We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jade Hotel is lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Jade Hotel to your Saves list
The Jade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 W 13th Street, 13th Street Between 5th & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #132 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Jade Hotel is lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed 7 nights in 1403 - great views of Downtown and a larger room. Service First Class, great shower, TV, wifi, aircon, quiet and clean.

Friendly staff, nice reception and decent drinks

Good quiet location walking distance to bars, jazz clubs, food, shops and away from busy Midtown

3 couples traveled - good value for NY prices

Room Tip: south facing have views and away from street. Our room 1403 was larger than our friends in 1406 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear CS080268,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and our location convenient. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    142
    54
    15
    6
See reviews for
101
170
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My three best friends from high school had the most fabulous NYC weekend thanks to the Jade. Everyone at the Jade was friendly, helpful, and full of good suggestions for eating, drinking, shopping and sight seeing. Admittedly, the rooms were small, but what they lacked in size they way made up for in charm! We put four girls with lots of luggage all in the same room and were very comfortable (which is near impossible to do in NYC). I would stay there again and I would recommend it to others! Thanks Jade!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Ann P,

Thank you for your review. Our team is dedicated to providing the very best experience for our guests and we are so thrilled that we were able to be a special part of your trip to New York. We appreciate your feedback and our pleased to read that we were able to provide comfortable accommodations and helpful recommendations. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Best Regards,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We spent six nights at the Jade, partly business, partly leisure. Charming, comfortable, excellent location, on 13th Street between 5th and 6th - easy walking to the village, Chelsea, the Highline, Union Square, and good for subway or buses elsewhere. The rooms are small but well-equipped - good bed, good wifi, lots of electric sockets, terrific shower - and nicely decorated in deco style. The lobby bar is good for meeting friends or just hanging out, the restaurant pleasant, and the staff and service welcoming and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors have little or no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear mrshopkins1234,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our property to be highly recommendable! Our location is undoubtedly a great feature and we are so glad you were able to easily explore the fantastic local neighborhoods like Chelsea and Union Square. We are glad that you found your stay to be great for both business and leisure and we hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just came back from a great weekend stay at The Jade Hotel in NYC. It's our annual anniversary stay in the city, this was our first try at a boutique hotel and downtown. Fabulous...we got in before check in and the room...a penthouse was ready for us...beautifully decorated room and bathroom...The hotel and The Grape and Vine restaurant has a great ambiance (Deco)...the staff was nice and friendly...and the food was good as well....Great Location for shopping and just walking around. Just Everything was Beautiful!!! Thank you both the staff of The Jade and The Grape and Vine for a Wonderful stay...Right up there with The Bryant Park Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Susan M,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us and that we were able to be a memorable part of your anniversary! Our Greenwich Penthouse rooms are certainly beautiful and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed the décor and ambiance throughout the hotel. We hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I along with 2 other couples stayed in The Jade Hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is located on a quaint quiet street on 13th street between 5th and 6th in Greenwich Village area. It is a small boutique hotel with a lovely lobby, a bar and restaurant on the first floor. Upon arrival we were promptly given our room keys and took the elevator to the 12th floor. There are only 4 or 5 rooms on each floor. The rooms are very small ... but for European standards they are pretty average. We had a room with two double beds. There is not a proper closet .... but an armoire cabinet that held about 10 pieces of clothing tightly packed. The bathroom is small but adequate. There was a very nice, large big screen TV, free wifi, room service, free bottled water in the rooms. The hotel was very clean and had a clearly chic and trendy feeling. It was easily within walking distance of dozens of bistros, bars, coffee houses, etc. I would highly recommend this as an alternative to some of the high rise big name hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Tyra,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the ambiance and location of our property. While we are an intimate property, we strive to exceed our guests’ expectations in providing an inviting and comfortable atmosphere. We are glad this was the case for you and we hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxenburg, Austria
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

As others write, nice hotel, really boutique experience, and perfect neighbourhood. There is a great variety of restaurants around, for every specialty taste, within 3-5 min distance. That's a releif as the hotel restaurant is VERY expensive. That was a bit disappointing that you wont get a decent breakfast under USD 25 or even 35 perhaps; so you'd better go out.

It is also not the most ideal place if you have young chidren. The room is SO small that a baby cot barely fits. It was squeezed in, but then you really have no room to move around or put down your suitcase, and there is not a lot of place to store your stuff. As for the TV offering, there is nothing really quality; although there is a nice huge TV screen, but you can only watch junk (unbelievable that there is not a decent international news channel, or a quality kids channel, have not found PBS although that maybe our inexperience, have not been back to the US for a while.

Otherwise it is true that the hotel is very pretty, nice decor, good service.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to minimise noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear zsebibabak,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continually improve. We are currently working on revising our breakfast menu and breakfast packages and will certainly look into our television channel offerings. If you would like to discuss any of these items directly, please feel free to email me at jkellerman@thejadenyc.com at your convenience. We are pleased that you enjoyed the décor of the hotel as well as our location, and we hope that we can welcome you back the next time you are in New York.

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This will now be my go-to hotel when visiting New York. The hotel is in a tree lined neighborhood and around the corner from bagels in the morning, cafes, restaurants and shopping. Greenwich Village is a great place to stay and explore.
The Jade is relaxing and elegant. Rooms were spotless, beds were plush and was total comfort after walking around town all day. Well done Jade Hotel.

Room Tip: I was hoping to be on a higher floor as others suggested but we arrived early and did not want to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear sherman20,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to learn of your great stay with us and are honored to be your new go-to hotel in New York! Our location is one of our favorite benefits and we are glad you were able to explore the local area and return to comfortable and relaxing accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Jade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade Hotel

Address: 52 W 13th Street, 13th Street Between 5th & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jade Hotel is a boutique neighborhood hotel for experiential travelers seeking an authentic NYC experience. Situated in the heart of Greenwich Village, The Jade Hotel embodies the energy & individuality of the Village lifestyle while reflecting its charm and history. With its upscale yet approachable ambiance and intuitive service. Complimentary WiFi, turn-down, fitness center. The Jade Hotel's new American restaurant and bar, Grape & Vine, embraces the charm of New York's vibrant Greenwich Village neighborhood. Grape & Vine, which derives its name from the legendary, mid-nineteenth century bar, Grapevine Tavern, is known to be the origin of the popular phrase, "I heard it through the grapevine". Grape & Vine is a vibrant American Restaurant & Bar serving artisanal, market-driven fare in an elegant and artsy setting. With its sensual ambiance and engaging service, the Grape & Vine Restaurant & Bar is a casual chic Village oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.