We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jade Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Jade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jade Hotel
52 W 13th Street, 13th Street between 5th & 6th Aves., New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10%!
Ranked #98 of 449 hotels in New York City
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

stayed here with some friends on a business trip.

It's Art Deco style and is plush and also a little quirky.

As expected service was good and the rooms were very comfortable if not a little dark due to the decor. That said dark is conducive to sleep!

The concierge team were great and ready to help. The hotel is in one of the cool but earthy parts of town and ideally located to immerse yourself into NYC.

Only downside I could say it the bar and restaurant were closed for private parties on two consecutive nights - which means that we couldn't use them. We could get drinks in the lobby but it's not the same.

Management ...This should be something that doesn't happen!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear thedevilatplay,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your accommodations provided a great night’s sleep! We strive to provide exceptional service to our guests and are happy to hear that you had a great experience with our team. We hope you will accept our sincerest apologies that you were unable to enjoy our restaurant and their great market-driven dishes and signature cocktails. Closings on consecutive nights are highly unusual and we regret that this was inconvenience during your stay. With renewed apologies, we hope to welcome you back next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    89
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
68
102
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
home
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Spent only one night at The Jade,attended company Christmas party nearby.We arrived quite early but a room was made available to us by pleasant front desk.Room small ,clean,attractive.After check in we had a drink at the bar,staff was great.Short walk to Union Square.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have stayed with my family for New years.
Its a lovely hotel in a very nice area with very welcoming and nice staff.
Better to stay there if you are a couple or a single travelling for business because the rooms are very small for a family. we could not fit our suitecases anywere...

Room Tip: rooms are very small. Not suitable if you are traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear loukiat,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay over New Year’s and that you found our location convenient and our staff welcoming. We recognize that we are a more intimate boutique hotel and we apologize that you did not find your room spacious enough for your family. We hope should you return to New York, you might give us another try.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights with my wife, great hotel and would have scored it 5 out of 5 but was slightly let down by the hotel bar staff. The door and reception staff were fantastic, very helpful, friendly and professional, the bar staff barley noticed you were there and made no effort at all, pity. The hotel is worth staying at, great location (3 blocks from subway) and near lots of great independent bars and restaurants. The rooms are also great....no complaints what so ever, will be recommending to family and friends and would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Dom1874,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our location. We love being in the heart of Greenwich Village close to several great areas and attractions! Our staff strives to exceed guest expectations and we are disappointed that you did not find the bar staff to be as personable as our front of house staff. We do appreciate your feedback regarding our staff, as it helps us to continue to improve the experience of The Jade. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I spent a lot of time researching hotels in NYC before I booked the Jade. I wanted somewhere cool and comfortable that was close to downtown bars and restaurants without being too far from midtown for one or two touristy things. The Jade ticked all of our boxes and we were really happy with our choice. It's decorated beautifully and unlike some other boutique hotels is also quiet, comfortable and friendly. Yes, the room wasn't big but we went for the smallest category and it was bigger than others in Manhattan. Staff were very helpful and we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family stayed at the Jade Hotel from Dec. 26-31, 2013. Although it's a new building, it feels like it has long belonged to the neighborhood. The decor/design elements are quite impressive in the lobby, bar, restaurant, and rooms. You can tell they paid a lot of attention to details.

Our room had two beds, and was comfortable but small (which you would expect in NYC). We had a great view of the Freedom Tower from our room on the 17th floor. We were most surprised at how quiet it was in our room, which was a first for us in the city. (We suspect that the quiet room was a benefit of modern construction and insulation.)

The location of the hotel is the best. We were just a short walk from three subway stations (14th St, Union Square, and 4th St), where we could catch trains on 5 different lines. Very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear philprof,

Thank you for your review and your kind words! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Jade and that you found our location so convenient in exploring New York. Our building was designed with an authentic Greenwich Village feel in mind, and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the décor and attention to detail. We hope we can welcome you back next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great hotel with a lovely location in GW! Small rooms, but the staff was nice and the design was warm and nice :) I`ll definitively stay here next time I`m going to NY again. Easy access to all of manhattan with the subway-station next door, and a nice neighbourhood with lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade Hotel

Address: 52 W 13th Street, 13th Street between 5th & 6th Aves., New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened, The Jade Hotel is a boutique neighborhood hotel for the experiental travelers seeking an authentic NYC experience. Situated in the heart of Greenwich Village, The Jade Hotel embodies the energy & individuality of the Village lifestyle while reflecting its charm and history. With its upscale yet approachable ambiance and intuitive service. Complimentary WiFi, turn-down, fitness center. It’s coming through the grapevine! The Jade Hotel’s new American restaurant and bar, Grape & Vine, embraces the charm of New York’s vibrant Greenwich Village neighborhood. Grape & Vine, which derives its name from the legendary, mid-nineteenth century bar, Grapevine Tavern, is known to be the origin of the popular phrase, “I heard it through the grapevine”. Grape & Vine is a vibrant American Restaurant & Bar serving artisanal, market-driven fare in an elegant and artsy setting. With its sensual ambiance and engaging service, the Grape & Vine Restaurant & Bar is a casual chic Village oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.