We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent hotel with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

this hotel lies in a great place, it's very easy to go out and find what you want. The most interesting thing is they focus more on the service quality, We have been highly impressed by Enoch Nimene, jennifer Ureny and Can. They just make us highly consider this is not a Hotel, it's more like a 'Home'

Room Tip: rooms are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hello Lucxue,

Thank you so much for such heartwarming comments! I will make sure I tell the staff you mentioned, about the wonderful things you wrote. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of the location and got the best experience out of your trip as possible. We hope next time you visit NYC you will consider staying at the Hampton Inn United Nations your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    233
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
190
168
42
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Please see my previous comments, you guys have an amazing staff. I was surprised with a b day card and a little gift. I wish however that there were more stores around but it was ok. I will go back next year but to the one in NJ where most of my family lives.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Lilian M,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the card and candies we left for you! We noticed that it was your birthday and wanted to do something to make sure you birthday was special and memorable. If you can't find rooms in New Jersey, we would love to have you again!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Good service, quiet, and comfortable rooms. The rooms are quite spacious for NYC and reasonably sized by any standards. What else do you want for $150 a night in midtown Manhattan? I would stay here again. I have stayed at one other midtown hotel that was about $130 a night but this one is worth the slightly higher price, particularly as breakfast is included in your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Andra G,

We are happy to hear that you were able to find days with a low rate! New York City can be so expensive, so its awesome that you were able to get such a great deal. We hope to see you again in the future, thank you for taking the time to fill out a reader review!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend in August and we loved the location of this hotel. We stayed before at the one in the Chelsea area, but this time we picked this one and we were glad we did. It is right next to Grand Central Station and also to Times Square.
Also, we loved the room A/C. It worked perfectly and maintained whatever temperature we wanted. (not like other hotels that you try to lower it to 72 but never reaches not even 78!)
The breakfast was ok.
We also loved the mattress and the comforter set.
Room was very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Emm730,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! The Hampton brand is known for our awesome beds, and we are proud to uphold the name we've made. Our Chief Engineer and his team have worked hard to make sure that the air conditioners are reading accurately and functioning properly! With New York being so hot at times and so cold at other times, we understand how important the AC unit is in regards to the overall comfort of our guest rooms. We hope that this message reaches you well, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have been visiting this hotel for months and encounter Enoch on a daily basis. He always greets me with a smile and a hello. As a frequent traveler, it's great to encounter someone like Enoch who is consistent with his above and beyond service. Thank you Enoch, it's been great meeting you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hello Sidneylm,

I just showed Enoch your posting and I have never seen him blush so much! He thanks you very much for the kind words and hopes that he will see you again to thank you for such a kind post!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, a great location near Grand Central Station. This is a new hotel, only eight rooms per floor, so not large, but rooms are good sized and has a well sized breakfast area and a very good breakfast. Very clean, I would recommend this hotel. Plus if you need a late night snack, just a block away from a 99 Cent Pizza location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear other100a,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in New York! The 99 cent pizza is a favorite of our hotel staff and guests alike. We hope that this message reaches you well and look forward to seeing you during your next trip to New York.

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I am a frequent traveler for business and current Hilton Honors Platinum status member. I regularly travel to New York City and I always stay at the Hampton Inn United Nations on East 43rd.
From the moment you walk through the door, you are immediately greeted by a friendly and overly-accommodating staff. Whether its Victoria, Enoch, Jenifer or Johnathan , you will be interacting with some of the most sincere and welcoming people in the industry. They treat me as a member of their family, which makes being away from mine that much easier.
There is a tremendous amount competition in NYC, however, I highly recommend the Hampton Inn United Nations for a steady, reliable and welcoming experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Ryan S,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We understand how hard it must be to be away from home and are truly flattered to hear that we can provide such comfort while traveling. We hope all is well and look forward to being your home away from home on your next trip to New York!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations

Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.