We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Asian Cuisine

Shanghai Asian Cuisine
14 Elizabeth Street, New York City, NY (Chinatown)
Improve this listing
Ranked #569 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: good food for a good price
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Really enjoyed the food, steamed wine chicken very good, also had the double cooked spicy pork yummy, very nice interior, excellent service.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dinner for a weary traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The food was very good. Service was also excellent. A few of the waitstaff were very fluent in English. They were accommodating when we asked to change tables for a better view. The Jasmine tea served to all guests was excellent. Our order was prepared and served in a timely fashion. Seating was comfortable and we were well taken care of. I would recommend this establishment to anyone seeking an authentic, well prepared meal at reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“You want to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Cash only. Fortunately, you won't need much cash to have a great meal. Try the pancakes, soup dumplings and pork dumplings. Plus, unlimited hot tea.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Decent shao long bao, clean, helpful waitstaff, cash ONLY...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Mostly locals having 7-ish dinner... We just arrived at 7 AM and it was lunchtime at home. Hubby ordered #125 Shanghai lo mein with mixed meat and shrimp for $7.75 and I went for #2 & 3 Steamed & Fried tiny buns with pork $4.75 each. Ate the steamed ones as they have the hot soup inside and don't do well the next day. I had ordered too much and opted to take the fried tiny buns home in case I got up later hungry. Dishes were reasonably priced and mostly local Chinese.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Brook, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yummy to my tummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Easy to find thank you trip advisor! Walked in, filled with locals, got to sit at a round table in the back with 2 men who were regulars. How lucky! They helped us navigate the menu and we ended up with the Best Chinese lunch EVER!! Tiny buns aka dumplings with soup inside have spoiled us! The noodles, the Kung pao everything even the tea was the best in New York. And the lovely gentleman sitting with us said he had just returned from Hong Kong and said even there the tiny buns were not as good. High praise!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Asian Cuisine also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shanghai Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Asian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.