We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOISY on First Floor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Pearl St, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double HHonors Point
Ranked #103 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“NOISY on First Floor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

In NYC, I expect noise. But NOT inside noise from the lobby. This new hotel has cute rooms, but also some problems. The first floor rooms come with all night chatter from people checking in late and early morning breakfast sounds. For a newly designed hotel, this oversight is inexcusable. A small gripe: the toilet paper holder in my room (105) is so close to the seat that it's difficult to use. I'm not disabled, so it would be extra difficult for a disabled person. One more thing: don't stay here on weekends. The subway stop that is 1/2 block away isn't in use on weekends. Plus, the closest drug store closes at 9 p.m. I know it's the financial district, but I didn't know any NYC drugstore closed that early.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our location and appointment and apologize for the noise issues you encountered. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience, and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    38
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
28
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland Mi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Located on a quiet side street. Located in the Financial District/Wall Street area. Wall street bull is awesome. Federal Hall where George Washington took his !st oath. Located in a great bar/restaurant area. Stone Street great place to eat and relax. Located by all subways.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

So there was some confusion as to where the hotel was, we almost missed it seeing as how there is construction work (new york, would b surprised if there wasnt construction) and the hotel is tucked away. Front desk clerk was super nice and antonio the houseman was extremely personable and helpful. The hotel was nice and clean, although it seemed small, and space was limited. I know New York is just that way, love this city! Breakfast was the usual hampton fare. Taniya the breakfast hostess did a great job managing breakfast and being friendly. I was rather surprised there wasnt a microwave in the breakfast area. That would have been great! I declined housekeeping service throughout my stay but if room cleanliness reflects on that department they have it mastered. Parking was located within a block of the hotel and hotel staff gives you printed directions and reassurance to guests that its easy to find. Staff is what makes a hotel great... I highly recommend this location!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Check in was simple and fast ,I the breakfast girl Tania I think was her name was super at her job,she always wore a smile ,even when she was to busy to look up. The front desk was always quick with advice and answers, no maintenance issues but the maintenance men was always helping us and other guest with luggage and any way they could help make our 7 day stay great, this Hampton has a great team, that goes above their duty's to make everyone feel like family. Thank you all so much from the Hampton family in Tennessee

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Took a mini vacation with the family and stayed at the Hampton.T he staff is extremely helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was worth getting up for and saved us money. The only problem was the noisy AC unit that repeatedly interrupted our sleep or my sons tv time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Having visited Manhattan eight years ago and experienced what passes for "nice" hotels, I was very pleasantly surprised at how genuinely nice the Hampton was.
Our room was a nice size and tastefully decorated with modern furnishings, the bathroom was a decent size and had a great walk-in glass shower, all staff were pleasant and helpful, and the continental breakfast was "good" (it probably didn't help that we showed up 25 minutes before it finished - standard continental fare in a very nice open seating area).
The hotel was a bit complicated to get to at first as it is on a one-way street, but after walking around the area for ten minutes I realized we were actually in an ideal location. The off-site parking wasn't ridiculous ($40 for 24 hours with the Hampton discount) and only a couple hundred feet from the hotel. We were less than 3 minutes walk from Battery Park and the boat tours, and just across the street from the Stone Street Historic District (a nice old cobblestone street filled with good pubs and restaurants).
All this, AND the hotel isn't expensive (we paid $159 per night with free wifi)!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great stay, good price on Travelzoo. Room was nice and size was generous for NY standards. Staff (Adriana and Michelle) were both great as well as the rest of the staff--everyone was helpful and kind. Thank you for a great stay--would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial

Address: 32 Pearl St, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The grand opening is at June 19th! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.