We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Refinery Hotel to your Saves list
Refinery Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Tripadvisor Fan Special!
Ranked #19 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in December while in New York for meetings. I wanted to be centrally located so as to access the theater district but a bit out of the hustle. It was well located between 5th and 6th avenues just two blocks from Bryant Park. The hotel decor is modern but with industrial touches which harken back to its location in the garment district and prior use of the building. The staff are very pleasant, helpful, conscientious, and go out of their way to accommodate. The rooms were ample for NY standards and the bathroom amenities generous and of good quality. Unfortunately my room was right on 6th avenue on a lower floor so sleep quality was not optimal. Internet is free. The bar and restaurant were closed for private parties at various points in my stay which is unfortunate for guests - especially on cold windy evenings. I ate at the restaurant at one point after the private party had broken up. The food was ok but nothing special and the restaurant feels more like a bar/gastropub than a full scale restaurant. Drinks were good. The view from the roof top bar is nice and even in winter was cozy with a roaring fire. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We will look forward to your next stay with us, DavidChic1. Thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    310
    71
    13
    8
See reviews for
343
567
54
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at the Refinery Hotel for eight days last June. The hotel had just recently been opened up and several facilities were consequently not available at the time, notably the Roof Bar (or whatever they may call it) and so breakfast was not yet being served. Everything was brand new and we enjoyed an extra feeling of novelty. The members of the staff, porters, reception girls and boys, etc were remarkably friendly and receptive, eager to help, making you feel closely looked after. The hotel is spacious, clean and fantastically well located, a few metres from the 6th Av., but in an adjacent street ( West 38th), not particularly busy. The decoration and arrangement of the rooms, though nice and original, seems to be more centred on design than functionality, not always very practical, not always handy. Downstairs, the lobby and reception, as well as the lounge, give you a stylish impression the very moment you enter through the main door, an impression of good quality and design more than one of luxury. To sum up. we enjoyed a very nice stay at The Refinery and we intend to go back there some time if we get a good offer again.
Now some particular comments:

a) On the negative side:
-We had asked for a room with a view of the E.S.B., but ended in an interior room with a terrible view of a gloomy dirty yard. When I pointed this to the reception girl, she told me she would try to upgrade us the followind day, though the hotel was almost full. As we feared, eventually that change was not possible, but the same girl appeared to give the bad news and apologies, but also offering a nice bottle of wine as a present.

-The room itself was not bad, but there was a constant buzzing of the air conditioning machine down there in the yard. Not really annoying, but not nice either.

-The so called wardrobe was as tiny as you can see in the photos, which was really a shame since the total size of the room was quite large and there would have been enough space for a proper wardrobe.

-One of the days, when we arrived back to the hotel in the late afternoon, our room had not been done and the radio was on. When I went down to reception, the girl apologised, phoned immediately whoever was in charge of the duty and offered us some refreshemnts while we waited downstairs. We didn’t have to deal with this problem again.

b) On the posiitive side (apart from the general satisfaction already mentioned)

-Courtesy wine was served every evening next to the reception, by the lifts. Nice wines, American Italian and Spanish mostly. Also coffee and tea in the morning, compensating somehow the missing breakfast service.

-Without even asking them for such info, the porters were so nice as to tell us about the best time to call for a taxi, avoiding the rush hours.

-Of course we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel until the right time to go to the airport. Our plane left at six o clock, so we walked up Times Square once again, did some shopping and had lunch at Bubba Gump before returning to the hotel to pick up our stuff and take a taxi to JFK.

-The mini bar of the room was well provided, full of well chosen drinks and snacks and the prices pretty reasonable for a hotel of such category, but there is a good deli just acroos the street on 6th Avenue, and lots of other places to buy food all around.

-Location must be mentioned again: Times Square is a ten minutes’ walk, the subway just round the cormer and the charming Bryant Park one block away… Best location in midtown Manhattan.

Room Tip: Better choose upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful and thorough post, Nostremont. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 5th-9th December and absolutely loved it. The room was lovely and you can tell that the staff spend a lot of time focusing on little details which really make a difference to your stay. The room was much bigger than we expected after reading reviews of how small NYC hotel rooms can be and the bed was very comfortable. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is right around the corner from Times Square and Fifth Avenue but it wasnt too noisy at night so we had no problem sleeping. The hotel is close to the Empire State Building, Central Park, The Rockerfeller and also close to the busy shopping areas. You are also very close to subway stations if you want to travel slightly further afield. The staff are attentive, very friendly and really make you feel at home. There is a bar serving food like burgers etc attached to the hotel which is really nice but our favourite bar was the rooftop bar which was on the 13th floor. This had an open fire, gorgeous Christmas decorations and a wide range of drinks available as well as smaller bar snacks and nibbles too.

