We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #146 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel is located in Chinatown, really close to Little Italy and Soho.
The location is ideal for short term stay and to explore downtown and Midtonw both easily reachable (Downtown 10 minutes walking distance).
3 subway stations situated in the premises makes this place really confortable to visit the whole city.
Rooms are clean, perhaps they may appear little but with this price you can't get better in Manhattan.
If required the hotel provides transportation service for the main airports. highly recommended as cheaper than a cab (and way cleaner).
decent breakfast and wi fi connection in the rooms and the lobby( included in the fee.)
Go definitely here for a week in the city

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Assistant guest service manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello Luca,

Thank you very much for writing this review of our hotel. We are very pleased to know that your trip was nice and that the car service we work with was on time and clean to take you to the airport. We are growing everyday thank to all the guest that like you take the time to let us know what they like and didn't like of their stay at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho. If you ever come back again to NYC please let us have the pleasure to have you at HOJO.

Kind Regards,
Lina Siegert
Assistant guest service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    151
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
105
140
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a trip with 10 people celebrating a b.d. We found the rates at this hotel reasonable, and all the staff are very helpful. Our rooms were very clean. We enjoyed the late evenings atop the roof to see the city night lights, or out front of the hotel to watch the world go by. Breakfasts were substantial for our daily outings. Had WIFI and also a computer in the lobby to stay connected. overall a great experience.

Room Tip: rooms _01 or _02 or _03 have great views of the Manhattan bridge. We had a room with double and a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Assistant guest service manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hi Spiely2014,

So nice to hear back from the BD group! I'm very glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel and that the group had a good time in NYC. As you know we are renovating our outdoor space area for breakfast and other activities, so maybe next time we will have more options for all of you besides the rooftop ( great view) and the hotel front. We truly enjoyed having such a fun group at HOJO SOHO.

Thank you for choosing us!

Kind Regards,

Lina Siegert
Assistant guest service manager
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latina, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

A very good Hotel: 5 min to metro by foot in Chinatown area, clean rooms, friendly multilingual (italian) staff, very available for every needings, cosy enviroment. The rooms were a little bit small, with no closet and the breakfast area (breakfast included) has only 4 tables for all the guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Assistant guest service manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Good evening MauRec,

Thank you for this kind review!I'm happy to hear that you had a nice trip and a comfortable stay at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho. We are ware of the limited space that we work with during the breakfast area, as you mention, and that is why we are expanding it to a better location that will be able to accommodate our guests in a more comfortable way. We hope to have the pleasure to see you again at HOJO.

Kind regards,

Lina siegert
Assistant guest service manager
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This place was very clean, even though it was really small. We chose this place because we only stayed 2 nights and wanted to be close to soho, china town, etc to see a different part of New York instead of time square - at a reasonable price :) it was a 5 minute walk to Chinatown and a 3 minute walk to a subway to get anywhere so was really good. Plus it was free Breakfast! the staff were polite and we couldn't have really asked for much else really. They have a private in house taxi service - so when you order a taxi you aren't really hiring a taxi you are ordering a private cab - but it is a fair price so it's fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Len,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. I am glad that our accommodations fulfilled your expectations, and that our location was convenient for you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Warm regards,
Brian Chao
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a 3 night stay and it was awesome. I chose this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews and the price. My first contact with the hotel was asking to have flowers in the room when we arrived as it was my wife's birthday. They responded quickly to my emails and the flowers were waiting for her in our room on our arrival as well as a birthday card from the hotel! The area is not in the main tourist area which we found to be an asset. You are right in Chinatown and the easy access to cheap, delicious food as well as cheap souvenirs. Check out the place on Mulberry that has keychains 10 for $10. The stores by Times Square sell the same ones for $6.99 each. Little Italy is also a short walk away. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the heart of the financial district and the Freedom Tower. This is also the spot to start many of the on and off bus tours. The hotel staff helped us with maps and directions to get to where we wanted to go. The lobby has a computer and a printer so you can print out maps and step by step instructions as well. The breakfast area is small but the breakfast itself was far better than I had thought based on the previous reviews. There were fried eggs(real ones!!!),sausages, bread, croissants, yogurts, cereal, fresh fruit, milk, juice, pastries and probably more I can't remember. We had the deluxe room with the city view which are all rooms above the 7th floor. The view was very nice but anyone can access the rooftop balcony and get the same view. We will probably just book a regular room next time. The room was very modern and clean and the WiFi was good although would cut out periodically. After spending a few days doing touristy stuff in the centre of the city and having to deal with the crowds, and then noise, and the fast pace we appreciated the location of this hotel even more. By the third day of our trip we had stopped using cabs and the on off bus to get where we needed to go and took the subway from the East Broadway station which is a three minute walk from the hotel directly to the Rockefeller Square and 42 Street station which is in the heart of downtown with access to Times Square, 5th Avenue, and Central Park. We are already planning to go back to NYC in the fall and see some of the things we did not have time to get to. We will be staying at this hotel again, the location and price cannot be beat. For those who are booking this hotel for your trip make sure you go eat at the Congee Village and Prosperity Dumplings which are very close to the hotel. If you like history the Tenement Museum is fascinating and within a ten minute walk from the hotel. Thank you Hojo Soho for the great experience on our first trip to New York and thanks again for the flowers for my wife.......See you in the fall!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about your recent experience. We are thrilled to hear that our staff were successful in ensuring that you and your wife's needs were well taken care of during her birthday.

