We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New York Budget Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New York Budget Inn
Save
You added New York Budget Inn to your Saves list
200 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Messina, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not bad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

it was just an hostel...tidy and affordable....unfortunally i've been charged to store my luggages just because i arrived 30 minutes before the check-in time...this thing is against the spirit of the hostels accomodation..it never happened to me before...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    147
    45
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
57
116
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lima
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed for two nights, shared room with 3 people, clean rooms and bathrooms, multiple bathroom in halls. The location is great, subway on 33th and Lexintgon a 5 min walk, bus stop in front the hostel. the beds are really small, but everyone come so tired from visiting NY, that it doesnt matter.

The bad thing is that is no many energy sources to charge cells, tablets, in the room was only two for four people. The wifi was great and quicly and free. The staff is regular for the place.

I will definitely stay here for my next trip

Room Tip: No elevator, so try the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeshaya a, Guest Relations Manager at New York Budget Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on a clean, safe , fun and affordable property that is easily accessible to everywhere in NYC. All of our rooms are equipped with multiple electrical outlets as well as plugs that can accommodate several appliances simultaneously. We offer complimentary WIFI to all our guests as well as the use of hairdryers and electrical converters for international appliances. We look forward to greeting you on your next trip to the big apple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed here twice and would definitely go back for a return visit. GREAT location, clean rooms/bathrooms, & friendly staff. The only complaint that I can think of is that there is no kitchen, otherwise it is hard to beat this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeshaya a, Guest Relations Manager at New York Budget Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We love repeat visitors who appreciate of our clean rooms and bathrooms as well as out stellar staff. Most rooms come equipped with a refrigerator /freezer and microwave. We look forward to your third stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Spent three nights there in the double bed private room. Helpful and friendly staff. Very good location in Manhattan a quick walk to the empire state building.

Was a bit noisy at night though due to other guests and a light sleeper will have trouble sleeping. Also found it slightly expensive for what you get (but so is everything else in NYC).

Room was clean and neat. No window to the outside though so feels slightly like you live in a basement.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeshaya a, Guest Relations Manager at New York Budget Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly staff. We are glad you found our property easily accessible to many of NYC attractions including a short walk to the Empire State Building. It is nearly impossible to control the outside street noise that comes with the territory of being in the heart of New York City, although we do offer guests complimentary earplugs upon request. All rooms are equipped with double pane windows but,do to safety regulations they are left closed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We are a couple that stayed in both a shared and private room, the rooms were basic but clean and comfortable but this was not a problem we spent most of our time out site seeing!! The location was brilliant, the Empire State Building was a short walk away, it was very close to the subway. There was also a good bus service right outside the door. There were also plenty of eateries and bars close by!
We enjoyed our first trip to New York staying at this hostel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeshaya a, Guest Relations Manager at New York Budget Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are satisfied that you enjoyed your stay with us at New York Budget Inn. The M34 Bus picks you up directly across the street and travels all the way down 34th street which lets you off on the west side of town. We have recently partnered with Urban Boozer to offer our guests an exclusive incentive to try out local bars. This card offers a daily discount or a buy one get one free beverage every night of the week. A great deal for only $5. We look forward to greeting you on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great location - could walk in and out of the city or walk a couple of blocks to the subway. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I loved the free WiFi in the rooms.

I was in a single room and it was tiny. Not much room for luggage storage and the sheet kept slipping off the bed every night. Would have rated this a 4 if the lockers in the room were free to use and the beds were made properly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeshaya a, Guest Relations Manager at New York Budget Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at New York Budget Inn. We pride ourselves on giving complimentary wifi for all our guests. We have recently upgraded the sizes of our sheets and towels to addressing this concern and provide added comfort for our guests. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taubate, SP
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had a great time at NYBI, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The installations were kept as clean as possible for a bulding full of people in and out all day. And the location was perfect, close to several attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeshaya a, Guest Relations Manager at New York Budget Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback. We look forward to greeting you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Budget Inn

Address: 200 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Budget Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.