We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our hotel choice for NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Refinery Hotel to your Saves list
Refinery Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Fans Special!
Ranked #17 of 459 Hotels in New York City
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our hotel choice for NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had such a lovely time at the Refinery hotel. It is in an ideal location and close to a subway. The hotel itself is a calm, clean and welcoming place. We found the staff friendly and helpful.

Our room was huge! The beds were very comfortable and we were supplied plenty of towels which were changed daily. The Le Lab toiletries were gorgeous! There was also bathrobes, hairdryer, a safe, ipod docking/radio and iron/ironing board.

Although we didn't book a package which included breakfast (I wish we had now!) we ended up eating in the Parks & 3 out of the 5 days we were there as they were delicious. But I think one of the best parts of the hotel was the roof terrace - not to be missed!

This hotel is definitely our choice in NYC from now on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are proud to be your first choice, vlbell01. We greatly look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    249
    62
    12
    6
See reviews for
295
447
48
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Refinery is very modern in design and with reasonable size rooms

The Positive
Roof to bar with view of Empire state is great but a tad expensive
Comfortable beds
Excellent staff meet and greet
New and clean
Location near Bryant park and underground is excellent

The Negative
Everything is in shades of grey, which coming from the Crosby St Hotel in SoHo a few days before, which is very bright and colourful, is a bit of a let down.
Only single basin in our bathroom
No make up mirror
Little storage for bags
We had problems with different concierge over a few days, which got sorted by the manager, and I think their inexperience showed a bit here

I would recommend if you are after a hotel which presents just a little bit differently.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We value your feedback, Rob V. Thank you for your review--we hope you will be visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days in August this year as a family.
The rooms are big for NYC standard. The bathrooms lovely. Infact over all really nice!
The main thing that I loved was the rooftop bar... the views are amazing!
The door men were all lovely & couldn't do enough to make our stay good!
We are going back to New York in November, I will be booking the hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Your enthusiasm is much appreciated PB1Oxford. We are excited to be welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a new hotel and it shows. Very well kitted out with a real effort made to bring some industrial chic to a very very smart hotel. We spent four nights in one of the Atelier suites really nice long rooms the best of which have views of the Empire State Building. Great beds nice furniture and bathroom with walk in shower. No bath , fancy lighting system that actually works. The roof top terrace is brilliant great lively bar open to the elements with good views and excellent light food menu. The cocktail bar on ground floor again is excellent very well done and comfortable. The main restaurant is adjoined to a British type pub. It seems to work quite well and the food is good if a little limited. What could be better , well the rooms are really noisy the sound proofing is not good so you get a lot of road noise and also hear a lot of internal noise. The staff are generally great but we found the concierges really nice but not very good. Overall a really nice hotel at a reasonable price in a good part of the city. We would definitely come again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for posting, Dave381381. We will look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Awesome experience! As a native New Yorker now living in Atlanta, I stayed at the Refinery in the Atelier Executive Suite this weekend for the US Open. The Refinery offers you Soho luxury and atmosphere in Midtown. Staff was excellent, decor is design forward (furniture, lighting, fixtures are spot on), and location is central and convenient. Near Macy's, all the shops on 34th Street, short walk to Bryant Park and to Times Square. Subway is two short blocks away on 36th. I've found a new home in New York. As the folks say in Georgia, I'll see y'all real soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We look forward to seeing you real soon, Lacoste68! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The 4 of us stayed at Refinery for 2 nights during the US Open Tennis. We had a room with double queen beds and we liked the room and the bathroom and the hotel in general. The location is a huge plus.The roof top bar has amazing night views of the Empire State Building and a nice ambiance. All bar and snacks items in the room are on motion sensor so if you move an item that will send a charge message to the lobby. Thankfully we notice this being fine printed on a card in the room but still got charged after the check out for 2 bottles of water that we did not consumed. What a great method of overcharging you place something in the middle of a night stand on a room with 4 people and wait for that to move. I called the hotel and explain them that we did not use any of the bar or snack in the room and they refunded the money. Beside this post stay event we enjoyed our days at Refinery and I would highly recommend it and book it again if in New York City.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation, atneba. We apologize for any confusion and are glad that everything was sorted in a timely manner. We look forward to your returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My mom and I stayed at the Refinery in late August and I am happy to say that all the glowing reviews are very accurate. I want to give a special thanks to the wonderful front door staff - so welcoming, friendly and helpful (much more so than the cab driver - but it is New York)!

Ray took our bags and after our quick check-in showed us to our room and it did not disappoint. I have not stayed in that many NY hotels, but I know how notoriously small they can be. We stayed in a queen room on the 11th floor (I think we were on 39th St) and it was very spacious for two people. I loved the bathroom and the toiletries were very high end. The bed was very comfortable and very much appreciated after walking all day in the heat and humidity.

We did get to the rooftop bar and had drinks - it is beautiful and what a view of the Empire State Building, but you will pay for this view.

I do not think this hotel will stay a secret for much longer as the customer service is first rate. My only feedback is that the rooms could use more clothing storage and it took a bit to figure out the lighting and shower controls, but these were minor in view of the whole stay.

When it was time for us to leave after our 4 night stay, Ray retrieved our luggage from storage (as our flight did not leave until 6 PM), went out into the pouring rain, hailed us a cab and put our very heavy bags into the trunk. He was the best and truly an ambassador of first rate customer service.

Thanks to all of the staff...we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for recognizing our customer service, Barbara A--we are glad that you had a pleasant stay and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refinery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.