We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Refinery Hotel to your Saves list
Refinery Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Fans Special!
Ranked #16 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Found this new hotel on tripadvisor. Turned out to be real find. Thoroughly enjoyable experience. Offered a very nice glass of wine at check-in and everything from that point was terrific. Large room nicely appointed; nicely sized shower and bathroom. Food excellent and reasonably priced for New York. Staff we'll trained and friendly; no New York "attitude". good location if you want to be in the middle of the city near Times Square and the theatre district.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are glad you and your family enjoyed a terrific visit, Fred G. Thank you for your post and we hope you all will be staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    210
    54
    10
    6
See reviews for
272
391
42
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is the best hotel I've stayed in for work or pleasure, since the Upper House in Hong Kong. There are more luxurious hotels with a greater range of facilities, however, like the Upper House, the Refinery is small enough to feel personal and large enough to cover all bases (when traveling on business). Highlights included a great room, super powerful shower and excellent service (from finding a local Crossfit Club that would let me drop in and train to storing a delivery). Where could the hotel improve? The free mini bar at the Upper House is a nice touch the Refinery could think about (plus an in room kettle would help) and the otherwise excellent on site restaurant Parker & Quinn is let down by ropey coffee (fortunately Cafe Culture over the road is cracking). Otherwise, don't change a thing - thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are always proud to be called the best, PenguinandSpecial. Thank you for your review--we look forward to your staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here for several reasons. Although the rooms is small, the bathroom was quite large. The location was perfect, and we were able to walk to dinner every night. We were also close to the train, when we needed to use it.The staff was so friendly and attentive. We got a call to check in on how we were doing. We had room service one morning. Pricey, but best bagel ever. Free coffee is offered in the lobby.
Overall, good experience and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Your recommendation means a lot to us, radiogirlsteph, thank you. We hope you will be returning for a second visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed in the hotel this week. The staff are courteous and the rooms are good but the other facilities are completely unsuitable for travellers from out of town who are on business or vacation and want to eat or drink in the hotel. The small downstairs bar which is the main guest area was packed with a local after work crowd on both nights I was there - not even standing room. On the second night it was closed completely for a private function. The bar on the 13th floor was even more crowded with literally no where to sit and music so loud it was impossible to hold a conversation. The restaurant was the same. Standing room and zero service. I resorted to room service on both nights. This arrives delivered cold in plastic cartons and a paper bag with plastic cutlery. Food stone cold. If you're jet lagged and fancy a quiet cocktail and a meal stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: My room on the 9th floor was fine and I slept well
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, Jack H and thank you for your post. While we are sorry that your experience of some facilities was not up to our standard of excellence, we are happy that you enjoyed the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We chose the Refinery Hotel on location alone, and spent five great days in New York walking just about everywhere. The street is fairly quiet for Manhattan, and our room at the back was very serene. We liked the cleanliness, small but well-equipped bathroom (we had a full tub), and clever design touches. Front desk staff were very helpful with restaurant reservations, taxis, and a wonderful welcoming glass of wine while we checked in!
The bar scene on the roof is strange - on weekend evenings, the elevator door is manned by a fellow whose role was not made clear...but we chose to go elsewhere for a drink. We did go up on our last night (a Sunday, so it was nice and quiet) and enjoyed the outdoor seating area and view of the Empire State Building as we drank a glass of wine (not cheap!)
The restaurant Parker & Quinn was fine for breakfast (again, not cheap), but too dark and loud to enjoy a nice dinner. And there is free coffee in the lobby in the morning as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for posting, SophiagoestoItaly. We look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 days with my wife part business part pleasure. The hotel is well designed and feels it even the staff who are friendly helpful and welcoming.

The rooms are comfortable and not too noisy at least at the back.

The rooftop bar is a must visit great atmosphere and on its terrace stunning views of the Empire State Building.

Only small let down was that $40 of room service was delivered takeaway style in a paper bag of separate plastic boxes with no plate to eat off, a case of style over substance?

Otherwise an excellent hotel for business or pleasure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us, Andrew B--thank you for your post and photo. We look forward to your staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Came here for the first time after being fed up with the corporate rate hotel where I usually (have to) stay: NY Palace, Waldorf, Omni. Great overall experience. From reception to the room itself, everything was very well thought out and designed. Although not quite up to par with hotels like Gramercy Park and Bowery, there are a lot of similarities, but the rates are much friendlier at the Refinery.

Room Tip: Although I didn't experience this myself, but one of my colleagues had some inconvenience from c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, skydam, we hope you will be staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refinery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.