We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Mighty!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Jade Hotel to your Saves list
The Jade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 W 13th Street, 13th Street Between 5th & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #137 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Small but Mighty!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I along with 2 other couples stayed in The Jade Hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is located on a quaint quiet street on 13th street between 5th and 6th in Greenwich Village area. It is a small boutique hotel with a lovely lobby, a bar and restaurant on the first floor. Upon arrival we were promptly given our room keys and took the elevator to the 12th floor. There are only 4 or 5 rooms on each floor. The rooms are very small ... but for European standards they are pretty average. We had a room with two double beds. There is not a proper closet .... but an armoire cabinet that held about 10 pieces of clothing tightly packed. The bathroom is small but adequate. There was a very nice, large big screen TV, free wifi, room service, free bottled water in the rooms. The hotel was very clean and had a clearly chic and trendy feeling. It was easily within walking distance of dozens of bistros, bars, coffee houses, etc. I would highly recommend this as an alternative to some of the high rise big name hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Tyra,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the ambiance and location of our property. While we are an intimate property, we strive to exceed our guests’ expectations in providing an inviting and comfortable atmosphere. We are glad this was the case for you and we hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    147
    56
    15
    6
See reviews for
102
172
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
laxenburg, Austria
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

As others write, nice hotel, really boutique experience, and perfect neighbourhood. There is a great variety of restaurants around, for every specialty taste, within 3-5 min distance. That's a releif as the hotel restaurant is VERY expensive. That was a bit disappointing that you wont get a decent breakfast under USD 25 or even 35 perhaps; so you'd better go out.

It is also not the most ideal place if you have young chidren. The room is SO small that a baby cot barely fits. It was squeezed in, but then you really have no room to move around or put down your suitcase, and there is not a lot of place to store your stuff. As for the TV offering, there is nothing really quality; although there is a nice huge TV screen, but you can only watch junk (unbelievable that there is not a decent international news channel, or a quality kids channel, have not found PBS although that maybe our inexperience, have not been back to the US for a while.

Otherwise it is true that the hotel is very pretty, nice decor, good service.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to minimise noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear zsebibabak,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continually improve. We are currently working on revising our breakfast menu and breakfast packages and will certainly look into our television channel offerings. If you would like to discuss any of these items directly, please feel free to email me at jkellerman@thejadenyc.com at your convenience. We are pleased that you enjoyed the décor of the hotel as well as our location, and we hope that we can welcome you back the next time you are in New York.

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This will now be my go-to hotel when visiting New York. The hotel is in a tree lined neighborhood and around the corner from bagels in the morning, cafes, restaurants and shopping. Greenwich Village is a great place to stay and explore.
The Jade is relaxing and elegant. Rooms were spotless, beds were plush and was total comfort after walking around town all day. Well done Jade Hotel.

Room Tip: I was hoping to be on a higher floor as others suggested but we arrived early and did not want to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear sherman20,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to learn of your great stay with us and are honored to be your new go-to hotel in New York! Our location is one of our favorite benefits and we are glad you were able to explore the local area and return to comfortable and relaxing accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. We were on the 15th floor. Have to say this hotel will take some beating for us. It's fantastic. Ok,small room but that's New York. There is no expense spared on the decor. It's stunning inside. Staff always helpful and friendly. Clean room,everyday, fresh towels, great turn down service. Comfortable bedding. The restaurant possibly a little extensive but very good. Recommend the French toast! Lifts are a little slow. Waited up to 8 minutes just to get downstairs! Did mention this on our departure.
The location is just awesome. Away from the noise of Times Square but in the middle of the beautiful part of New York. Shops,restaurants, parks,bars all nearby. Would we stay here again.. Absolutely. Loved it. Well done The Jade. Love Robert and Victoria

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Victoria L,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that we were able to be a special part of your birthday celebration and provide a memorable stay! Our staff is committed to providing exceptional service and we are glad that you found our team to be both friendly and accommodating. We are also glad to read that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and that the details of our accommodations were to your liking. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Super friendly service. Close-ish to all things West Village and beyond. Rooms are good; they have everything you could need, nice crisp sheets, nice amenities, except the rooms really are tiny even by NYC standards. Restaurant food is good, both eat-in or room service. I have stayed here 2 times in the last month, for a total of 9 days, and would definitely come back and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear ItsAKumquat,

Thank you for your review. It is so great to read that you enjoyed both of your experiences at The Jade. Our team is dedicated to providing exceptional service and we are pleased to hear that you have experienced great service during both of your stays. We hope to welcome you back to The Jade again soon!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great location near union square. Wifi sucked and was patchy the entire time I was there. The walls were thin, so I woke up every morning at 5 as the hotel guest next to me was talking on the phone loud enough I could hear it in my room. It's just okay. I am not sure it was worth the price I paid to stay the two nights there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Jenny W,

Thank you for your review. We regret to hear that your stay with us was just okay and that areas of our accommodations and amenities did not exceed your expectations. We strive to provide relaxing atmosphere for our guests and we apologize that you did not find this to be the case throughout your stay. I would be happy to discuss these issues in detail and I can be reached at jkellerman@thejadenyc.com at your convenience. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope that should you return to New York, you might give us another try.

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My friends and I just spent three nights at the Jade Hotel and we absolutely loved it. Location was great, the rooms were thoughtfully decorated and the hotel had such a warm and friendly vibe. We were especially blown away by the thought and care provided by the staff. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. All the little touches, like accommodating our room changes to the champagne on my birthday, made our trip to NYC a spectacular one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Jade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade Hotel

Address: 52 W 13th Street, 13th Street Between 5th & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jade Hotel is a boutique neighborhood hotel for experiential travelers seeking an authentic NYC experience. Situated in the heart of Greenwich Village, The Jade Hotel embodies the energy & individuality of the Village lifestyle while reflecting its charm and history. With its upscale yet approachable ambiance and intuitive service. Complimentary WiFi, turn-down, fitness center. The Jade Hotel's new American restaurant and bar, Grape & Vine, embraces the charm of New York's vibrant Greenwich Village neighborhood. Grape & Vine, which derives its name from the legendary, mid-nineteenth century bar, Grapevine Tavern, is known to be the origin of the popular phrase, "I heard it through the grapevine". Grape & Vine is a vibrant American Restaurant & Bar serving artisanal, market-driven fare in an elegant and artsy setting. With its sensual ambiance and engaging service, the Grape & Vine Restaurant & Bar is a casual chic Village oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.