We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #111 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Neat and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Hotel is very nice and clean. The neighborhood of the hotel is not the best but the hotel represents a good quality. The room was small but comfortable and very clean. The services are excellent. The new breakfast area looks very friendly. Comparing price and quality it is a good choice to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us your feedback about your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that our personalized service delivery exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. We love to tailor our service to each of our guests, and making them feel part of the family here at Howard Johnson. I am delighted that we succeeded in achieving this with you.

We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to New York City.

General Manager
Teddy Lai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    145
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
99
136
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here the second week of June and had a great time.
Room was small but being in NYC I completely understand that space is fairly limited, so it doesn't exactly come as a surprise !!

Staff were really friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Every member of staff we came across, from maintenance to front of house, everyone would always say hello.

Breakfast was small but they said they were expanding that as it's currently a bit of a squeeze. We were happy to just grab a plate of a few items and head back to our room with it!

The location in China town is safe and it's nice to be in an area that isn't too close to all the tourist action, bit quieter.

Overall we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate on recommending this hotel to anyone looking for NYC accommodation.

Thanks again Hojo!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. It is so wonderful to hear such kind words about our staff, and I am delighted to hear that you were treated courteously by the members of our team. Your experience is an inspiration for us to continue to extend the same caliber of hospitality to each and every one of our guests.

Additionally, I am pleased that our unique location offered a serene alternative for you during your visit to New York. We recently moved our breakfast to our new, larger facility. We hope you can enjoy this enhancement on your next visit.

It is a privilege to gain your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Brian Chao
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great location, easy subway access, wonderful staff, free breakfast and the most important it's extremely clean!!! Parking available at a moderate cost only 2 blocks from hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights and was just what we wanted. Very clean and modern, rooms a bit small but adequate. All the staff were very friendly and polite and always available for any help you needed. Breakfast is included which is a bonus, good start to the day.The hotel is located in Chinatown which which is very busy but very safe to walk around and there are some very nice restaurants/takeaways close by. There is a good subway line a short walk away which will get you to most places, goes to Coney Island which is well worth a visit. Would definately stay here again if in New York.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello Tony!
thank you very much for staying at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho. We are very happy to hear that your stay went as you expected and that our location was convenient for you. If you ever come back to NY please send us an email and we will more than happy to take care of your reservation and any request. We will love to host you again at HOJO!

Kind Regards,
Lina Siegert
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matosinhos, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nice small hotel in Chinatown. The best feature is without a doubt the staff: always polite and very helpful... really nice! The rooms are small but with a big (king size) bed, giant flat screen (it was good to see some of the World Cup matches highlights) and a clean/modern bathroom. I missed a mini fridge (could be fit under the desk) and a wardrobe/closet (no space for it).

Breakfast included is a plus where most NYC charge an heavy extra: bagels, croissants, eggs, sausage, coffee, milk, orange juice, yogurts, cereals, muffins... In crowded hours there's little place to sit but I've heard it will change starting in a few days.

In terms of neighborhood, Allen St is a bit smelly and so are a couple of other streets around but they are well lit, safe and with good accessibility with 3 metro lines (F, B, D) and bus (M15) nearby.

Overall, it has excellent value, good location and friendly staff so you'll feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Address: 5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.