Overall it was a brilliant first trip to NYC made all the better by staying at this hotel. We will definiitely aim to stay here again on our next visit!

Room Tip: We requested a room on the higher levels to try and avoid any street noise. We stayed on the 9th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We look forward to your next stay with us, louflan, and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence, The Bahamas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We tried this hotel because it was brand new. No problems with the amenities or the performance of the staff. The security was very good. Food deliveries were administered by a very efficient security system with good communication. Being near Christmas the hotel had rented its main attraction, their rooftop lounge to private events with no warning. This meant we were unable to use this with any convenience. Locked out till after 10.30PM. Then all the party folks were jamming the place up and well on the way to an AM hangover. A decent view of the Empire State building from the rooftop. The room was a very good size however the rooms on the lower floors on the street are too noisy for a good sleep. This is a deal breaker for me. Perhaps a higher floor with a back room would be better. You don't want a room too high as the lounge vibrates the upper floors. I checked this out one evening from the hallways. The TV programming sucks. With all the options available this hotel should do better. The Radisson Mercer in London had the best TV system I've experienced and others would do well to copy them. With the extreme modern decor this hotel needs to do better with the entertainment. The Internet was a plus and included in the price.
In all I really can't recommend the Refinery as I know too many other places I would prefer my friends to stay but if they do stay here ask for a back room if the street, at least you might get to sleep which was not good for us.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your time and kind words regarding our staff, Simon R. We will be sure to review the details of your experience as we continue improving our space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed in room 516 it backed onto a construction site that was constructing all night. Ny is scarcely a quiet destination but this room was very very noisy through the night


Otherwise hotel staff charming, room stylish and toiletries high end. Free open access wifi classy big tv. Stylish common parts.

Had I been able to sleep I would have loved the place. But I wasn't.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, ADL79, and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our stay at the Refinery Hotel over the American Thanksgiving weekend was nothing less than comfortable and memorable. The experience begins right at the front entrance with a welcoming and helpful doorman, and continues to the sweet front desk people and later to the polite room service person who brought us water and ice. Call me crazy, but it's great to feel you're in an establishment where people are happy to see you. Our room on the fourth floor was spacious and gorgeously appointed with little amenities - like the bottle opener - that gives the impression someone was actually thinking about the guests when the hotel was designed. The bathroom was très luxe and inviting with generous supplies of soap, lotion, shampoo and conditioner. If the room didn't offer a great view, the rooftop bar more than made up for it with the Empire State Building sitting glamourously just a couple of blocks away. While the breakfast add-on was not exactly economical, the scrambled eggs, sausages and toast were delicious and first rate. The hotel is also cloaked in a wonderful old world ambience that somehow seems quite current as well. All in all, a terrific place to stay, centrally located, and one where you are happy to be a guest. I can only hope they will be able to maintain the excellent level of service.

Room Tip: Try a higher floor as the street can sound quite busy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We are glad to have provided a warm and memorable Thanksgiving visit, IsaacBlue. Thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Refinery and can't find enough positive accolades for this hotel. The hotel is located in a renovated millinery factory with special and unique reminders of this throughout the hotel.
The staff was attentive from the moment we walked in the front door.We were travelling with a group of 6 people and were warmly greeted by the manager and give a special "welcome to the Refinery" token of appreciation. Our rooms were, as the reviews below say, spotless and spacious with unique features such as switches to provide different light and privacy settings. The beds were the best - mattresses were so comfortable and, the pillows and comforter luxurious. There were special touches throughout - like the small clipboards for taking notes and the complimentary bottles of water. I am allergic to feathers and had them switched after a quick conversation with the front desk. We had a problem with heat in the room and it was resolved quickly by the staff who also followed up to ensure that the heat in the room was satisfactory.
The Rooftop lounge is a real treat with a special elevator servicing the floor. They had the fireplace going with a beautifully decorated Christmas tree and wonderful ambiance.
The location is the best - a short walk to Times Square, right around the corner from Bryant Park, a subway station close by and, Lord & Taylor in the same block with Macy's a short 5 minute walk away.
Prices for hotels in New York in December are the highest but, with this hotel, you know that, for the price, you are getting great service, decor, design and attention. It would be a nice addition to have a small business area for printing of boarding passes etc.
Would definitely return in a flash - big shout out to Basha!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit, newsdaytoday, and thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refinery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.