We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tir na nOg, Times Square

Tir na nOg, Times Square
315 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018
212-760-0072
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tir na nOg, Times Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #842 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Eighth + Ninth
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Noisy but good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Tir na nOg is unabashedly Irish, but its menu is diverse. I ordered grilled cod served over mashed potatoes and leeks with a buerre blanc. It was a perfect combination of food and flavors. The cod was perfectly cooked and the buerre blanc provided a tang that completed the layering of flavors nicely. Service was as I like it - attentive but not cloying. The only downside is that the restaurant is noisy, especially in the NYC after work hours of 6 to 8. If you can deal with that, Tir na nOg is a great place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    70
    65
    19
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I came here just because it is closest to my hotel but I was pleasantly surprised. The roasted chicken is tender, served with crisp green beans and perfectly roasted potatoes. You can't beat the $5 drinks!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“greatness all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went in not too excited about the idea of an iriah bar but were pleasently suprised. Great staff and service, amazing food (Turkey burger is a must) , reasonable price for what you get, would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, VA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Irish Restaurant in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went to NYC for St. Patrick's Day. Tir na nOg provided spirited Irish music, exciting rugby on 16 televisions, excellent authentic Irish food, and great service from Tony. It made for a very authentic day for us. The lamb shepherd's pie was just like my mother used to make it, and the fish and chips were fabulously fresh. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Go Irish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. Spacious and beautiful, good food, friendly and efficient bartenders. Walking by the front door in an otherwise rather depressing block (39th St between 8th & 9th) you would never guess that such an ambiance can be found inside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tir na nOg, Times Square also viewed

 

Been to Tir na nOg, Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tir na nOg, Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.