We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former gas station made great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B-Bar & Grill

B-Bar & Grill
40 East 4th St, Bowery, New York City, NY (Manhattan)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,788 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Former gas station made great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a lovely place- great garden- get a table there.
This used to be my favourite sunday night restaurant when I was more regularly in NY, but I still go when I am there now. Such a pleasure. Food is good quality, not over the top, and the staff are great.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    20
    17
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great staff! The menu had a good variety of choices. The patio is fabulous! We drank some cold Rose and I had the veggie burger- which can be boring but it was tasty and filling after a long day. I did not get to try lunch- perhaps on my next visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz,NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I spent a leisurely day in NYC for our wedding anniversary visiting museums, shopping, walking around. We were hungry and were passing this restaurant so we stopped in. The decor was eclectic and interesting and the food was out of this world. We sat in the back which is designed as a 1950's diner. We ordered gazpacho and fish tacos and a couple of cold drinks. Let me repeat, the food was out of this world! I can't wait to go back. The service was excellent and the prices a little high but expected for NYC. The atmosphere was a little hectic. There is a large open patio as well as an indoor sports bar. Don't miss it. (I see other reviews on YELP weren't as complementary but my experience was great)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Don't bother...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I knew I was going to have a bad experience the moment I walked into this restaurant. It was pretty clear to me that the hostess was not interested in working at this place or even seating us - she was more interested in talking to one of the waiters. The joint was 1/4 full and everyone was seated in 1 section of the restaurant - lots of empty tables. Anyhow, the food was ok but overpriced and the wine and beer selection was adequate. The wait staff was mediocre - not very attentive and like the hostes - not interested in being there. However, the patio looked amazing and was perfect for hot Sunday afternoon!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good for an outdoor summer beer garden catch up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This place does get a great lunchtime and early evening buzz. Our hotel was just around the corner and after days of going to other areas we decided to stay really local. Good buzz, drank great sangrias and had good bar food style food. There was a mexican soft taco done with duck and it was great. The venue did seem to pitter out by evening though.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B-Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to B-Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B-Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.