We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Refinery Hotel to your Saves list
Refinery Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Tripadvisor Fan Special!
Ranked #15 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Troon
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I love industrial buildings and this former hat factory in NYCs Garment District was different. We had researched online and requested a room on the 9th floor to the rear. This meant we got a quiet room. Though to be honest, you don't go to mid-town in NY if you want quiet as you will be aware of traffic and sirens 24/7. Choose the upper West Side if you want silence. I'd not complain if I heard the fabulous jazz that emanated from the hotels bar in my room! The doormen are so funky in their dark jeans with denim shirts and braces. They look like they could break into dance moves to the jazz at any given moment!. The room we got was huge. The decor fabulous. Monochrome, simple lines, demure lighting. Attention to detail is superb. The furniture recycled from factory elements and solid brass shower fittings. Spotlessly clean, and super comfortable beds. Sumptuous dressing gowns (I would have purchased one, but it would have required an extra suitcase to itself on the return flight). One tiny thing that could be improved is the towels were a tad small. This is something that you seem to get in America, but not so in Europe. Just saying. Now back to the praise....there is the most fabulous rooftop bar with views of the Empire State. It's clearly busy with New Yorkers after work, who queue up outside to reach it. There is a separate elevator to the rooftop, which means non-guests are not given access to the residents floors and everyone is escorted by a member of staff to the bar. There are increasing media articles about this place - some rooms have views of the Empire State, some are quiet, others less so. Those in the know, know what to request. I'll definitely return next time I'm in NY.....if there's room, because this place will become the place to stay. I even considered giving it a rotten review, just to ensure that there would be availability next time I go. But it's just not possible. Finally thanks to the wonderful Raymond (you were right, Brooklyn was great!).

Room Tip: If you want quiet get a room to on the 9th floor and to the rear. If you want a view of the Empire S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Talamhgirl thank you for your thoughtful review. We are delighted when our guests appreciate the homage we have our building’s history. We would be delighted to welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    288
    68
    12
    8
See reviews for
332
529
52
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tungelsta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

An excellent hotell!

We stayed there in November 2013, and we had a very pleasant stay. Nice staff, nice food, comfortable room and a very "cool" bathroom.

The rooftop bar had good drinks, cosy atmosphere and an fantastic view over the city!

A hotel to recommende!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation ACKSTungelsta. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Birthday trip to celebrate my daughter's 10th birthday. Booked online. After reading reviews prior to booking, requested room on middle floor between 4th and 7th so rooftop music and noise wouldn't be problematic in wee hours. Arrived early from DC and we were able to check in at noon, room on 4th floor as requested. Staff was friendly and smiling, holding doors, bidding us good day. After settling into room, staff member brought cake and comp water to room in recognition of daughter's birthday along with nice handwritten note. Nice touch. Double double room plenty spacious for the three of us and the beds are comfortable. Bathroom has really nice tile and huge mirror and shower/tub with good water pressure and quality soaps etc. Loved the decor and feel of the room and hotel. Modern but not overdone. Stayed two nights and can't wait to return. All of the staff were consistently really nice and pleasant and helpful. Basha helped out a lot when we checked out yet had plans for the day by storing our bags until we left town. Great stay. Top notch. Glad we stayed here instead of staying at garden variety chain hotel.

Room Tip: rooftop is a happy hour and late night hot spot. ask for room on middle floors 4-7 if you are concer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding our rooms and our service Michael C. We are delighted to hear your daughter enjoyed her 10th birthday with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Really liked the design and decor of the hotel which nodded towards a classic NYC mix of industrial, modern, beaux arts blend.

The rooms are a decent size, a bit tight for a family of four. As referenced in previous reviews, storage and hooks were not a design priority so that made it a bit uncomfortable. If we were in NY for longer than one night it would have been frustrating.

The housekeeping is generally clean. The rooms are hardwood flooring which we like, but, I noticed quite a bit of dust in corners and behind the small furnishings when looking for a scarce plug.

Our room on the ninth floor was sunny (no long building shadows!). We didn't hear as much street noise in the evening, but don't plan on sleeping in, by 8:30 there were garbage trucks and sirens wailing.

Finally, the location is convenient. But I think I prefer being in the higher numbers where we've stayed in the past closer to Rockefeller Center, but that's just personal preference.

In other reviews I saw comments about a burly bouncer guarding the entrance to the rooftop bar--we were actually hoping to see him as he'd become quite a character on this site for this hotel--but we saw no evidence and my husband had no problem entering the rooftop bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review, jcg2313. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be making a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel exceeded expectations. Excellent location and atmosphere. Close to subway and taxi rides inexpensive from this location. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooftop lounge atmosphere amazing. Decor and style very unique and inviting.

Room Tip: Upper floors less street noise. 1217 less noise from rooftop bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are happy to hear you had an excellent stay Dingle-fan. We are hoping to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrick
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

my husband and i chose this hotel sight unseen because of the location being in the middle of all we wanted to do. we checked in a bit early and they had a room ready for us and gave us an upgrade as well no extra charge and a cold bottle of Voss water. the lounge and lobby is really nicely decorated. The rooms are not huge but agian really nicely decorated and big bathroom. the roof top bar was apperantly a hot spot but no wating for us because we were guests!!! I would totally come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review beth b! Your recommendation means a lot to us and we are pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here earlier this month for one week & was upgraded to an 'empire suite' on the 12th floor. A fab boutique style hotel, with stylish bars, including the incredibly busy rooftop bar. Great views from my room of the Empire State Building. The room was big, especially compared to other hotels in mid-town Manhattan. The restaurant, Parker & Quinn, served a fab breakfast, reasonably priced. Nothing bad to say about this hotel, friendly staff, nice atmosphere, perfectly located. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us dingle-fan. Thank you for taking the time to post, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refinery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.