We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco/Euro Feel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Jade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Jade Hotel to your Saves list
The Jade Hotel
52 W 13th Street, 13th Street between 5th & 6th Aves., New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Art Deco/Euro Feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed two nights over Memorial Day weekend in this relaxing hotel on picturesque side street, close to Washington Square, Hi Line and Meatpacking District. Many European visitors and multilingual staff. Tasty brunch in beautifully designed dining room. Room clean and quiet on 5th floor. Criticisms include elevators constantly having breakdowns, so-called Queen-sized bed which seemed definitely double sized and somewhat cool staff. We were told elevator problems were being addressed. Will look for another boutique hotel in Village next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear barb883,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found your accommodations comfortable and our location convenient for exploring local neighborhoods. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that your experience with our elevators detracted from your stay. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to report that the issue with the elevator has been resolved. We are also incredibly disappointed that you found our staff to be cool, as we strive to employ genuinely friendly, outgoing, service-oriented individuals. We hope that should you return to New York, you might give us another try. If you would like to discuss your feedback in more detail, please feel free to contact me any time at 212.300.4425.
Sincerely,

Elizabeth M. Andrews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    120
    46
    12
    5
See reviews for
88
140
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

It's hard to add anything to the reviews already here. I had wondered if the Jade could actually be as food as it's website suggests, but actually it is. The people are lovely, really friendly, help when you need it, but not overly intrusive when you don't. We enjoyed the Art Deco styling, and found the room comfortable and well equipped. The room is a bit on the small side, but I think that's par for the course in NYC, and a bit more storage for clothes would not go amiss. However, the beds (we had the Bedford room with two doubles) were very comfortable and we slept incredibly well. The Grape and Vine restaurant downstairs has an interesting menu, and the food is good quality and well presented. The location is ideal, just a minute from 5th avenue where regular buses take you uptown in no time, and a short walk I the other direction to all the nooks and crannies of Greenwich village. We shall definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Hampshirehog9,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that your stay at The Jade exceeded your expectations! Our staff strives to provide the very best service to our guests and we are so glad that you found our team to be welcoming and friendly. We are also glad that you had a nice experience at our in house restaurant, Grape & Vine, during your stay. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you the next time you return to New York!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth M. Andrews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

It's great to be in New York and stay at a place that is not corporate (or at least doesn't feel corporate) but rather is small, cozy and embedded in a neighborhood. The rooms are perfectly adequate and rather European, AKA a bit on the small size. But who goes to New York to stay in their room? My husband and I felt perfectly comfortable, the bed and linens were great and the bathroom had a good shower. They put little treats out at turn-down service like cookies ot truffles. It's the little things that count.

More important, the staff was terrific, working very hard to make sure all was well. We travelled with my elderly mother and her aid, so there help was indeed needed and cheerfully offered. We also had brunch in the house restaurant & it was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Fran A,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that the intimate and personal touches of the hotel were to your liking and made you feel cozy throughout your stay! We try to make our guests feel at home and are happy to hear that the staff went above and beyond in assisting you. We appreciate your kind comments and hope we can welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth M. Andrews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This boutique hotel in Greenwich Village has an art deco flair, and is actually quite new. Located on West 13 street, it is conveniently located to Washington Square Park and Union Square with its greenmarket, Whole Foods, and numerous restaurants. The in-house restaurant offers very good breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner, as well as good room service. The rooms are small and well-appointed; wifi is free with sufficient outlets for your electronic devices. The staff is courteous, helpful and considerate, and anxious to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights during a company trip, the location is great, near supermarkets, restaurants, 10 mins walk from bars and places to hang out, near Meatpacking district, High Line etc.

- Don't pay for breakfast as there are plenty places to explore near the hotel.

- Rooms were ok, normal size to small, internet/ wi-fi was working ok (10th floor), there is security all the time and didn't have any problem.

- Only issue I had with my sleep, one night the heating was extremely annoying and I am 100% sure that I didn't turn it on.

- There is also a bar-restaurant in the ground floor (Grape & Vine), had a couple of beers there.

We paid around $1,800 for 4 nights.

Room Tip: 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This place was just perfect.My sister and I agreed that everything went smooth and they make the trip so relaxing. The place is adorable and decor as cool as can be. The only con is the bar a little expensive but that's NY. And I left my curling iron and did not get it back, a very expensive one, so check before you leave my fault! Other than that I'll be back for sure great location.....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wow. This hotel rocks. Have had brunch there a couple of times, and dinner as well. Love it. The rooms are meticulously designed to be comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. Nice views. Comfortable beds. Amazing, attentive staff. Good value!
You won't find a better location that's close to everything!

Room Tip: I saw a few rooms, and they all look great. Not sure there's a better room or floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade Hotel

Address: 52 W 13th Street, 13th Street between 5th & 6th Aves., New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened, The Jade Hotel is a boutique neighborhood hotel for the experiental travelers seeking an authentic NYC experience. Situated in the heart of Greenwich Village, The Jade Hotel embodies the energy & individuality of the Village lifestyle while reflecting its charm and history. With its upscale yet approachable ambiance and intuitive service. Complimentary WiFi, turn-down, fitness center. It’s coming through the grapevine! The Jade Hotel’s new American restaurant and bar, Grape & Vine, embraces the charm of New York’s vibrant Greenwich Village neighborhood. Grape & Vine, which derives its name from the legendary, mid-nineteenth century bar, Grapevine Tavern, is known to be the origin of the popular phrase, “I heard it through the grapevine”. Grape & Vine is a vibrant American Restaurant & Bar serving artisanal, market-driven fare in an elegant and artsy setting. With its sensual ambiance and engaging service, the Grape & Vine Restaurant & Bar is a casual chic Village oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Jade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.