We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Totally Hip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Refinery Hotel to your Saves list
Refinery Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Tripadvisor Fan Special!
Ranked #20 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and Totally Hip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the Refinery Hotel this past weekend. The rooms were simply appointed with industrial chic, which is one of my favorite styles. The stand-up shower was huge and the bath products were fantastic. Also, there were USB plugs everywhere, so charging devices was a snap.

Some of the highlights were the cocktails on Saturday night at Fernando's Lobby Bar... highly recommended mixologist. Also, we got a reservation to have a cocktail up on the rooftop which is also highly recommended.

Other than this hotel being an awesome place, the people that work there are fantastic! Basha was fantastic at making sure the hotel was comfortable and inviting, the front desk staff was efficient and super friendly, the elevator guy to the rooftop was welcoming with a scosh of snarkiness (perfect!) and I already mentioned Fernando.

If you want a comfortable yet ultra-hip hotel... stay at the Refinery.

Room Tip: Be polite and nice. That's usually a good tip. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are happy to hear you had a comfortable stay with us, BosMattie. Thank you for your review, we hope you will be visiting again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    310
    72
    14
    8
See reviews for
343
569
54
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

On my recent visit to New York I stayed at the refinery hotel. The location was prime near all the boutiques and restaurants. The service at the Hotel was 5 Stars especially the front desk associate Mossine who assisted me in obtaining an ideal room. If you are young and would like a hip place to stay try this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your post, Yayareynoso--we look forward to your returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a well located hotel in midtown manhattan. Very nice bedrooms of good size. It has a nice atmosphere, not to big as a hotel and perfectly formed. The lobby is stylish and the staff are attentive without being a pain. The hotel has two excellent bars. One on the 13th floor and the other is located on the ground floor and is more like a genuine pub. It is busy and jumping with action. They also serve an excellent well priced breakfast here. I would definitely recommend the hotel and have already done so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We appreciate your recommendation, gringottsgoblin, and hope you will be returning to New York and Refinery Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I just returned from a 5 night stay and have many good things to say about this new boutique loft hotel. Its staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The attached restaurant and bar (Parker & Quinn) offers a great place to relax, enjoy a glass of wine or micro-brew, and have a good meal after a long day. The rooftop bar is a real find in Manhattan, offering great views and ambience. The room size is adequate, the bed and linens very comfortable, the furnishings simple and contemporary. The bath is well appointed. Ask for a center room and you won't believe how quiet it is--easily the quietest room I've had in NYC.

Room Tip: Center rooms are exceptionally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are happy knowing you enjoyed a quiet and comfortable stay, Carla G. Thank you for your review, we look forward to your visiting again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I only stayed one night, but it made an impression. Having artwork in the rooms on canvas--not prints under glass--is a subtle design decision that makes you feel like the hotel is treating you like an adult. Nice touch with the hotel services being listed on a vintage "newspaper." Since it had a hallway, it felt bigger than it probably was.

I was on a lower floor, so I kept my blinds down mostly--otherwise, I think I would have been visible from the street!

The bathroom has the highest shower door I've ever seen. Not sure it's necessary, but might be good for tall people. Also, the best robes ever! I almost bought one, it's so cozy.

Went up to the large rooftop bar area on a Saturday night with friends and it was hopping. The roof is retractable, so I want to go back when it's colder to see the difference. Such a beautiful view! If you're a guest of the hotel, I believe that you can go up there more easily than if not.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor so you're not practically looking at people on street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and acknowledging the amazing artwork we have throughout the hotel, travelspye. We hope you will be visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just completed an 8 night stay at Refinery Hotel. Nice very well located property with good staff and well above average standard for a NY 4*/5* Hotel. Excellent well appointed room and no complaints. Would definitely return and believed price paid reflected good value for hotel and location. Did not find staff overly friendly ( I thought the balance just about right ) but have to mention Basha out front a genuinely helpful guy. Would have spent more time at The Rooftop Bar but felt intimidated going there because of rather odd policy of screening hotel guests before allowing admission.

Room Tip: Room 915 is a corner room with dual aspect overlooking 6th Ave ( earplugs available from reception f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your post, The O. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Spacious rooms, but try to stay at the higher floors to limit traffic noise. Nice attention to detail, just look at the mosaic bathroom floor.
Rooftop bar is the greatest benefit of this hotel. Glass ceiling with a view on the Empire State Building and a relaxed atmosphere. Can be difficult to find a place if you join later.
Very helpful staff, although getting a taxi took us quite a while. The Uber app proved to be a much faster solution.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, Matthijs K--we hope to welcome you back to Refinery Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refinery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.