We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Practical Alternative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 West 36th Street & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #91 of 451 hotels in New York City
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Practical Alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I was recently in New York on a business trip. Location and a functional room where more important than luxury. I booked the room through the website with no issues. The location as many have pointed out is perfect. It is a block or so from the Herald Square subway stop and easy walking to many attractions. The building is new, modern in style and quite plain. I had requested a quiet room on a lower floor. There are only 8 rooms on a floor, so their options were limited. I was put on the back side, fourth floor. I checked in and quickly realized that I was over a set of exhaust fans for a restaurant. The room had the aroma of "fryalator". I have travelled a lot, but this was the first time in my life that I asked for a different room. The manager only hesitated for a second before offering me a street side room on the 12 th floor. Quiet and no smell! Thank you. The balance of the stay was uneventful. The breakfast is adequate and self service with no frills. The internet is fast and dependable. The hotel is spotless and the staff is friendly. The rooms are small, but it is New York. On the whole, a practical alternative and I would stay there again!

Room Tip: Lower rooms may suffer from more exterior noise. There are restaurant fans in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square NYC for your lodging needs. Thank you for your review and great feedback of our location, amenities, breakfast, and the staff. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered upon arriving to your room. I'm glad my staff was able to accommodate you quickly and efficiently. I assure you that will address with my housekeeping department to ensure we improve in this area.

Thank you once more for staying with us and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Best regards,

Omar A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    127
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
110
90
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We chose this hotel because of some of the negative reviews about other older hotels in New York, these mentioned small slow lifts and small rooms. This quite understandable when one appreciates the age of the buildings concerned. The Holiday Inn Herald Square is a recently finished building. It is bright and cheerful, clean and very pleasing. Having only 18 floors, the building is not overrun with guests, especially useful at breakfast time, (included in the tariff).
On arrival we were greeted by the very welcoming desk clerk, we were immediately upgraded to a king size room complete with a view of the Empire State Building, which is situated one block to the rear of the hotel. The room was spacious and modern complete with all the usual fitting you might expect, coffee percolator and safe included, and a very comfy king size bed.
Breakfast was included, a self service continental buffet, plus hot buffet of sausage, eggs, omelette, and an ingenious pancake making contraption ! . Tea and coffee were available throughout the day also. Vending machines and ice dispensers were available on various floors throughout the hotel .

This hotel, we felt, was conveniently situated for our needs. One block from Empire State Building and Macey's, 10 - 15 min walk from the bright lights and hustle of Times Square, between 5th and 6th Ave.

A great place to base yourself in New York.

Room Tip: No rooms can avoid the constant noise of this city, but try to avoid rooms with connecting doors. Ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear MAXWELL5_11;

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square and the Big Apple! I’m glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the trip to New York City and were pleased with the stay. We pride ourselves on the great guest service that we provide. I will be sure to pass along to my TEAM all the nice things you mentioned.

As you mentioned the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square 36th Street is centrally located to all the major attractions New York City has to offer. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and other trip advisor travelers.

We certainly look forward to your next stay with us and we are glad to be your new home away
from home while in NYC.

Best regards,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Myself & my 2 teenage daughters stayed here over the easter break,
Location excellent,,in walking distance of almost eveything,
Rooms were spotless, Very comfortable beds we had 2 double beds with choice of pillows firm or soft, i certinaly could not say the room was too small as has been pointed out in some reviews.

tea coffee making facilities in room also free Tea/Coffee in Dining Room 24 hours a day which was a nice touch,
Very good breakfast it kept us going for hours of sightseeing,
I would definetly stay here again and would recommend to other visitors to NYC.

Deli nexdoor very expensive,

Room Tip: Room at Back for good night sleep, even do saying that i have no experienc of other rooms at this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Deborah K;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. And thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! I’m glad that you had a great stay at our new hotel and that you found our staff, amenities, and location to be a good value.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to your next visit! We appreciate you recommending us to other visitors to NYC.

Regards,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel together with two friends in April 2014. The location was great, just a few blocks from Empire State building, and only a short walk up Broadway to get to Times Square. The rooms were clean and the bed was very good. We had a good view of the Empire State building from our hotel room window. The breakfast was was fine, but all the cutlery and plates were made of plastic and cardboard, so we produced lots of trash every morning. The people working in the counter were very friendly and helpful. All in all a good experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest;

Thank you for your review and kind words. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay. We pride ourselves on the great guest service that we provide. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the area.

Thanks for choosing us!

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here in April 2014, for a week on business. Definitely recommend this hotel - very nice clean and new, quiet and comfortable too for a great nights sleep. Decent gym room if you require that - only downside is that breakfast got very busy for the small area - though it depends how you time it with the large groups - and I had trouble using wifi with my company laptop - I don't think there was a wired connection. Otherwise a great stay and I would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! And thank you very much for your nice review. We certainly appreciate your kind words concerning our nice rooms, our great location, the breakfast options, the service of the staff, and the cleanliness of the rooms. We pride ourselves on the great guest service we provide. I will be sure to pass along to our staff all the nice things you mentioned. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered with the WiFi connection. We offered 24 hours tech support assistance and room with wired connection.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to seeing on your next visit to the NYC area.

Sincerely,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, GA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The location on 36th street is great, a couple of blocks to multiple subway stations, the Empire State Building, and Times Square. The desk personnel were great. The gentleman who helped us check in (can't remember his name) gave us a great restaurant recommendation. The room was very nice, small but more that adequate for what we needed. The bed was comfortable and the TV was HD with good reception. The bathroom was very nice and clean. The hotel has a continental breakfast with good cinnamon rolls and bagels. The rest wasn't very good but it was nice to have the option of eating on the property. All in all, we had a very nice time here and we would stay again. If I did stay again, I would try and stay on a higher floor. We did hear some noise from the street from the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your recent stay. Thank you for your recent review and feedback! We are delighted you found our hotel and location to be a good value and thank you for the kind remarks regarding the front desk team. As you mentioned, our new hotel is convenient located in Manhattan within walking distance to many attractions and great restaurants.

We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I've been to New York several times and this was by far the best hotel experience I've had. The location was the best, close to everything. My room was excellent, clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was professional, friendly and helpful. One particular front desk employee, Robbie, was especially good. She handled a busy desk in a professional and friendly manner. I will definitely be back. This is now my go to hotel when in NY.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Robin J;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! And thank you very much for your nice review. We certainly appreciate your kind words concerning our nice rooms, our great location, the breakfast options, the service of the staff, and the cleanliness of the rooms. We pride ourselves on the great guest service we provide. I will be sure to pass along to our staff all the nice things you mentioned.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to seeing on your next visit to the NYC area.

Sincerely,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St

Address: 60 West 36th Street & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks.Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and Mclennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near The Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel's guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services, as well.There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or , visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Park, The Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel's guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City.You'll take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.