We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pip’s Place – Up-scale GF Cakery Dreamland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pips Place - The Gluten Free Cakery

Pips Place - The Gluten Free Cakery
1729-31 1st Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Upper East Side)
212-360-6400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pip’s Place – Up-scale GF Cakery Dreamland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you’re craving something sweet, head to Pip’s Place. Completely GF, certified bakery. They serve gluten free baked goods that you may not know (or can tell) can be made gluten free. Heath bars, Caramel Cake, Cinnamon Coffee Cake, Dairy Free Cookies, Cupcakes, Homemade sandwich bread, muffins, and more. Delish grilled cheese too. Full coffee and tea bar. They started on the Upper East Side, and just opened a new, convenient location near Grand Central Terminal. Limited bar-style seating in both locations. Friendly staff. Can custom-order celebratory cakes. A bit pricey, but absolutely worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had never heard of this place before going to NY, but what a joy to discover a gluten-free cakery right next to my hotel! Great selection of cakes, loved the scones and protein muffins. I'm a bit embarrassed to admit I had 3 cakes everyday...! They also serve oatmeal for breakfast and melted-cheese sandwiches, but I went for the cakes...
It's not the Place to sit Down, there are no seatings, but take-away (take-home) is just fine.
Next time I'm in NY, I'll be there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“wonderful treats (and they're gf!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Pip's is the best gf bakery I've tried in New York. I love that celiacs and non-celiacs alike can enjoy their treats. Pip's catered my bridal shower and birthday and was well received by all. They have really great variety including a delicious heath bar!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

So happy to find this gluten free bakery at Lexington/ 39th St. Cozy interior, coffe drinks and a wide variety of gluten free goodies. Deserves to be in business for a very long time :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I traveled to NYC for vacation with our kids who are 16 and 9. Three of us have Celiac. This place is a gem. The staff was incredibly friendly, and everything we ate was wonderful. The coffee wasn't great, but we didn't care...we were eating amazing cinnamon rolls and toll house bars. Totally worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pips Place - The Gluten Free Cakery also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pips Place - The Gluten Free Cakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pips Place - The Gluten Free Cakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.