We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jade hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jade Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Jade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jade Hotel
52 W 13th Street, 13th Street between 5th & 6th Aves., New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10%!
Ranked #98 of 449 hotels in New York City
Nassau, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“The Jade hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nicely laid out room, tasteful and comfortable. Small but perfect. Bathroom very nice. Excellent location for walking. Staff very friendly. Restaurant too dark and not the best. Hallways were not vacuumed upon our arrival.

Room Tip: I prefer high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    89
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
67
102
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Jade is a new hotel on W. 13th near Sixth. The location in the Village is terrific . The interior is designed like a calm and peaceful refuge from the business of the street. The hotel has a quirky decor with old style rotary phones on the bedside tables. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. My husband left his cell phone on the edge of a chair in the lobby. We realized it when we were on our way to the airport. A call to the hotel brought an immediate response. The Front Office Manager Bryan Devlin immediately took the phone to UPS and sent it to us. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our recent 5 night stay in the Hudson Suite on the second floor of this new boutique hotel was a very nice experience. The room was quiet, spacious enough for two, had a very comfortable queen size bed and the french doors lead onto a lovely, private, cedar deck with table and two chairs, where morning coffee/newspaper and evening cocktails were enjoyed under a New York sky. The bathroom was a comfortable size with a good shower and plenty of hot water. Towels were plush and plenty. No coffee maker, but a nice cup of java could be purchased in a number of coffee shops around the corner. The staff at the hotel were friendly, helpful, courteous and attentive. The location on 13th Street West @ 6th was perfect, close to nice eateries and the subway, conveniently located at 14th & 6th. Washington Square Park, Madison Square Park, the Meatpacking District, the West Village, the High Line were all within walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I liked the Jade a lot. I stayed here in a Grove Queen room for 6 nights in late June. This is a boutique hotel. The rooms are small but smartly designed and decorated with custom wall paper and lacquered mahogany furniture. Super comfortable bed; very effective air conditioning; and excellent water pressure in the shower. Very quiet. I could not hear other guests or street noise. Nightly turn-down service.

The Jade looks and feels warm and intimate throughout. It comes across almost like a private club in Paris or London. It does not feel like a New York hotel, and that’s a good thing. The lobby is small and while you can have drinks there, it is not a “scene”. This is not a typical tourist hotel and probably wouldn’t be good for someone on business travel or for folks traveling with small children.

Great location at the top of Greenwich Village between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. Very easy walk to Union Square, Gramercy Park, Flatiron, West Village, NYU, Chelsea, and Soho. Easy access to major subway lines going north and south to Times Square, east side Museums, Lincoln Center, Tribeca, and Lower Manhatan.

Plenty of nifty, relatively inexpensive (for New York) restaurants, cafes, and interesting shops frequented by area residents (as opposed to visitors) on surrounding blocks. Try O Cafe on Sixth Avenue and 12th Street; Sotto 13 on 13th Street between Sixth and Seventh Avenues; and French Roast on Sixth Avenue and 11th Street (open 24 hours). Great take-away gourmet eats perfect for room snacks or a picnic basket at Citarella’s (Sixth Avenue at 9th Street).

Finally, a word about the staff and service: magnificent.

Special mention to Matt and Kyle at the front desk but everyone (remember, I was there for a week so I believe I met everyone…) was friendly, engaged, pro-active, solution-focused, and gracious. They all seemed genuinely glad to be working at the Jade and that makes for happy, return guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had two nights of comfy sleep, with soft blankets and a variety of pillows. We stayed on the 6th floor. We had no view but we really didn't care because we loved the beds,pillows, room and the price. There is no coffee in the room and it is 5.75 a cup, but right around the corner there is a great French Bistro.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Credit River, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The good: great location, nice patio area with upgraded room, delicious breakfast in restaurant, town car service to LGA (not free).
The bad: room not ready at 4:00 check in, VERY small room, awakened at 5am with hammering on walls/floors for 1 miserable hour, not really compensated. Should not have had to pay for first night after that. Was told breakfast was complimentary for our trouble, but didn't tell us that it was for a "certain" menu option. $68 later, we discovered that miscommunication. Also, for a new hotel, the carpets, walls etc look worn already.

We are returning to NYC in 4 weeks, I wish I could say this was a wonderful hotel. So much potential!

Room Tip: Higher floors may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Jade Hotel from June 20th to June 24th 2013.

Check in was quick and easy. We were assigned a room on the 4th floor, their friendly bellhop carried our luggage and showed us the room. Loved that we didn't feel pressured to leave him tip, and when we did he was very thankful.

Location was great for this hotel, as it's in Greenwich, so very close to Chelsea, Flatiron district and Meatpacking District. There is a Citi Bike station at the corner of the street, making it easy to walk out the hotel and explore the city by bike (10$ for 24 hours, no additional charges if you use the bike for less than 30 minutes). Several restaurants (including a self-serve frozen yogurt place, yum!), a 7-11, a market and a CVS minutes away. Broadway st is an approximate 10 minute walk away, with plenty of stores to shop around. Madison Square Park is about the same time, meaning it won't be difficult stopping there and grabbing some Shake Shack! Check it out, there's always a line up, but it's worth it as it's one of the most amazing burgers ever! Biking to Time Square took us about 15 minutes.

Service was incredible, and which made our stay there so much more enjoyable. Emilio at the front desk was super friendly, could of chatted with him for hours! We always came back to an impeccably clean room. Bed was really comfortable. Usually when I travel I always say to myself "can't wait to sleep in my bed!" but not this time, I wish I could of brought their mattress back with me! Many good TV channels, so there was always a good 90's-2000 comedy movie that we could watch! If I had to say one "negative" about the room, it would be the bathroom. Nothing major though, but if you want to be picky, the door was transparant (frosted though) so if you're not comfortable sharing your silhouette with your roommate, then you might dislike this. The shower also didn't have a door, so water would splash out and wet the bathroom floor. Besides that, nothing bad to say, water pressure was really strong, something I truly appreciate when traveling and staying in hotels! A/C worked perfectly. I have nothing to say against the size of the room, it was comparable to other hotels I've stayed at in NYC. The bellhop was always there to open the doors as we exited or entered the hotel, and always with a big smile.

We were able to have our bags stored on our last day, after our check out, so we could go out for lunch and shop a little before driving back to Montreal. Check out was a little more complicated than checking in as there was a mistake made on our credit cards, but we were well taken care of. They apologized and told us the problem would be fixed when we got back, which they did.

I had a really good stay at the Jade Hotel, would of loved to stay longer, and will definitely be going back on my next trip to NYC. Thanks so much for the excellent service Jade Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade Hotel

Address: 52 W 13th Street, 13th Street between 5th & 6th Aves., New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened, The Jade Hotel is a boutique neighborhood hotel for the experiental travelers seeking an authentic NYC experience. Situated in the heart of Greenwich Village, The Jade Hotel embodies the energy & individuality of the Village lifestyle while reflecting its charm and history. With its upscale yet approachable ambiance and intuitive service. Complimentary WiFi, turn-down, fitness center. It’s coming through the grapevine! The Jade Hotel’s new American restaurant and bar, Grape & Vine, embraces the charm of New York’s vibrant Greenwich Village neighborhood. Grape & Vine, which derives its name from the legendary, mid-nineteenth century bar, Grapevine Tavern, is known to be the origin of the popular phrase, “I heard it through the grapevine”. Grape & Vine is a vibrant American Restaurant & Bar serving artisanal, market-driven fare in an elegant and artsy setting. With its sensual ambiance and engaging service, the Grape & Vine Restaurant & Bar is a casual chic Village oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.