We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jade Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Jade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 4 more sites!
The Jade Hotel
52 W 13th Street, 13th Street between 5th & 6th Aves., New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Work Hard, Play Hard
Ranked #99 of 447 hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I spent a lot of time researching hotels in NYC before I booked the Jade. I wanted somewhere cool and comfortable that was close to downtown bars and restaurants without being too far from midtown for one or two touristy things. The Jade ticked all of our boxes and we were really happy with our choice. It's decorated beautifully and unlike some other boutique hotels is also quiet, comfortable and friendly. Yes, the room wasn't big but we went for the smallest category and it was bigger than others in Manhattan. Staff were very helpful and we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    76
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
61
90
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family stayed at the Jade Hotel from Dec. 26-31, 2013. Although it's a new building, it feels like it has long belonged to the neighborhood. The decor/design elements are quite impressive in the lobby, bar, restaurant, and rooms. You can tell they paid a lot of attention to details.

Our room had two beds, and was comfortable but small (which you would expect in NYC). We had a great view of the Freedom Tower from our room on the 17th floor. We were most surprised at how quiet it was in our room, which was a first for us in the city. (We suspect that the quiet room was a benefit of modern construction and insulation.)

The location of the hotel is the best. We were just a short walk from three subway stations (14th St, Union Square, and 4th St), where we could catch trains on 5 different lines. Very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear philprof,

Thank you for your review and your kind words! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Jade and that you found our location so convenient in exploring New York. Our building was designed with an authentic Greenwich Village feel in mind, and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the décor and attention to detail. We hope we can welcome you back next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great hotel with a lovely location in GW! Small rooms, but the staff was nice and the design was warm and nice :) I`ll definitively stay here next time I`m going to NY again. Easy access to all of manhattan with the subway-station next door, and a nice neighbourhood with lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great service, beautifully decorated and good location. I expect a smaller room whenever I visit New York City, but this room was ridiculously small. The closet and storage space is virtually nonexistent, yet there is a lot of opportunity to improve. They need to get a designer in that knows how to utilize space.
I would stay again, but only for a couple of nights. Too small for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite to get a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear HitonHead1,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize that you did not find the rooms to be spacious enough. While we are a small property, we will certainly discuss these comments to our team for any future improvements. However, we are glad that you enjoyed the service as well as the hotel décor and we hope you will give us another try next time you are in New York.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fabulous intimate hotel that is in a great location. The staff are warm and friendly and really make you feel welcome. The rooms are quaint and the bed very comfortable. I was there for 11 nights and never tired of it. My adult daughter joined me for a week and loved it too. The restaurant served one of the best burgers that my New Yorker friends had ever eaten. They are going back! Also for the great cocktails in the lounge! Amazing stay can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of hotel are slightly longer which gives you more space for couples. I moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Amanda M,

Thank you for your review and your kind words about The Jade! We are thrilled that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you found your accommodations comfortable and relaxing. We are also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our restaurant Grape & Vine and will definitely pass along your praise for the burger! We hope we can welcome you back to The Jade soon!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My short stay here was great. I really liked the interior design, very unique and it felt really cozy. The French lady at the desk was really helpful and genuinly kind. Definitely I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

As a business man who travels over 150 days a year it is always a pleasure to find a small oasis of charm and good grace within the hectic, never-ending speed of NYC! And the staff of the JADE certainly creates such a great atmosphere. From the moment one arrives and is greeted by Brian's smile at the door to being checked in by Annika or one of the top flight attendants, the guest feels "at home." Everything about this boutique hotel says "service" whether it is a cappuccino offered up by the cozy fireplace on a cold, brisk NYC wintry afternoon or just a warm smile by one of the many fine concierge - the JADE makes my days in NYC as comfortable as possible. It is truly a hidden gem right in the heart of Greenwich Village!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade Hotel

Address: 52 W 13th Street, 13th Street between 5th & 6th Aves., New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 447 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened, The Jade Hotel is a boutique neighborhood hotel for the experiental travelers seeking an authentic NYC experience. Situated in the heart of Greenwich Village, The Jade Hotel embodies the energy & individuality of the Village lifestyle while reflecting its charm and history. With its upscale yet approachable ambiance and intuitive service. Complimentary WiFi, turn-down, fitness center. It’s coming through the grapevine! The Jade Hotel’s new American restaurant and bar, Grape & Vine, embraces the charm of New York’s vibrant Greenwich Village neighborhood. Grape & Vine, which derives its name from the legendary, mid-nineteenth century bar, Grapevine Tavern, is known to be the origin of the popular phrase, “I heard it through the grapevine”. Grape & Vine is a vibrant American Restaurant & Bar serving artisanal, market-driven fare in an elegant and artsy setting. With its sensual ambiance and engaging service, the Grape & Vine Restaurant & Bar is a casual chic Village oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.