We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel in the heart of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refinery Hotel

Save Saved
You added Refinery Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Fans Special!
Ranked #15 of 451 hotels in New York City
Naples, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Amazing hotel in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the refinery and I received such a very warm welcome back from them.

The hotel decor is great and it is spotless from the lobby to the rooms. You cannot ask for a better location. It is easy to go up, down or just walk anywhere from this hotel.

The staff really makes you feel special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for writing, Linda K--we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    730
    177
    45
    9
    4
See reviews for
226
337
35
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Excellent location, new, modern and sophisticated design. Nice details in the room, i.e. old Singer desk, 'newspaper' about the hotel, minibar at the desk. Beautiful bathroom, comfortable bed, high ceilings, wooden floors and surprisingly quiet rooms. One night the fire alarm went off twice; 1st time we were informed through the speakers that all was OK; 2nd time a bit later no information was given...we figured they'd come for us if it was urgent...turned out all was good. The roof top bar seemed to be very popular, in the evening one of the elevators was dedicated for this which worked nicely.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, Tamara V. We hope you will be making a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Recently spent 10 days here after hearing the rave reviews on TA. We received a warm reception on arrival from Raymond , however the girl on reception appeared to be training and not very personable. Our room on the 9th floor was good size for New York, very stylish however we struggled with lack of storage. Overnight it is fine but for 2 women for 10 days we had to constantly find inventive ways of storing clothes/shopping. Highly recommend replacing bedside table to one with drawers so it is more functional. Bathroom large and beautifully styled. Would have loved a magnifying mirror on wall for make-up- had to buy one. Not happy with housekeeping as they didn't replenish toiletries when finished - had to write a note requesting body wash and still didn't get it- and yes, I did leave a tip. Never had this problem at any hotel I have stayed at. Called front desk and they promptly responded and followed up which was very good- I think there is an issue with housekeeping though - I even had a dirty hand towel placed back on the towel rack. Beds are superb and toiletries provided very good.

The location is excellent- close to everything but not noisy. The rooftop bar is stunning - very impressive and worth a look. The staff on the door and reception area always give a warm welcome on your return. Big shout out to Raymond- great service. Would stay there again but think a couple of minor changes would have made this an excellent stay, rather than "very good".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for posting, Shelbymary. While we are sorry to hear that there was any inconvenience caused by housekeeping or decor, we are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here in June of 2013 when it was just opening. Top class hotel and the staff have a huge attention to detail which does not go unnoticed. Perfect location and also has a rooftop bar which was just opening during our stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post, Lavery91. We greatly appreciate your kind words and look forward to your staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We checked into the Refinery hotel for a 2-week stay while our Manhattan apartment was under renovation. This modern and chic hotel, located in Manhattan's midtown beating heart, is an oasis away from all the busy.

Checking in, we met Alice-- The beauty behind the desk-- Alice welcomed us on many evenings with chilled glasses of white wine. Her knowledge about "whats up, and whats hot" in the area provided for an excellent stay.

Alice and the rest of the staff welcomed us as if was our own home. Our room was lofty and large, and the bathroom was classy and sexy. Service, stellar. Rooftop, the it-place. Restaurant, delicious.

I would like to pay kudos to Mayna, the director of sales, who made this all run smooth-- she also happens to be the brilliant brain behind this seamless operation.

~~ We will be back~~

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that we could be a home away from home, SteeleTravel. We hope you will be visiting again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandalia, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Brand-new hotel (opened June, 2013). The staff is absolutely terrific: personality plus and willing to please. The entry jazz bar and the rooftop bar seem to be popular destinations. Located a short 4 blocks to Times Sq., Empire State Bldg. and only a block to subway station - so, location is primo for a sightseeing holiday. The elevators and room doors use a faulty technology (your room key activates the elevator and unlocks the door with a swoosh motion; but, it isn't close to ready for customers and only works 50% of the time. The rooms are snazzily, artistically, retro, modernly appointed - BUT, obviously the decor was way more important to the designer than utility. The shower has an exterior brass piping that is impossible to adjust and the shower head is still a mystery to me on how to adjust. Brass rails in the bathroom weren't placed properly and don't allow for the toilet seat to be raised. The bed was not comfortable at all! While there is coffee in the lobby, there is not a maker in the room (which even downscale hotels provide) - no fridge in room. Poorly insulated as you can hear the lightest movement from the floor above and through the walls. It's apparent that the conceptulization team ran over budget on paintings, nouveau lighting and the look at the expense of required basics. It you want a trendy atmosphere > this might be for you; but, a fail on expected room and hotel amenities.

Room Tip: you'll be sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for posting and acknowledging our staff, Jack F. While we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our decor, I hope you will visit us again in the future as we continue to refine our space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Due to great experiences with two colleagues, I recently stayed at the Refinery Hotel. It has been open 6 months and the staff are polished, professional and very helpful. They really go out of their way to ensure you are happy.

From our arrival to departure, we were so well looked after by Basha, he is a real asset.

The rooms are just lovely and the beds are easily the most comfortable I have ever experienced. Like sleeping on a cloud!

Room Tip: I don't think there could be a room that is not lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, diamond56--we're glad we could provide such a comfortable and pleasant stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refinery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.