We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benares

Benares
240 W. 56th Street, Between 8th Ave and Broadway, New York City, NY 10019
2123970707
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Benares is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,131 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: On W 56th street between Broadway and 8th ave
Transit: Subway : 57th Street Station: Q . R , W Trains Columbus Circle Station: A. B. C, D Trains
Description: At Benares, we offer a selection of traditional and regional Indian cuisines that are carefully prepared and presented by our experienced chefs.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Good variety of Indian dishes are available. We found dishes on the large side so be careful not to over order. They were all tasty and enjoyable although I found the biryani spicier than I expected. Attentive staff.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing staff & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Amazing staff & delicious food. As compared to their location, benares is little over pricey but amazing service recover it all. this restaurant needs more staff like RAVI...

I will recommend Bombay Palace Restaurant for those who want high class food & service and no doubt I will highly recommend Benares Restaurant for the rest who want to spend less for the same high class quality.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for a large group!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My criteria had been to find a restaurant with delicious food and interesting cocktails that could accomadate a group of 24 people - and Benares totally delivered! The food was great and very easy to share, the drinks were great, and the restaurant did not seem cramped or overwhelmed by us!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic fix for our Indian food craving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I had been craving good Indian food for several weeks, so we stopped here for a late dinner upon arriving in NY. We weren't disappointed. The chicken tikka masala was awesome, a little tangier and spicier than most we've had, but incredibly yummy. The highlight if the meal was rogan josh (lamb). It was outstanding!

The service was also fantastic.

If you find yourself in midtown Manhattan (Central Park South) with a craving for Indian, we'd highly recommend Benares.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Looking for something other than all American food? Check this place out. Super nice and friendly staff. Food was great. We shared 3 appetizers and 4 main dished. Chicken, goat, eggplant.... Bring your stretchy pants.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benares also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Benares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.