We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits the mark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Refinery Hotel to your Saves list
Refinery Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Tripadvisor Fan Special!
Ranked #20 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Hits the mark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at Refinery hotel for two nights, in the City for my brother's wedding. The rooms are incredibly well-appointed, from nifty light-switches to lovely bathroom tile, high ceilings, and beautiful furniture. I stayed in a studio king, which met my needs perfectly. My parents had a larger room, with two beds and more space than my San Francisco apartment! The staff were incredibly attentive and snazzy in their suspenders; the elevators have cool analog-retro floor indicators. I snuck a peek at the roof deck bar while the finishing touches were being completed (supposed to open soon)--I'm so jealous that I missed being able have a drink and look out at a great view the city up 38th and over at the MetLife. I had a drink at the associated first floor restaurant--good beer selection; bartender needs a bit of polishing though. The gym had dumbells, treadmills, ellipticals, and one of those combo machines with a cheese-grater pull-up bar. Air-conditioned well, water available, and giant flatscreen TV.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, Ellen K. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our uniforms--we are certainly proud of our unique style by G-Star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    334
    77
    18
    9
See reviews for
358
616
57
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It was a delight to stay at the Refinery Hotel. A boutique hotel which it's design and concept create a wonderful experience for the guests. Huge rooms , modern but yet very warm and welcoming. Great location near Bryant park. I will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, sberlo, and thank you for noticing the details of our design. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at the Refinery for one night with my girlfriend at the end of a week's holiday in the US before returning to the UK. The hustle and bustle of the city is easily forgotten as you step into this quiet, stylish and comfortable hotel - a real tonic from the occasional madness of NYC. The customer service is excellent; every member of staff was polite, friendly and chatty - a note of praise must go to the reception and door staff who really tried their best to fit in any requests we had. We were upgraded to a Studio King - a super stylish room that cannot be faulted; a huge bed (fantastic night's sleep) and a large bathroom with a powerful watering can shower... The addition of 'Le Labo' toiletries was a revelation (thank God you can buy them in London!). Cannot wait to return.

Worthy of inclusion in HIP hotels and Mr. & Mrs. Smith guides.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your post, E S, so glad you could enjoy our serene setting and Le Labo toiletries! Cannot wait to have you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It was very pleasant stay in the hotel all the four days we stayed. Oh yes, the Doormen, reception staff and the bar manager, they were all there for you to make you feel very comfortable.
The finishes and the decore were all done tastefully. Excellent location. You can just walk to Broadway Theatres or Time Square.
Thanks to all those working there with their smiling faces, you are all great asset to the Hotel.
I will definitely recommend this hotel to enjoy NYC. Didn't used the swimming pool and fitness services so can't comment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your post Maninder P! Your recommendation and kind words are so important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just came back from a trip at the hotel. The rooms are great, very well appointed and very comfortable. However, the staff was terrific. friendly and doing everything they could to make our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: From Renit (front office manager) to Albert (guest service manager) to Matthew who helped with getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, Ron74, and for recognizing our team's great work--we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

just came off two and a half weeks in France and London and had a layover in NYC for the night and discovered a gem of a place - The Refinery Hotel. The staff was incredibly helpful and genuinely caring and the finishes and decor were tastefully classic with generous room sizes and really wonderful bath hardware, great ambient lighting and many elegant small touches... will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
So happy you found us, timkyne, and that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for posting and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is run by friendly and thoughtful staffs, with nice decor.

I booked a room in this hotel as a honeymoon gift for my newly wedded elder sister and my brother in law. I booked this room on short notice, and everything went smoothly, from the booking to the planning!!

After booking the room, I liased with the hotel, asking if they could help me make some nice arrangements for the two lovebirds. Within 12 hours they replied to my query, and immediately were very enthusiastic and kind about the whole thing! Fantastic service!

My sis and my bro in law also had lots of positive things to say about the hotel! They usually always stay at the St. Regis when they are in NY, but they kindly accepted my gift and cancelled their stay at Regis. They were pleased with the hotel, bustling with energy.

The location is also very strategic, it's a 5 mins walk to fifth avenue, grad central, and the subway is nearby! My brother in laws only complaint to me: my sis went on a shopping spree in fifth and Madison Avenue, and he had to lug around 10 shopping bags back to the hotel ;)))

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, ChanelxHermes—we always do our best to make every stay relaxing and memorable. We were happy to assist you and your family—we hope you visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refinery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.