We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of ancient Rome in Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aire Ancient Bath

Aire Ancient Bath
Franklin Street 86-88, New York City, NY (TriBeCa)
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Little bit of ancient Rome in Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After checking in and changing in the wonderful locker/shower rooms, you then descend into a world I could not imagine existed in New York City. You walk down the steps into a very large room lit entirely by candles on the floor and in the walls and underwater lights. These combined with the brick walls and tall columns extending to the wooden ceiling create an amazing ambience.

Inside are three baths (one with bubble jets) of increasing temperature (from 98 to about 103), along with a salt water 'Dead Sea' bath and two cold (58 and 50 degrees!) plunge pools. There is also a steam room with eucalyptus aromatherapy.

After spending time in the baths and in the steam room, we alternated several times between the cold pools and the steam room. There is also a heated bench for relaxing..the bustling city and world above could not have seemed further away! On the night we went (Tuesday) there was also live Flamenco music being played by a duet.

The cost for a 2 hour visit is very reasonable, it is an experience not to be missed!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have been twice in this stunning place. The experience was extraordinary. For two hours we were really relaxed and happy, something it's hard to achieve in the middle of this bustling city. As soon as you walk in, you feel transported to another time, another place, very quite and peaceful. I loved the atmosphere with all the candles and soft music, the tea and the pools were great. At the end we had a relaxing massage that helps you to completely forget all your problems. The staff is very kind and helpful. In the changing rooms you can find everything, from lotion to hairdresser. The price wasn´t expensive and definitely worth it.
I strongly reccomend Ancient Baths NY to anyone!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

An Oasis in the center of Manhattan. Quiet and peaceful. THe best if the salty pool where you can easily float. It feels so good to be weightless.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
“An Experience You Will Never Forget, AIRE ANCIENT BATHS NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you want to have one of the most incredible experiences of your life, you must visit the AIRE Ancient Baths in New York. Stunning architecture takes you back to the historical atmosphere of the ancient Roman sensations.. Each and every person who walks through the doors, feels transported in time, then obligated to disconnect and relax in the candle lights with warm tea. Each guest is treated like royalty, combined with a sensational massage, just enough to make you forget the worries in the real world. New Yorkers shoudl take advantage of this European Spa and visitors should not miss this new sensation of a bit of Europe in NY.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Staycation or to Escape Urban NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I had an amazing experience at Aire Ancient baths this weekend. We benefited from an upgrade of a 30 minute massage to 45 minute massages due to an ongoing promotion right now. The massage was one of the best I've had in New York, and following it up with the roman bath pools, and the dead sea pool (my favorite) was a great way to unwind after a crazy week at work. You will leave incredibly refreshed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aire Ancient Bath also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Aire Ancient Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aire Ancient Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.