We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howard johnson soho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #112 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    146
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
99
136
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I recently had to cancel a stay in NY due to an unexpected long term illness. The manager and staff were not only co-operative in dealing with my cancellation, but sent me the kindest well wishes and encouragement to get better. I believe this was above and beyond their duty and whoever I have told my story too of my friends, have all said they will stay there on their next trip to NY and tell them why. I am determined to get better to go there and meet them. Their kindness and good wishes (from total strangers) is very humbling and warmly received

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel rates are excellent, and location is adjacent to Chinatown and Little Italy. Rooms are small but modern and clean. Comfortable beds and central air conditioning. Rooms have coffee makers but no refrigerators. Ask for a room on one of the top floors - fantastic views of the bridges and East River. Hot breakfast included with room rate, good fresh food. Most of all, the friendly hotel staff will go the extra mile to accommodate your needs. They are also knowledgeable about the city and will provide maps and recommendations. The service sets this hotel above others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors so you can get good views of the city, bridges and East Ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Betty,

Thanks for your gracious review! It seems that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us, and we are so glad that our staff ensured that your needs were well taken care of. I have shared your experience with our staff, who are delighted to hear of your generous praises of them. I am pleased that our team was able to make such a positive impression on you.

Please let us know when you will return to New York City, as we will love to take care of your needs again in the future.

Warm regards,
Brian Chao
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We were extremely pleased to have stayed here! The staff was amazing - friendly and so helpful. They made our lack of luggage for three days at the airport easier and manageable. They went the extra mile to assist us and to make our trip a great experience. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review! We always want to make the guests feel as if they are at home away from home! We are very proud of our staff they are the ones that make the the guests stay more enjoyable, and I'm glad to hear they went out of their to make sure you had such a great stay!
Thank you once again for allowing us to showcase out hospitality and service! if you are ever back in town please email us info@hjsoho.com and we will continue our service from there!

Best regards,

Teddy Lai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Hotel is very nice and clean. The neighborhood of the hotel is not the best but the hotel represents a good quality. The room was small but comfortable and very clean. The services are excellent. The new breakfast area looks very friendly. Comparing price and quality it is a good choice to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us your feedback about your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that our personalized service delivery exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. We love to tailor our service to each of our guests, and making them feel part of the family here at Howard Johnson. I am delighted that we succeeded in achieving this with you.

We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to New York City.

General Manager
Teddy Lai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here the second week of June and had a great time.
Room was small but being in NYC I completely understand that space is fairly limited, so it doesn't exactly come as a surprise !!

Staff were really friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Every member of staff we came across, from maintenance to front of house, everyone would always say hello.

Breakfast was small but they said they were expanding that as it's currently a bit of a squeeze. We were happy to just grab a plate of a few items and head back to our room with it!

The location in China town is safe and it's nice to be in an area that isn't too close to all the tourist action, bit quieter.

Overall we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate on recommending this hotel to anyone looking for NYC accommodation.

Thanks again Hojo!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. It is so wonderful to hear such kind words about our staff, and I am delighted to hear that you were treated courteously by the members of our team. Your experience is an inspiration for us to continue to extend the same caliber of hospitality to each and every one of our guests.

Additionally, I am pleased that our unique location offered a serene alternative for you during your visit to New York. We recently moved our breakfast to our new, larger facility. We hope you can enjoy this enhancement on your next visit.

It is a privilege to gain your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Brian Chao
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Address: 5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.