We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - believe the hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Refinery Hotel to your Saves list
Refinery Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Tripadvisor Fan Special!
Ranked #14 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great hotel - believe the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

What can I say that hasn't already been covered on the reviews?
We stayed for 5 nights and really can't fault the hotel or it's staff. We were welcomed with excellent service from the moment our cab arrived outside which made life easier after a long haul flight. Check in was smooth and as we were unpacking there was a knock on the door to give us complimentary water and the latest Time Out magazine for what was going on in the city.
The staff were very helpful in printing out tickets for the 9/11 memorial which we had booked on our iPad (free, fast wifi throughout the hotel), making sightseeing recommendations & giving us tips to save us time. Finally booking our cab back to JFK, taking into account busier traffic because it was the day of the St Patricks day parade.
We ate twice in the Parker & Quinn restaurant and couldn't fault the food or the service, likewise at the rooftop bar. The cocktails were dangerously gorgeous!
I would echo previous reviews in that the hotel is trendy without being pretentious & the bed was really comfy. The only (very slight) negatives would be the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room but at least there was a plentiful supply of free coffee in the lobby which certainly set us up for the day. Finally the wardrobe was of a reasonable size but did lack shelf space. Certainly neither of these detracted from the amazing stay & we would definitely look to go back should we return to NYC.

Room Tip: Higher the better (they do supply earplugs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We look forward to your return visit, Elvister, thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    283
    64
    12
    8
See reviews for
326
518
52
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed in ( and I have travelled to more than 50 countries). What I like:
The staff - friendly, helpful and casual.
The room - beautiful, tasteful, fairly quiet considering the location in midtown. View of the Empire State building from our window. Beautiful bathroom. Someone with passion for design and concept have done a wonderful job.
Sleeping: Comfy beds and good curtains to make it dark.
Morning coffee: Go down to reception and get great free coffee to take back to your room to help you wake up.

Room Tip: As high up as possible in the building to get distance from the street voice. Or get a room not faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review, KarinDelin--we are happy that you enjoyed almost all aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel makes a great first impression and reception made a good effort to get me a room with a view which was much appreciated! Aziz and Basha and all the doormen were extremely professional but the majority of the other hotel staff (reception & restaurant) came across as young and arrogant with no real focus or understanding on how important good customer service is. Each interaction I had left me thinking that the staff are not interested in making a good impression and would perhaps fit in better working in Abercrombie & Fitch where they are paid to act and be cool.

Overall I enjoyed my stay but would say that the hotel staff need a stronger focus on the little things that often make a big difference.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We value your feedback, Schradd123, and will be reviewing these details with our team as we continue to improve and refine our service. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I'm very often in NYC and never been twice to the same hotel. Always very disappointed by the quality / price ratio. I feel like I have finally found a place where to stay. The refinery is very well located. Rooms are spacious and well decorated, in a stylish NYC style. The staff is really nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for posting, emfal, and for your recommendation. We hope you will be visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here two nights on a stop over through NYC. It does have a "vibe" as they say. Perhaps best described as a mixture of hip bistro mixed with Barney's coupled with a dash of something vaguely European. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast at Parker & Quinn was very good and the rooftop bar is a fun place for a drink. I liked the location. Walking distance to the Empire State Building, 30 Rock, Time Square (although, not sure why you would want to go here) and MSG. Longer walk to Central Park but doable. Otherwise, a short train or cab ride to everything else. I was on the 5th floor and there was some street noise but nothing major and it is NYC afterall...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your review, David E, we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel has a very special vibe…and, that's all due to the hospitality shown by the staff! Their interactions with you, day and night, were professional, but not boring and stale. They were sooo much fun to talk to and always smiling! They were very knowledgable about the city and gave great recommendations on nightlife and food! Our room was spacious, clean, and had a great view which was an added bonus! I will absolutely stay there again…and, again…and, again! The adjoining restaurant and roof top bar had excellent food/service. Special recognition needs to be given to Steven Desrosiers, security officer. His professionalism was outstanding! His hospitality went above and beyond my expectations as a female hotel guest who was traveling with 2 girlfriends! It was very obvious that he was passionate about his job and his responsibilities of making sure the guests felt safe and secure! He took pride in what he did which was so refreshing to see these days! The entire staff made me feel like they were at my disposable, but Steve's service was noteworthy! He is a true asset to the Refinery and I hope his service does not go unrecognized. Special shout out to Bellmen Mike and Nazim and security officer John!! So, please consider nothing else when looking for hotel accomodations in NYC…you, absolutely, will be not disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and thoughtful post, mary b. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Having a weekend to ourselves are rare so we wanted to be in the middle of manhattan, but not have that busy noisy city experience. Refinery was just that place. Great rooms, love the size of the bathrooms, great size room because of the high ceilings. No view in your rooms, until you get to the top of the building. The rooftop bar has a fantastic view of the Empire State Building and a very friendly staff. Get a room on the higher levels they are nice and quiet and you need a key to get upstairs which is a safe feeling. The staff downstairs where very accommodating and friendly. Overall we had a great weekend and I am going back for work! Can't wait

Room Tip: The higher the number the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel on your business trip. Thank you for your post, shari C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refinery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.