We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Refinery Hotel to your Saves list
Refinery Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Fans Special!
Ranked #16 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights at the hotel from the end May into June. The check in process is fast and efficient, our room was not ready when we arrived (on an early flight) but there was no problem for them to store our bags and call us when the room was ready. We were also upgraded in the hotel to a bigger room as we were staying for the 6 nights. The hotel decor in the hotel is very nice and the beds in the rooms are extremely comfortable, just what you need after a long day of walking around New York. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Patrick, who was really great at helping us out with directions and helping with shopping bags!! It was also my birthday during our stay and a cake and bottle of red were left in the room, it was a really nice touch!
The hotel is ideally located, seconds from Bryant Park, 5th Avenue and minutes from Times Square and Broadway. We would return here in a minute!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 9th floor facing the Empire State building (903). We did not hear any noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review leannek996, we will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    202
    51
    10
    6
See reviews for
259
373
41
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great staff and service , especially the bellman Patrick. Would recommend as the place to stay in midtown close to Times Square and walking distance to downtown
It was close to a number of subway stations so we could catch a variety of different lines

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and our location zargon1. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A really nice hotel with comfortable beds and an extremely nice staff. The hotel is close to broadway shows which allows you to walk. The rooftop bar is very nice but a little noisy for the older crowd. Breakfast at the hotel was great and very affordable. Would recommend staying here.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We appreciate your recommendation, Klamland. We are glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay and look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

All flights were cancelled into O'Hare and I needed to rebook a hotel for the night in Manhattan. Staying here at least turned a bad situation into a very nice evening. Great hotel, love the décor, outside areas, and the entry lobby is stunning. My room was one of the smallest and yet it felt more like my own little studio apartment than a small hotel room . Kudos to the design team. I will be returning on my next trip to NY!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
lkchgo, we are glad that you found us and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

When I travel on business, it's the small things that count. I don't have time to screw around and I want things done right. I arrived at midnight. No greeting from doorman--he asked me if I wanted a cart as if to handle my own luggage--nice! They Missed my wake up call the next day. At one point I asked someone at the front desk for an envelope for all my receipts. He scoured drawers but nope--no envelopes. That seems hard to believe. I had laundry done and when I called down to ask when it would be delivered, I got the run around-put in hold, hung up on, non-answers. If you're young and like thumping disco in the lobby-fine. If you're a business traveler, no.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Kdawgwarrior, we will be thoroughly reviewing the details of your comments with our team and will continue to improve in all areas you mentioned. We hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future for a more refined experience of our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were here on vacation. The hotel service was great, the rooftop terrace bar has a wonderful view and atmosphere. The decor is beautiful and room amenities are what you would expect. Can't beat the location either. It's an easy walk to Broadway, Rockafeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for posting PhotographyNut. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a very stylish midtown hotel. It has a "hip", industrial feel to it, which we really liked.
We thought our room was a bit too small, but then again this is New York and we went for the cheapest room category..
We thought the free coffee to go in the Lobby added a very nice touch - you grab your coffee and are ready to explore the city.
What we really liked was the rooftop bar. It's a very nice space, and we enjoyed having a lively open air bar right in our hotel..

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
EdTheEd, thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed Refinery Hotel and are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refinery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.