We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub with great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tir na nOg, Times Square

Tir na nOg, Times Square
315 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)
212-760-0072
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tir na nOg, Times Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #941 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Eighth + Ninth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good pub with great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited a few times as it was just up the road from our hotel. The food was great, there were lots of drink promo's and the staff were always on the ball. The pub also has plenty of big screen TV's showing loads of sport including SPL, EPL and Champions League footy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    85
    22
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mid Glamorgan
2 reviews
“Okay Irish restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Good thing about restaurant was its in same street as hotel candlewood suites nice enough food not too expensive compared to some we went to

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We are staying just down the way from this bar and decided to pop in for an early bar meal .... What a surprise ! The food was excellent and was far better than a bar meal. Steak was tender and delicious, pork chop was succulent and the cabbage and bacon accompaniment was heavenly. Others has the Shepherds pie and fish and chips both of which were good. Certainly worth a visit if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Food/Atmosphere but Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Recently visited with a group of 8 as it was close to the Candlewood Suites Hotel. Personally visited the restaurant one hour before to make reservations and was assured a table for 8 would not be a problem and that checks could be split. When we arrived, it was if the staff was not aware that we made a reservation. To their credit tables were put together and we were able to sit as a group. Had to ask waitresses twice for several items, even though we instructed which couples were together the bills came individually billed and it took forever to pay 8 separate bills z(even though tip was automatically included because of our large group?. That said the food was very good - recommend the Shepards Pie and blueberry beer. Fortunately there are a lot of other choices to eat so I cannot recommend Tir Na Nog especially if you are with a group.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable roomy environment. Service was timely and friendly. I had double cut pork chop medium rate and it was excellent. Others in my party had the steak and fish & chips. All are excellent. I'd definitely eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Tir na nOg, Times Square also viewed

 

Been to Tir na nOg, Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tir na nOg, Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.