We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Little Sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

After a long trip it was so nice to find a nice clean comfortable room. The all season room in the back of the hotel on the 1st floor provided a nice escape from the city to eat my lunch or sit and read the paper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We are so pleased by your review amateur_t0urist. We are glad that we were able to share a moment in your life that you rememberd and felt the need to share. We cannot thank you enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    232
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
190
167
42
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at the Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations for one night. The hotel is brand new (2 months old). The reception area is quite small unsure how they would handle an influx of people. The front desk staff were very friendly and professional. Breakfast if free but the small breakfast area fills up fast (get in there before 10 am), the food is basic but good. Our room was on the 20th floor, quite small - sleeping quarters approx 196 sq feet. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. The bathroom was a good size with a shower (no tub), basin and toilet. The gym and business center were in the basement and set up quite nice. Found the hotel to be pricey, but then again probably the same price as other Manhattan hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Supervisor at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you Chatherine897 for taking the time to write a review about your expirence at the Hampton Inn United Nations. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and hope when u visit new york city you will consider staying with the Hampton United Nations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent three nights May 3-May 6. This new hotel is very clean with a wonderful staff. Everyone was so helpful from the front desk especially Felix to the breakfast room staff. This made our stay so enjoyable. The location was so close to Grand Central Station.
We will be back.

Lizzie1

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet, also king room is small. The double room is larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Supervisor at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello Lizzie,

Thank you for your wonderful response! I will pass on the nice compliments to the front office staff including our Assistant Front Office manager Felix. We at the Hampton Inn United Nations hope next time you visit NYC you will choose us as your home away from home so when can provide you with the best service, and accommodations that the Hampton Inn UN has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The room was wonderful. You could still smell that awesome new-construction smell. Great location and a great price. If you're staying in the mid-town area of NYC, this is a great option for you. The bathroom was spotless, the bed was great and the towels were brand new and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Supervisor at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Mr. Jim

Thank you for your kind words. I will make sure I inform our entire staff of the nice things you wrote. Our team at the Hampton Inn United Nations works really hard and is always trying to impact our guest with a positive and pleasant experience. Thank you once again for taking the time out to let the world know what the Hampton Inn United Nations has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent hotel. It is convenient located with easy access to public transportation and the FDR drive. The rooms are decently sized for NYC rooms. The breakfast selection was good and changed on a daily basis with great variety and the hotel staff were very courtesous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Supervisor at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Ms. Yesenia we appreciate your detailed review of your experience with us in NYC. We thank you for taking the time out and sharing your experience with the world, we do hope next time you visit NYC you would consider the Hampton Inn United Nations as your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The staff couldn't do enough for us. Everyone went above and beyond. The hotel is new and a great option if you want to be on the east side and near Grand Central Station or near the United Nations. I stay in Manhattan often and am used to the small room size, but I actually had room to break out the ironing board and move around comfortably (King Room).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Supervisor at Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We do try and pride ourselves in the service we provide, every guest that walks in we like to treat like family. We hope to see you soon and thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations as your second home when visiting New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel is satisfactory overall. As others have posted, rooms are extremely small. I stayed in a balcony room with king size bed. The balcony did make you feel like you had a little more room so that was good. The rooms are like new and very, very clean. Front desk staff was helpful with info about the area. Quality of free breakfast is not good but there is a Starbucks right around the corner and also COSI. Excellent location -- you can see Grand Central while standing in front of the hotel as it's just 2 blocks down the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations

Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.