City, NY 10003
(646) 861-2889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Sushi, Vegan, Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awesome veggie sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Recently tried out the Chelsea Market location and my sister and I were blown away....the "sushi" is amazing! My husband is a vegetarian so we are always looking for dining that provide this option...this will satisfy vegan, vegetarian, and animal protein lovers!!! It is strictly vegetarian (vegan actually I believe) but you will not miss out on anything. The taste is amazing as was presentation. Great flavor combinations. We went back and took an order home. My only complaint is it only has locations in NYC only....can't wait for them to expand down south. We will return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“WOW - Sushi without the fish!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had the luck to go to Beyond Sushi this week. Some Vegan friends of ours wanted to get together for lunch and it was suggested. Must say that I was a bit apprehensive, but let me tell you, if they are looking for a franchisee in Rio de Janeiro, I am the man!!! What great, fresh food. The service was as excellent as the food. Go, go, go as soon as you can. They will be opening in the Chelsea Market soon, but try them out here before.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very tasty, satisfying food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Beyond Sushi. I'm a total carnivore and I like my meat. Yet what I've found there was tasty, fun and colorful food. I'm simply not used to having so many great taste in one mouthful, it was definitely refreshing. And there are many different sauces to experiment with. I will hopefully renew the experience and find time to go there a second time while I'm in NYC.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“#1 vegan sushi choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Best place ever!! I come here at least once a month for their special roll of the month and I always walk out happy :D

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“LOVE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

What creative food, everything was delicious. We had a homemade drink which was perfect, sushi rolls which were divine, and a dessert which was unique. So much more I want to try here so I need to go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyond Sushi also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Beyond Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyond Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.