I concur with you that our unique location offers many advantages for the tired traveller. It is important to feel at home while travelling, so we are glad that our cozy, secluded location provided a good respite from you away from the street traffic of the Bowery, the main tourist parts of Chinatown, and most particularly Midtown.

Thank you for recognizing the services extended to you by our team. Your comments on service resonate the most with us because we pride ourselves on providing unique and personalized service delivery on behalf of all of our guests. We are delighted that our team succeeded in that regard for your wife's birthday.

We are currently in the process of expanding our breakfast area, so when you return in the fall, we look forward to providing you with a more enhanced guest experience. We welcome the opportunity to host you again to your home away from home on your return visit to New York City!

Warm regards,
Brian Chao
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I spent 7 nights at the Howard Johnson Hotel at 5 Allen Street March 2014 , I enjoyed my stay here , the reception staff were very helpful , the hotel was clean , the room adequate , good shower. The breakfast was OK , get there early limited tables. The hotel is located in an area of New York where people live & work , which made for me a very interesting place to stay.
Excellent connections via the subway : East Broadway subway F line is only a short walk from the hotel. Subways at Grand street , Canal street make getting around easy. If you want to walk across the Brooklyn Bridge , which I would recommend , catch the F train to York Street from East Broadway subway station , its just a short walk to the stairs which lead to the bridge. At the top of Allen street is the Tenement Museum , highly recommended. Also at the top of Allen street is an excellent Chinese restaurant : Congee Village , you can se it as you exit the Tenement museum. If you want to experience an American Diner , leave the hotel take the 1st left onto Canal street , the Cup & Saucer is on the corner , sit at the counter & chat to the staff food good & staff friendly. If you want a no nonsense bar check out the Whiskey Tavern on Baxter Street , 10 minute walk from the hotel. In my opinion the only decent bar in New York. Near the east Broadway Subway station is the 169 Bar , it looks a bit scary from the outside & pretty unique inside worth a visit , a beer & a shot for $3. I arrived by taxi from JFK , $70 - took about an hour. I returned to JFK by the Air Train , its cheaper but if you have a lot of luggage I would look for an alternative, the subway train gets very busy. I would certainly stay at the Ho Jo again & would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience. We are thrilled to hear that enjoyed your time with us during your visit to the city. There are so many great restaurants and bars in the Lower East Side and Chinatown neighborhoods, and I am glad that you got to savor some of the culinary delights during your stay with us. We do provide a 5% coupon discount to all of our guests for Joe's Shanghai on Pell Street, a place renowned for their soup dumplings. Although we also provide complimentary free breakfast, there is a good breakfast diner in Chatham Square in Chinatown called Everest for guests who wish to enjoy the neighborhood experience.

I highly recommend The Clinton Street Baking Company on Houston Street just two stops away from the F Train. Their blueberry pancakes are fantastic and top of the line.

Thank you for your recommendation of Howard Johnson. It was our privilege to make you feel at home, and we look forward to providing you with another delightful experience on your future visits.

Warm regards,
Brian Chao
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Address: 5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.