We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Jade Hotel to your Saves list
The Jade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 W 13th Street, 13th Street Between 5th & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #138 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A little pricy but its worth it. Its walking distance to 5th avenue for shopping, about 10 minutes: JJill, H&M, Gap, Coach, Banana Republic, Anthropology... and more. The hotel is very charming. Rooms are small, bed wasn't very comfy but its still good, don't take me wrong. The shower is one of the best ever had.. Its powerful. Its 2 minutes to a Chiplote on the corner of 6th and W13th were you can have Burritos and beers and watch walkers! There is a little restaurant on W13 walking west towards 5th too, with nicer meals. A/C noisy and its so small you need it on all night otherwise it gets stuffy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Nancy B,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a great stay and that you found our location convenient in exploring local shops and restaurants. We appreciate your feedback in regards to our rooms and are glad that despite some aspects that were not to your liking, our shower was one of the best you have experienced! We hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in New York.

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    149
    56
    15
    6
See reviews for
103
173
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here for almost two weeks during a renovation of our apartment nearby. CAN I PLEASE MOVE IN?

This place is perfect. It's trendy and comfortable without being obnoxious. From the warm gas lamps drawing you in from the street, to the staff that are so kind and helpful.

The restaurant is pretty good, although strangely empty most the day. The room (1703) wasn't huge, but it had everything we needed: a comfortable bed, desk area, large TV, big closet, a modern bathroom, and the bonus of a killer view of downtown. The wifi situation was slightly annoying (I had to re-sign-in every few hours), but I imagine that wouldn't bother most guests.
The gym is small but sufficient, with all new equipment, so bring your workout clothes!

My only gripe is that there are 100+ rooms but only 2 elevators. Not only are the elevators slow and stop at most every floor, but at one point there was just one elevator. There were a few times when it took 10 minutes just to get out.

Overall, I loved this place and you will too!

Room Tip: 1703 had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear HalleAndTheWorld,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you found your stay to be perfect and comfortable! We strive to provide an exceptional and welcoming environment and are glad that you enjoyed the small touches of the hotel as well as our amenities. We appreciate all of your feedback and apologize that the speed of the elevators detracted from your stay. While we are an intimate property, we are currently working on solutions to these issues. We are glad you had a great time during your stay and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you are looking for excellence at affordable prices, look no further - The Jade Hotel (Greenwich Village, NY) is what you need. The Hotel is wonderfully furbished, rooms are spacious, comfy and fully equipped, the restaurant offers great food and an interesting crowd. The staff is extremely kind and supportive, and last but not least... the hotel smells delicious: fresh flowers are changed every day and makes you feel home every time you walk in. The borough is the best you can get in NY: walking distance from 5th Ave, Soho, Flatiron and Meatpacking. The block offers more restaurants and shops and opposite the Hotel the Silk SpA is what you need to unwind from a busy day. An excellent experience! Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Francesca d,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found both the design and comfort of our accommodations to your liking! We strive to provide an exceptionally friendly and relaxing environment and we are pleased to hear that both the staff and the small touches throughout our property made you feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Love this place. I had the front desk help me find a lost item and sent back to me to my home! They go above and beyond.
Bedsides that the location is perfect. It's located in such a perfect area where you can easily go anywhere in the city. And the hotel itself is so charming. With it's warm lobby, generous staff, and beautiful rooms. I will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed two nights over Memorial Day weekend in this relaxing hotel on picturesque side street, close to Washington Square, Hi Line and Meatpacking District. Many European visitors and multilingual staff. Tasty brunch in beautifully designed dining room. Room clean and quiet on 5th floor. Criticisms include elevators constantly having breakdowns, so-called Queen-sized bed which seemed definitely double sized and somewhat cool staff. We were told elevator problems were being addressed. Will look for another boutique hotel in Village next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear barb883,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found your accommodations comfortable and our location convenient for exploring local neighborhoods. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that your experience with our elevators detracted from your stay. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to report that the issue with the elevator has been resolved. We are also incredibly disappointed that you found our staff to be cool, as we strive to employ genuinely friendly, outgoing, service-oriented individuals. We hope that should you return to New York, you might give us another try. If you would like to discuss your feedback in more detail, please feel free to contact me any time at 212.300.4425.
Sincerely,

Elizabeth M. Andrews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

It's hard to add anything to the reviews already here. I had wondered if the Jade could actually be as food as it's website suggests, but actually it is. The people are lovely, really friendly, help when you need it, but not overly intrusive when you don't. We enjoyed the Art Deco styling, and found the room comfortable and well equipped. The room is a bit on the small side, but I think that's par for the course in NYC, and a bit more storage for clothes would not go amiss. However, the beds (we had the Bedford room with two doubles) were very comfortable and we slept incredibly well. The Grape and Vine restaurant downstairs has an interesting menu, and the food is good quality and well presented. The location is ideal, just a minute from 5th avenue where regular buses take you uptown in no time, and a short walk I the other direction to all the nooks and crannies of Greenwich village. We shall definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Hampshirehog9,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that your stay at The Jade exceeded your expectations! Our staff strives to provide the very best service to our guests and we are so glad that you found our team to be welcoming and friendly. We are also glad that you had a nice experience at our in house restaurant, Grape & Vine, during your stay. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you the next time you return to New York!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth M. Andrews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

It's great to be in New York and stay at a place that is not corporate (or at least doesn't feel corporate) but rather is small, cozy and embedded in a neighborhood. The rooms are perfectly adequate and rather European, AKA a bit on the small size. But who goes to New York to stay in their room? My husband and I felt perfectly comfortable, the bed and linens were great and the bathroom had a good shower. They put little treats out at turn-down service like cookies ot truffles. It's the little things that count.

More important, the staff was terrific, working very hard to make sure all was well. We travelled with my elderly mother and her aid, so there help was indeed needed and cheerfully offered. We also had brunch in the house restaurant & it was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Fran A,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that the intimate and personal touches of the hotel were to your liking and made you feel cozy throughout your stay! We try to make our guests feel at home and are happy to hear that the staff went above and beyond in assisting you. We appreciate your kind comments and hope we can welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth M. Andrews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Jade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade Hotel

Address: 52 W 13th Street, 13th Street Between 5th & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jade Hotel is a boutique neighborhood hotel for experiential travelers seeking an authentic NYC experience. Situated in the heart of Greenwich Village, The Jade Hotel embodies the energy & individuality of the Village lifestyle while reflecting its charm and history. With its upscale yet approachable ambiance and intuitive service. Complimentary WiFi, turn-down, fitness center. The Jade Hotel's new American restaurant and bar, Grape & Vine, embraces the charm of New York's vibrant Greenwich Village neighborhood. Grape & Vine, which derives its name from the legendary, mid-nineteenth century bar, Grapevine Tavern, is known to be the origin of the popular phrase, "I heard it through the grapevine". Grape & Vine is a vibrant American Restaurant & Bar serving artisanal, market-driven fare in an elegant and artsy setting. With its sensual ambiance and engaging service, the Grape & Vine Restaurant & Bar is a casual chic Village oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.