We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annie the Musical

Annie the Musical
1564 Broadway, Palace Theatre, New York City, NY 10036
(877) 250-2929
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #29 of 846 attractions in New York City
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: LEAPIN' LIZARDS! It's an all-new production of one of the most acclaimed musicals of the past 35 years! With equal measures of pluck and positivity, little orphan ANNIE charms everyone's hearts, despite a next-to-nothing start in 1930s New York City. And now, alongside her signature pal dog, Sandy, she's set her sights on making us grin from ear to ear as she inspires a whole new millennium. Winner of 7 Tony Awards® including Best Musical, ANNIE - with Music by Charles Strouse, Lyrics by Martin Charnin, and Book by Thomas Meehan - makes its triumphant return to Broadway in a brand new production from Tony, Drama Desk and Pulitzer Prize-winning Director James Lapine and an A-list creative team.
Huddersfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We saw the show on 17/4/13. Queued 10 mins at 5.30pm for half price tickets at times square ticket booth and got the most amazing central seats on Row M in the Orchestra. Annie was fantastic from start to finish, all the cast were amazing, especially Annie, Miss Hannigan & Daddy Warbucks. Couldn't get over the staging and the scenery - it was absolutely brilliant. Would definitely recommend Annie to all ages it was first class!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    110
    32
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“unmissable rendition of a classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Fantastic creation of this old favourite, lead actress does extraordinary work with lots to do (including surreptitiously dishing out treats to a very obedient onstage dog), the other orphans are very natural and likeable, whole cast is great actually, band and musical arrangements very satisfying. Not even a fan of musical theatre but everything about this is spot on.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A True Broadway experience and Childhood Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I saw the film Annie in the theaters when I was 9 years old and fell in love with the music and story. It is still a favorite movie. But I never saw the musical until last night with my family (two girls ages 9 and 5) and my husband. It was a childhood dream for me and to share the experience of Annie on Broadway with my girls was a special memory we will always have. I was nervous that the musical wouldn't live up to my expectations, but this production is wonderful. Lila Crawford is the perfect Annie—spunky, adorable and she can belt out a tune like a star. The rest of the cast are wonderful, and the staging was top notch. It has to be outstanding if the 2 hour and 20 minute show can keep a 5 year old enthralled. I would highly recommend the show.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
115 attraction reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
384 helpful votes 384 helpful votes
“Our group of children loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were visiting NYC with friends and everyone of the children wanted to go see Annie. Being the last minute during peek season the only tickets available were SRO. Yes, they do SRO for this show.
We got SRO tickets for the children (age 16 and under) and they went to the show. We thought they might only stay about a half hour and leave because of being tired standing. Wrong, they stayed the entire show and loved every minute.
FYI. SRO means you get a real place to stand and a bar to lean against.
The staff

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Adorable little musical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Didn't buy tickets beforehand, but went to the discounted Broadway musical line in times square - got Mezzanine seats 40% off per ticket. I wasn't super excited to see Annie since I couldn't really remember the story line, but I loved it from the first scene. The children are spectacular and the real life dog clearly stole the show. Highly recommend seeing, especially if you plan on bringing children.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie the Musical also viewed

 

Been to Annie the Musical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annie the Musical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Annie the Musical to your Saves list