We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for tourists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Pearl St, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double HHonors Point
Ranked #162 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakland Gardens NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel for tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

New hotel was spotlessly clean. The staff was very helpful and recommended places within walking distance to go for a nightcap. The room had a very comfortable king size bed. We were on the first floor, which I usually don't like because of the possibility of street noise. The windows must have been made of special glass because we did not hear any of the construction going on right across the street from the building. The hotel is near many subways and the Staten Island Ferry, which is great for sightseeing. They also have a good free breakfast (cheese omelets, sausage, yogurt, fresh fruit, waffles, etc.)--save a little money for other things! I would definitely recommend this hotel for people coming to New York on a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
12
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great stay. Staff was outstanding and helpful in all areas. Room was nice but small which is what I expected for this area of town Bed was very comfortable. Easy walk to several subway lines. Walking distance to Staten Island Ferry which I strongly recommend if visiting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hampton Inn itself was nice and clean. Bathroom was excellent! Unfortunately, due to construction at the hotel, the air conditioning was not working and the room became stuffy and uncomfortable to sleep in. The staff was great and the breakfast was nice. The robust coffee however was NOT robust.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located to transportation for the major attractions. We saw a play on Braodway -15 minute train ride as it is only 1 block walk to subway and Ferry. Staff interaction felt sincere. Great Value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We managed a great price for New York with incredible convenience to downtown points of interest - Governors Island, Liberty Island, Ellis Island, Battery and Wall Street. Several trendy restaurants are nearby. Room was small but well appointed and quiet - no view. Staff was helpful and responsive with one minor exception. They were working on the water lines in this new hotel and failed to bleed the built up air pressure in the lines. When my wife turned on the water to wash her hands she was sprayed with water - staff response was to not stand in front of the sink. Self parking is much closer than the directions make it seem.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor - I was surprised to see guest rooms there.
See more room tips
Green Features: Quite standard - Hampton Inns have made some progress in reducing waste and increasing recyclables for there breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was a nice clean hotel, and the staff was really nice and helpful. With in walking distance to the World Trade Center Memorial and to Battery Park. The AM breakfast had a nice selection to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

In NYC, I expect noise. But NOT inside noise from the lobby. This new hotel has cute rooms, but also some problems. The first floor rooms come with all night chatter from people checking in late and early morning breakfast sounds. For a newly designed hotel, this oversight is inexcusable. A small gripe: the toilet paper holder in my room (105) is so close to the seat that it's difficult to use. I'm not disabled, so it would be extra difficult for a disabled person. One more thing: don't stay here on weekends. The subway stop that is 1/2 block away isn't in use on weekends. Plus, the closest drug store closes at 9 p.m. I know it's the financial district, but I didn't know any NYC drugstore closed that early.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our location and appointment and apologize for the noise issues you encountered. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience, and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial

Address: 32 Pearl St, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The grand opening is at June 19th! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.