We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for Business or Pleasure!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Refinery Hotel to your Saves list
Refinery Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Fans Special!
Ranked #17 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for Business or Pleasure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at The Refinery. The lobby and bell staff were very personable and helpful in getting us cabs in front of property when needed. Room was small but very comfortable. Bed was very comfy! Bathroom was nice and on a larger scale that some NYC hotels and a good surprise since the room was on the smaller size. I did think the closet was quite small and was looking forward to making coffee in the morning instead of going to lobby, but just no room for it I think. the roof top bar is absolutely beautiful and you must def make a visit here even if not staying on site. Location is one of the best attributes and you can certainly walk to all main attractions quite easily!

The only negative aspects were no in room coffee which was really needed after late nights out with clients and the lobby bar was very crowded and very understaffed. The server there took at least 20 minutes with our drinks, was not able to provide a glass of water after repeatedly asking and told one of my clients there were out of 4 items before she hit on a 5th option they had available. However these things do happen and would I totally stay here when again in the city or if I bring my family up for the weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We look forward to your next visit, tlhighfield, and thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    247
    62
    12
    6
See reviews for
293
446
48
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Good location (2 blocks from Bryant Park), beautiful hotel, and a rooftop with a huge view of The Empire State Building.
And all my thanks to the team and especially Albert who helped me a lot during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Your kind words are much appreciated, Shane O. We hope you will be visiting again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This property was an obvious choice for my family's visit because it was one of the few with availability for rooms with 2 beds for their dates. Not only that, but the beds were QUEEN size, not double - unheard of in the city. After reading more about the property I knew it was a great choice, and one I definitely wanted to experience. We found a great rate on Tingo, and the price dropped $160 before our arrival.

The room was very large for the city, and had great high ceilings from its days as a factory. Good sized bathroom and shower. I had contacted the property ahead of time to request a coffee pot in the room, which was provided in the form of a Keurig machine. However, they only brought up tea cups with it, and no cream or sugar. We were able to get coffee cups after calling, but these were neither replenished daily, nor were the used ones disposed of. Seems like this should be basic procedure for a coffee machine. There was free coffee in the lobby however, so they must used to working with that only.

The restaurant, Parker & Quinn, has excellent breakfast, and just a great vibe in general. The roof top bar is also a must. It gets more of a trendy crowd on the weekends (rope in front of the elevator type thing), but we had a lovely after-dinner drink on the terrace on the Sunday night we were there. Views of the Empire State Building, a jazz combo in the corner, exposed brick and wooden beams. Very comfortable and warm.

The lobby bar never seemed to be open. During the day, many people gathered in the seating area, however, no bar service. We were hopping to grab a drink when I arrived at 4pm, but the bar tender was only setting up and couldn't serve us. It looked open later in the evenings when passing by, but no one was ever sitting having a drink. It seems they could take advantage of the crowd earlier in the day.

Considering the prices are on par with the larger, chain hotels in the city, but it offers a more unique experience, I'd recommend checking this place out next time you are in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation, jocall56--we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel is well-located and easily accessible to midtown, brand new, and gorgeously designed. The design is sophisticated, but pays homage to the location within the garment district.

As noted in other reviews, however, design tumps function in many aspects and the rooms, while beautiful, are not entirely functional. There is no space to store luggage and the outside facing window did not seem to be well insulated (there was a draft). We too had difficulties with the housekeeping - despite being out of our room all morning one of the days, we had no service; they also skimped on the amenities and we had to call down for shampoo so I could shower!

Our room was also incredibly noisy (it faced 39th) and we did not enjoy a restful sleep while we are there. The first morning we were woken by construction (actually a jackhammer) at 8am, then there were garbage trucks at 11pm, then construction noise again on our last day. We stayed over a weekend so did not expect so much noise. Mind you, this is the middle of New York...

The service was fantastic, however, and we also really enjoyed the two lounges and restaurant. The adjoining restaurant serves a delicious and well priced breakfast, and the lobby lounge is a lovely place to have a drink.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs! The inside rooms are likely also quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, rlf_vancity, and for commenting on our service. We hope you will be visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

You've got to stay at this place! It's a great Small Luury Hotel located in the heart of just about everything, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle-streets. Just spent 9 days in this heaven. The staff are warm and welcoming, cheerful and helpful. The room we stayed in was terrific! We enjoyed it so much we didn't even turn the TV on! A first for my husband! Instead we listened to the WMBG Jazz radio while relaxing in the very comfortable room. The shower was great with lots of space and the tiles on the bathroom floor were to die for! I want a floor like that!! And the roof top bar? Magic! With views of the Empire State building and a Manhattan in the glass, - who could ask for more? Well, we could ask for money in order to come back as soon as possible, I suppose... It certainly made our stay so special we'll come back as soon as the piggy bank allows us. Thank you to the entire staff, and in particular to Aziz and Basha - great guys!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We look forward to your next stay with us, MillarOslo2013--thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the refinery and I received such a very warm welcome back from them.

The hotel decor is great and it is spotless from the lobby to the rooms. You cannot ask for a better location. It is easy to go up, down or just walk anywhere from this hotel.

The staff really makes you feel special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for writing, Linda K--we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Excellent location, new, modern and sophisticated design. Nice details in the room, i.e. old Singer desk, 'newspaper' about the hotel, minibar at the desk. Beautiful bathroom, comfortable bed, high ceilings, wooden floors and surprisingly quiet rooms. One night the fire alarm went off twice; 1st time we were informed through the speakers that all was OK; 2nd time a bit later no information was given...we figured they'd come for us if it was urgent...turned out all was good. The roof top bar seemed to be very popular, in the evening one of the elevators was dedicated for this which worked nicely.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, Tamara V. We hope you will be making a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refinery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.