We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“phantastic location, trendy atmosphere, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Refinery Hotel to your Saves list
Refinery Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Tripadvisor Fan Special!
Ranked #15 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
braunschweig
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“phantastic location, trendy atmosphere, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

very friendly staff, helpful and well informed.
Hotel is situated right in the middle of southern manhattan. Most points of interest can be reached by walking. Next Metro Stop is not far away.
Rooms are big enough, well designed, free WIFI, big bathroom, lovely beds.
Roof Terrace is a good place for a "sundowner".
Breakfast is available (important for german people) and an be booked in advance.
Breakfast is a typical english/american one but well tasting and enough for the whole day.
We loved our stay art Refinery`s very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, marthinoz. We are happy that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us and a full breakfast at Parker & Quinn. We hope you will be visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    283
    64
    12
    8
See reviews for
325
515
52
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great location. Fabulous sized room (but then we were in an Atelier suite) which was excellently equipped. Amazing beds, great bathroom, very sound service. Concierge could be noticed up slightly but all in all, a really good experience. Both bars very good and theres a friendly vibe which makes a welcome change from the hip, aloof 'Are you cool enough to stay here?' undercurrent you get from too many of these new hotels. The garment district theme is nicely played without being painful. Couldn't really recommend more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, bearsontour_10, we hope you will be visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Loved my visit with my daughter !! We were there during the Columbus Day Parade Week. The rooftop was the most wonderful place in the hotel , I'm not going to rate the food or Rest. As they were still getting the kinks out of this boutique hotel. Staff was fantastic . Yes it was expensive but just what we thought. On the downside. We were on the 11th floor and still quite noisy I think there should be room for food we bring back to the room , but if that's all the downside. Not bad!!! Felt special. Felt safe , slept in a cloud .would return .

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We look forward to your return visit, Deb d, and thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were a little worried staying here we have two young, rambunctious, boys. But the staff was totally accommodating to our needs, very friendly to our boys, even giving them high fives, and we felt very much at home for our whole stay. It's worth the price for location and service, they just need a pool to be the perfect place.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review, HamboneandTank, we hope you and your family will be returning to New York and Refinery Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in the Refinery with our 14 and 10 year old children just after New Year. We were all very impressed with the location, the size of the room, the comfort of the beds, the free wifi and the restaurant.
The staff at reception made the visit special from the start asking whether it was our first trip to New York and giving us a room with a view of the Empire State building on hearing that it was the children's first trip to NYC.

The doormen were very helpful and all the staff we encountered were very warm and efficient.

Food was good with plenty of things to keep the children happy.

Location is superb between 5th and 6th Avenues and 4 blocks from the Empire State.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for posting. We are happy to have made your family's first visit to New York special, chevreville, and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

In the last day of a 9 day trip to NYC to celebrate birthdays. The Refinery is a great boutique hotel in a fabulous location. We were close enough to walk to Times Square and the Theater District, yet far enough removed from the chaos of New Year's Eve activities. The service has been fantastic, and our room was large enough and with the high ceilings felt very spacious. One of the best features of the location is the fact that there is an organic coffee/sandwich shop (no not Starbucks) steps away and down the street is a Lord and Taylor department store. Shopping and eating in the same block; you can't get better than that. Highly recommend this hotel for future travelers.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are always best of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit, mica60, and that we could be a part of your birthday and New Year's Eve celebrations. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here New Year's Eve because of the location (and the price) although I had not heard of the hotel before. The staff was uniformly friendly and seemed to enjoy working there. And we were offered a complimentary glass of wine at check-in. Our room was pretty spacious for the price and for a hotel in this location. The decor was modern and comfortable and the amenities well above standard. I'm sure the neighborhood would have been quieter if it hadn't been New Year's Eve but my room and, more importantly, the hallway outside, was quiet. A friend who stayed in another room said the walls were thin and her room was tiny, but I didn't have those issues.

The room service breakfast was quick, food was good and the right temperature although served on paper and plastic. And there was no coffee maker in the room. I didn't eat in the restaurant and the bar was closed for a private event that night so I can't comment on either.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to friends looking to stay slightly away from all the NYC commotion but still close enough to the action.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We appreciate your recommendation, Kris L, and thank you for your review. We hope you will be staying with us next time you visit NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refinery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.