We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location good room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Union Square New York

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Union Square New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Fourth Aveunue, New York City, NY 10003 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Adv Purchase Up To 15%Off
Ranked #111 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brazil
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location good room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Very good hotel with new rooms. The service is good and there is a very good bar at The hotel Also.

At The top there is a nice view

The location is very good , very close To subway and good restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. It is good to know that you had an amazing time here at Hyatt Union Square.

Our team here at Hyatt Union Square are dedicated professionals and genuine individuals driven to provide the best and personal experience. And I'm glad that this time we have succeeded.

Please do reach out to me directly should you have any further inquiries or when your plans bring you back to New York. We would love to have you back.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    80
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
39
78
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was my first stay at the Hyatt at Union Square. Good downtown location with lots to offer near by. I was upgraded to a city view room and was still a bit surprised at how small the room was. But everything was new and clean and I appreciate that. A big shout out to Evan at the front desk. When I checked in I asked him for a restaurant within walking distance that would be ok for a single diner. He recommended Il Cantinori, and by the time I was in my room he called to confirm the reservation. Evan was very attentive and friendly, as were all the other folks I interacted with at the hotel. Had breakfast at the hotel both days I was there - delicious.

Room Tip: City view room wasn't as noisy as I thought it would be. I liked that I could open the window, b...
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that they have a recycle bin in the room for water bottles, newspapers, etc.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service from our staff and the hotel overall. I will make sure Evan is acknowledged for his attentiveness and dedication to providing the experience you had with us.It goest without saying that we at Hyatt Union Square are driven to provide the service in a personable and professional manner.

However, I'm sad to hear that you were not satisfied with the room size but without any excuse I'd like to address that the rooms are comparatively larger than most New York hotels and I'm sure we could have found you something better if it was an issue. But let me assure you that the next time you visit us again, we'll have you situated in a better and bigger room. Please do contact me directly when you do make that reservation with us.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I've stayed at this location twice. The hotel is spotless. the rooms are great for business travel or a quick city getaway.low key and quiet. Extremely friendly staff. They delivered a newspaper every morning and replenished the water bottle every day.

Room Tip: I like the the courtyard rooms. very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. I am extremely pleased to hear that you had perfect stay and the choice of hotel was a great one.

Our staff here at Hyatt Union Square do take great pride in providing an excellent service with personality and a great sense of attentiveness. And it is with reviews and feedback such as yours that drive us to excel even further and constantly surprise the next guest with another memorable experience.

We hope to see you in the near future and please do contact me directly should you have any questions. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect spot, just right in the middle of everything but quiet and modern. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. I was surprised how quiet the rooms were in the middle of Manhattan and you can even open a window.
Rooms are quite big for NYC, nice and modern with everything you'll need.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and providing this wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the staff.

We do hope to see you in the near future and visit us so we can provide you yet another memorable experience. Please do contact me directly should you have any questions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square. Thank you once again.

Regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is my first choice hotel for business trips to New York. Great location, great staff, and great ammenities. Convenient to shopping, dining, and transportation. Trendy but peaceful atmosphere. Room size spacious enough to allow me to work comfortably at desk in the evenings when necessary.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you so much for this review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that your stay was an awesome one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square. Please do not hesitate to contact me whence you do make that trip back to New York City.

Regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Ongar
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The staff are exceptional and the rooms well fitted out. This isnt your classic Hyatt hotel with grand rooms and big social spaces but it makes up for all of that with friendliness and the location is perfect for downtown. In my opinion better than the W on Union Square.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with an amazing feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We have a great team here at Hyatt Union Square that is built on class service standards with a hint of personalization that could conjure a pleasant experience for all our guests. It is our privilege to serve you again when you do return to Hyatt Union Square in the near future.

Do keep in touch and thank you once again for staying with Hyatt Union Square.

Regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last week on business and enjoyed it very much. The location is fantastic one block from Union Square. I was upgraded to a room with a lovely deck although not able to use it because if was so cold. The size of the room was average NYC hotel room, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was well laid out. The front desk staff was very helpful with sorting out the trains to Wall Street for me and making a reservation of dinner in the East Village. The bistro in the hotel lobby served breakfast and that was very good but the selection was a bit limiting. I will return to this hotel again next time I am in NYC for business.

Room Tip: I was in room 209 and I would request that room again because it was very quiet and large enough esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review and insight about our hotel. It was our pleasure to have you with us and looking forward to many more.

As a young and ambitious team, we are absolutely determined to create personable and memorable experiences for every guest of ours. Again, we look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully recreate that experience for you.

Please do keep in touch whilst you return to Hyatt Union Square.

Regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Address: 134 Fourth Aveunue, New York City, NY 10003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Hyatt Union Square New York offers 178 luxe guestrooms and suites that evoke the area’s vibrant spirit and invigorating atmosphere. Renowned interior designer Paul Vega created a unique urban space that blends high design with natural elements. Our building’s historic façade and expansive 23-foot high ceiling provide a grand entrance for your arrival, and our enthusiastic team will ensure that all your expectations are exceeded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Union Square New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.