We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Skate Byrant Park
Ranked #88 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Wichita, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel was great very clean and clerks were very helpful at the front desk. The hotel was accessible to Grand Central Station. It was also a nice walk to Times Square if you like to walk. The room had a built in safe which came in handy. Overall this was a great hotel and I would stay here again if I come back to NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn United Nations. It is great to hear your recent stay with our property was to your liking and that you will return when your travels bring you back to the Big Apple! We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and hospitality of our staff and cannot wait to have you and the family once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    187
    35
    6
    5
See reviews for
142
139
38
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Although the rooms are small, they are very clean and quiet. The staff was wonderful - helpful and full of humour. Decent free breakfast is provided and the best thing is that it's a 5 minute walk to Grand Central Station - from here there are subways to everywhere. Good restaurants within walking distance and a gorgeous view of the Chrysler Building.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn United Nations. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness and quietness of our rooms alongside our staff’s humorous hospitality. Hopefully we are your preferred choice for future reservations here in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed at this Hampton Inn because it was required by my company's travel agent. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are very comfortable. It was very clean and everything worked well. The bed was very comfortable and the complimentary breakfast in the morning allowed me to save time. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is a good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We at the Hampton Inn United Nations are pleased to hear that your enjoyed your recent stay with our property. It is great to hear that the comfort, quality and cleanliness of our rooms were to your liking. Thank you for taking the time to express how you enjoyed our property and hope that we will be your preferred choice when either traveling on business or leisure here in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Spent four days in the city this past week. In the past, we would stay at a more opulent property, but realized when in NY, you need a good bed and a clean room.

Here we got that and more. Although our room was quite small, it was clean, comfortable and updated. Free breakfast was a plus (probably saved $30/day) and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. A special thanks to Jon who went out of his way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We are pleased to hear that Johnathan went above and beyond to accommodate your requests during your stay. The team is proud to have represented an extremely friendly environment and above par hospitality. We hope to be your continued choice when returning to the Big Apple! Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had to find a hotel at midnight and everything near La Guardia was booked. Found this number online and got a room for a reasonable rate. Room was small but comfortable, good breakfast, great proximity to Grand Central Station and airport shuttle. Not a bad walk to Central Park either.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for our property. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and quality of the rooms, hot and cold breakfast buffet and ease of access to nearby transportation. We thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations and hope it will be your preferred choice for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hampton Inn doesn't disappoint, especially this one by UN. It's clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. Free wifi and breakfast. And it's only a block and a half to the Grand Central station. For anyone who's looking for great value hotel in NYC, I highly recommend this one for both leisure and business travel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to complete this survey for our property. It gives us great pleasure to hear that we did not disappoint you during your recent stay at our property and that you enjoyed our complimentary hot and cold breakfast buffet. Many thanks for your recommendation for fellow travelers to stay at our property and we hope your future travels here in the city are shared with us. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, a 25th wedding anniversary trip away for me and hubby travelled from near Liverpool, UK.
Found very easily, a short walk from Grand Central Station, and the Chrysler building, which was our focal point to return at night!

Check in staff very friendly and helpful on arrival, surprised no-one took our bags and showed us to our room, not that we needed it, as the lift was 2 footsteps away and only 5-6 rooms on each floor, just thought it's the norm in US?

We on top floor so no noise from traffic or surrounding buildings.

Room excellent, large bed, very comfy, clean duvet covers and soft pillows. wardrobe with free safe inside, chest drawers, TV, iron board and iron and plenty plug and USB sockets to charge phones/camera etc.
bathroom - roomy shower, shampoo, conditioner, soap provided. towels changed daily.
hair dryer and coffee machine in bathroom although did not use.
brilliant idea of a night light in bathroom to save switching on large light and waking other person up, as bathroom door opened facing bedroom.

Breakfast was great, cereals, porridge, toast, bagels, muffins/pastries. Make your own waffles, we loved these! Yogurts and fruit pots, fresh apple and bananas too.
hot options of cheesy topped bagels and sautéed potatoes and scrambled eggs/bacon on alternate days. Plenty juices and tea/coffee, although did ask for English breakfast tea, as most were Earl Grey or herbal sachets, they went and fetched some from kitchen no problem.
Tea and Coffee available throughout day/evening in the breakfast room, and if items run out, gladly stock them up.

Free WiFi great, as was free use of two computers in the breakfast room and free printer too, great for online check-in for our journey home!

Had a gym in basement, didn't need or use did enough exercise sightseeing. they were doing work in basement and got a bit noisy at times from drilling but wasn't a problem for us.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for service, inc breakfast and great location to Grand Central station for subway to travel.
Times Square, United Nations HQ, Trump Tower, NY Library, Bryant park next to library was lovely, all in walking distance. We used a free map from reception to find our way around and had all attractions marked on.

Would visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to avoid traffic noise and a king size bedroom, although hotel on a quiet str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
We are very pleased to hear that our property was amazing during your stay and that our staff was as lovely as your 25th wedding anniversary. This was a great briefing on what our property has to offer and hope that others who read this will enjoy their stay here just as much as you did. Hopefully your next travels to the city bring you back to our property for all your future stays. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations

Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.