We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaonnuri

Gaonnuri
1250 Broadway, Penthouse (39th Fl.), New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)
+1 212-971-9045
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaonnuri is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #716 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 32nd street
Transit: TRAIN: PENN STATION: AMTRAC/LIRR/NJ TRANSIT/NJ PATH SUBWAY: PENN STATION A/B/C/E/1/2/3 32nd and Broadway Corner N/Q/R BUS: M4/M5/Q32
Description: GAONNURI [gah-ohn-nu-ri]: The Center of the World The name Gaonnuri represents our placement in what we believe is the center of the world, both physically and figuratively. Located in the heart of New York City, a city that represents the intersection of the finest cuisines and eclectic cultures, Gaonnuri seeks to gather people of all backgrounds to share in a traditional Korean dining experience. We hope that the authenticity of the food and the enjoyment of the dining experience will invite patrons for generations to come. Thank you for allowing us to invite and serve you in our own culinary center.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great experience and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Having myself only been to a true Korean BBQ once and my friend had never been before, I couldn't have been happier with our waiter. He was patient and took the time to explain everything from the drinks to appetizers to the main meal. We didn't feel intimidated at all. Now the food itself, incredible! Fresh, tasty, perfect seasoning and cooked the way we wanted. One of the best lunches and experiences that we had when visiting NYC last week. Oh and a great view too!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    47
    20
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing views, food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Made a reservation through opentable, requested a table by the window, which we got, and had an amazing night. Our nine year old loved the place and the food. We ended up with the tasting menu, which was pricey but offered items I wouldn't have ordered on my own, and all of it was delicious. The view, we were looking out on the Hudson and NJ, was spectacular! Our daughter is still talking about it, how the cars on the street looked like bugs, how a plane flew by at our level, and how she thought she could see forever. I would do it again in a heartbeat. If you want to spend less order from the a la carte menu, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked this through Opentable as it was a reccommended restaurant for our trip to NYC - Had a table to the east of the city with amazing views! This is the highest restaurant in Manhattan. There was 5 of us eating and we went for the BBQ sytle menu which is cooked in the middle of your table which is fun. We had never had Korean food before and we were totally blown away by the tastes! We had the steak, beef and pork all of which was melt in the mouth and flavorsome. The service was impeccable and the atmosphere in the restaurant was chilled but electric.
An absolute must if you visit NYC! For starters and mains and lots of fine wine, including tips was around $400.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent view, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The view was amazing, and the food good as well. Table barbecue (meat) was excellent, seafood bibimpap didn't meet our expectations that well as it didn't have a deep enough flavor. We ordered two starters and two entrees and weren't able to eat it all, it would have been more than enough only with one entree! Unfortunately, we couldn't try any desserts then after all the food. We were surprised that the reataurant with such a view wasn't very expensive at all, very affordable.

Drinks were nice, as well, sat first in the drink bar waiting for the table. We had a reservation, we had wished for a table next to the window and with a great view, and we got an excellent table!

I would recommend this restaurant specially for the great view of the city and nice atmosphere!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have visited GAONNURI for my valentines dinner. Upon reservation, I have requested a windowside table and my wish was granted without a single hassle.

The coursemeal price seemed a little bit on the high side until I realized the amount of food that I got out of the menu. Although portions were small on each plate, but considering you get 5 appetizers to start off your entree, it was a deal.

The desert was an absolute delish and considering that it was valentines, the noise level was well kept and I was able to have a quiet chat with my significant other without any interruption. After an hour, the place cleared up of the traffic and became much quieter.

Absolute must try.

PS. Don't be scared of the beef tartare, it is the BEST.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaonnuri also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gaonnuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaonnuri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.