We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Refinery Hotel to your Saves list
Refinery Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Fans Special!
Ranked #17 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Port Washington, New York
1 review
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The young lady who checked me in - Renita was amazing! I also came across Mr. Bassim who made sure I got the room I requested. He was also warm and friendly. The rooms are well decorated & well supplied. All the staff members I came across were also nice and helpful. They were genuinely glad to be of assistance. Overall, it is a fantastic hotel and I enjoyed my stay immensely. I cannot wait to return...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit, Giovanni T--thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    246
    62
    12
    6
See reviews for
292
446
48
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We recently had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel which has been re-purposed in to a beautiful and fun place to stay in NYC.The decor is is chic and artistic with great overall ambiance, there is just a fun overall vibe happening within the property day and night.
From the minute we arrived and were greeted by the doorman and every one we encountered during our stay provided us genuine and sincere guest service. One such person that stood out and won my wife's heart was Albert Almonte, he always had a smile and was most helpful and accommodating on so many occasions during our stay.
We very much enjoyed the cozy lobby bar, the hip and fun roof top bar with outstanding views and cocktails and the restaurant delighted us too.
This is a true gem of a hotel located in a great area of NYC, close to Bryant Park, Fifth Avenue and The Theater District.
We will be back, as I believe this will be our go to hotel in NYC going forward.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Gregory L, thank you for your kind words. We hope you will be visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Heading to New York is always a treat, especially when meeting friends for dinner and drinks. Deciding to make a night of it, we did some research and settled on the Refinery Hotel. Everything from check-in to check-out was a breeze, with very friendly staff. The room was well-decorated with a comfortable bed and modern touches. We even enjoyed drinks in the very cool rooftop bar with views of a beautifully lit Empire State Building. Great location (walkable to many attractions) and reasonably priced -- I recommend to anyone looking for a great hotel in the heart of NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, hc555. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

There are many New York hotels at all different price levels and locations but the Refinery Hotel has a great location and is not overly expensive. On a recent trip we were able to walk from Penn Station with our small rolling overnight suitcases as well as easily walk to the New York Public Library, Lord and Taylor, and restaurants as well as nearby theaters. The staff gave us a warm welcome and continued to be helpful and gracious. Our room (Studio Queen - upgraded to Studio King) was comfortable and quiet with a great walk-in shower, large screen TV and free Wi-Fi. The imaginative contemporary decor included references to the hotel previous existence as a series of lofts where hats were made. We'll use this hotel again on our next NY visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor have better views (also cost more).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Glencliffe--thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel on your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham Manor, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I had the pleasure of hosting 15 of my daughter's friends at the Refinery Hotel in NYC while she celebrated her Sweet 16. The celebration was more special due to the stay at the Refinery Hotel. The staff was exceptionally friendly and overly accommodating. They even surprised my daughter by leaving her a "Happy Sweet 16" cake in her room to share with her friends when they returned from being out for the evening. While checking in I asked if on a moment's notice the hotel restaurant, Parker and Quinn, could accommodate the girls for a quick snack before they left to see a matinee on Broadway. The quickly put together an area for 17 people to have belgian waffles before we left 45 minutes later to see the show. The rooms were beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and very roomy for a NYC hotel. I would recommend staying at this hotel to friends and family, and most definitely would stay there again. The location was great. Walking distance to Grand Central, and 1 block off of 5th Avenue for shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your post, PPL123, we hope you will be visiting again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at The Refinery Hotel recently for four nights. The hotel is trendy and modern, you feel like you are staying in a New York apartment. As has been said by previous guests the staff are first class, nothing is too much trouble for anyone, they are friendly and helpful and genuinely want to make conversation with guests. The hotel is perfectly situated for sight seeing. We had a room with a fantastic view of the Empire State Building which was a bonus. We ate in Parker & Quinn one night and it was good, they had a jazz group playing live which was great, lots of atmosphere and very New York. So here's the but it is not a very child friendly hotel. We travelled with our 10 year old son and they wouldn't allow him into either of the bars, after a long day walking around New York we would have liked to relax and have a drink in the hotel bar before dinner or bed but the only place we could do that was in the hotel restaurant sat at a table. So yes the hotel is excellent and yes we would definitely recommend it but something to bear in mind if you are travelling with children.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We appreciate your recommendation, Joanne187069, and hope that you will be visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights in April. Our stay was very comfortable. The hotel has free wi-fi which is extremely convenient for tourists. The roof-top bar is nice and the staff here is very friendly. The hotel smells really wonderful as you enter the lobby ! ( silly little detail but still) . Complementary coffee is served from 6.30 am to 10 am ( I think) in the lobby. Being a tea drinker, I do wish some effort should be made to keep some tea bags and hot water along side the coffee. How difficult is that? There is no black tea in the room service menu either, only green tea. So basically I had to change into outwear early in the morning and go to the nearest deli to fetch my wake-up tea and on some days it turned out to be a freezing cold walk. Perhaps Americans tend to be coffee drinkers but what about visitors from other countries? Also Im not sure this is a 5 star hotel? It definitely doesn't feel like one. In general we had a pleasant stay here and if you are not fussed about your beverage , you'll be fine too.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms close to the elevators because music from the rooftop bar can be extremely loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed an overall pleasant stay, Saafari, and we will be sure to review our tea selections! We hope that you will be visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refinery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.