We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Jade Hotel to your Saves list
The Jade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 W 13th Street, 13th Street Between 5th & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed there several nights and all was nice : people (nice service), rooms (a bit little as in NYC but with nice decoration), food (excellent diner and great pan cakes for the breakfast). The location was perfect for us. Just enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    139
    52
    14
    6
See reviews for
97
160
28
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed one night, 2 rooms. Both rooms were very comfortable and well-appointed. The rooms are small but we didn't spend much time in them. Also, had dinner and breakfast at Grape & Vine - both were delicious! If you are looking for a nice hotel in the The Village, this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My son and I had a lovely stay at the Jade. The room was small, which is to be expected, very quiet, which I loved, and had comfortable beds and great linens. The bathroom was modern and lovely and the hotel was very clean and in excellent condition. There is a lovely lobby bar where we had drinks and some delicious flatbreads, and Monday to Friday, 4-8pm, I believe, the wine and flatbreads are half price. The room was too hot and it was difficult to regulate, but we opened the window. Breakfast was expensive but good. Loved our stay and would stay there again above many other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear JudyLondonOnt,

Thank you for your review and your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and your accommodations as well as the décor of the hotel. We are also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our Wine Hour with our delicious flatbreads and wines by the glass. We are glad you had such a great experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

There were many things to like about this hotel - lovely quiet room, comfortable bed, great location for transportation. My only complaints were that the room was too warm and one could not turn down the heat; when I told the front desk, they told me the heat had been turned on in the entire hotel and since it was in the upper 40s outside, it was probably too warm and the best thing to do was to turn the heat completely off and perhaps open the window. There was no mini-bar/refrigerator of any kind so bringing back left overs was out of the question. The staff were all great. When I checked out, they asked if there was anything they could do to improve my experience and I told them it was too warm and they repeated the instructions above. Also, it's not really so much in Greenwich Village as it's the beginning of Chelsea, but minor comment there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a great place to stay in manhatten!! The Jade has all of the characteristics of a quality hotel - well designed and clean rooms, excellent service, eagerly helpful staff and a high quality restaurant- making it a top choice. It is also in one of the best neighborhoods of the city, conveniently located in the west village. The hotel is very well managed and everyone we encountered who works there was helpful and friendly. We felt welcome, which is an important part of a hotel stay!
The restaurant serves excellent breakfast and conveniently serves dinner late.
Our room had an exceptional view of downtown manhattan, where we experienced gorgeous sunrises and sunsets.
This was our first time at the hotel, but we would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it for a relaxed and high quality hotel experience.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms facing south have incredible views of the city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia Cook
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I've stayed at the Jade three times. The only reason I did not give it four stars is that the standard rooms only have walk in showers. It would be nice to have a bathtub too. Apart from that - everything is perfect.

Room Tip: I hear less noise from the street on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a cute hotel. Ideally located between 5th and 6th avenue in walking distance to Soho. I've stayed at this place earlier this year shortly after it had opened so this is my second time. In short - it was like coming home. Nice rooms, good restaurant and enjoyable lounge. I got back to the hotel pretty late one evening and found the restaurant to be still open. We we were able to choose from the entire menu and had an enjoyable late evening dinner. Marvellous. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Jade Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear HV25,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed both of your stays at The Jade Hotel. We agree that the location of The Jade Hotel is fantastic and are glad you found it convenient in exploring local neighborhoods. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant Grape & Vine. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade Hotel

Address: 52 W 13th Street, 13th Street Between 5th & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jade Hotel is a boutique neighborhood hotel for experiential travelers seeking an authentic NYC experience. Situated in the heart of Greenwich Village, The Jade Hotel embodies the energy & individuality of the Village lifestyle while reflecting its charm and history. With its upscale yet approachable ambiance and intuitive service. Complimentary WiFi, turn-down, fitness center. The Jade Hotel's new American restaurant and bar, Grape & Vine, embraces the charm of New York's vibrant Greenwich Village neighborhood. Grape & Vine, which derives its name from the legendary, mid-nineteenth century bar, Grapevine Tavern, is known to be the origin of the popular phrase, "I heard it through the grapevine". Grape & Vine is a vibrant American Restaurant & Bar serving artisanal, market-driven fare in an elegant and artsy setting. With its sensual ambiance and engaging service, the Grape & Vine Restaurant & Bar is a casual chic Village oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.