We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for multiple days in New York.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #146 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    151
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
105
140
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is not really on Soho but on Chinatown - which is great! It was a wonderful opportunity to explore different ways of life and the Chinese cuisine.
The rooms are clean and not so small as usual in NY. The staff is very helpful and nice - they gave me all the support I asked for. And the breakfast is very decent.
The subway is not far, so it is a good location to explore the city; you can even walt to Wall St. area!
In conclusion, I 'm pleased to have found out "my" hotel in NY!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello Luis!

Thanks for your review! I am pleased that you were happy with our accommodations and the service our staff extended to you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and providing you another delightful experience!

Warm regards,
Brian Chao
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed in the HJ Soho for one week and we don't have one complaint about the hotel. It directed into Chinatown. It is more of New York here on the lower east side then downtown at Times Square. We could walk easily to Brooklyn Bridge, Soho, Little Italy and Financial district. The staff was superfriendly, the breakfast was varied and the rooms were very clean. We did not had any trouble with noise from the streets. The subway is just one block further wich takes you easily to Brooklyn or downtown Manhattan. I'd recommend this place to anyone for their trip. We'd be glad to come back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Desk at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Good Morning Jensdm1986,

Thank you very much for writing this kind review. We are very glad our location worked for the convenience of your stay and that you had a great time at HOJO Soho. We will be more than glad to have you again as our guest in the future and please contact us in case you have family or friends coming so we can take really good care of them!

Kind Regards,

Lina Siegert
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one week as a honeymoon trip and it was just really nice!
The hotel was extreamly well cleaned and the cleanin lady was lovely.
Staff was all in all very friendly and there was a free coffee n fresh fruits 24/7. The staff helped us in every question very well.
Abit far from the center but subway stop very near (east broadway) takes like 10 minutes to downtown,so was not a big deal.
Amazing views from the rooftop of the hotel,theres also some chairs at the rooftop.
We would come again for sure.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Desk at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Good morning Sebastian,

Thank you very much for your kind review! It was a joy to have you at HOJO Soho for your honeymoon and we are very glad to hear that your trip was comfortable and happy. We tried our best to accommodate you considering it was such an important date and we will be glad to have you in the future as our guest again!
Many thanks from all the Staff at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho for choosing us!

Lina Siegert
Assistant guest service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed in hotel for a 4 night vacation. Usually stay in midtown, but we wanted to explore the lower East side. Hotel is new, very clean and has a super nice staff. However the hotel is several blocks from the orange line subway (the only line that is close) and this line had outages during our entire stay so we had to rely too heavily on taxis and car services. This cost us about $150 more in expenses than we had planned. Also the heat/air cannot be controlled by the individual rooms. The room temp is controlled by a master switch set by the staff. The first night we all we were dripping in sweat the entire night. Then we kept our window cracked the remainder of our stay. Also the area is very noisy and congested. Did not get a good night sleep the entire time we were there due to heat and noise.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Desk at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Good morning Jill ,

Thank you so much for leaving this review and let us know how your stay was at HOJO Soho. I want to apologize for the inconvenience that you had during your stay with the AC, we tried our best to help you and make your stay as comfortable as possible. As you said it, the subway line is 2 blocks away from our hotel and unfortunately the F line had some issues during your stay, but there is little we can do about that ! the MTA is making some arrangements on the train tracks so the F train was affected during the day you stayed at the hotel. If you ever decide to visit us again I will personally make sure that you get the best accommodation possible and we will try our best to give you close by recommendations of restaurants and areas of interest.

Kind Regards,

Lina Siegert
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Very modern, excellent clean rooms with everything you need to visit manhattan. Good free WIFI, Polite friendly staff who know their immediate area. The hotel is not in Soho but on the Chinatown end of Canal str but that was a plus in my book as it meant we could take advantage of all he excellent restaurants around us. Even if you don't get a room with a view there is a small rooftop terrace/space that is good for about ten people and gives excellent views uptown and downtown over the Manhattan bridge. The rooms are best suited for couples/singles and excellent for exploring downtown Manhattan.

Room Tip: The higher the better for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Desk at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Toby,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are glad to hear that your stay was up to your expectations, that the area was comfortable for you and that you enjoyed our rooftop even with this cold weather! We are looking forward to have you as our guest again at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lina Siegert
Front Desk
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Address: 5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.