We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Anniversary Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafele

Rafele
29 7th Ave. South, New York City, NY 10014 (West Village)
+1 212-242-1999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rafele is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Morton st,
Transit: The nearest subway stations are: West4 on 6th ave where A,C,E,D,B,F,M trains are available and Christopher st station where number 1 train is available.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“25th Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was quite a treat. We wanted Italian food but my husband is pretty particular about what he eats. Fortunately, Jay at CPI called ahead and my husband's favorite (chicken marsala w/penne) was available that evening. The atmosphere is great and the food was excellent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    101
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Every bit worth the rating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We decided to check out Rafele on our recent trip across the US east cost, because of its glowing Tripadvisor reviews. While it might not be a typical 'destination' restaurant, it is a great neighborhood restaurant in the West Village. The ambiance is pleasant and the service is excellent. We absolutely loved the swordfish, calamari and shrimp grill. The only downer, was the Pasta Bolognese, which could've had more flavour.

Even the staff did a great job of explaining the wine menu - we got a complementary glass of wine on arrival. This place is definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Needed to go back and did!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We found out about Rafele's from having it be one of the stops on a food tour we were on in Greenwich Village. We learned about a meal opportunity called "Chef's Choice" where Rafele caters to the group based on individual preferences/dietary needs such as if someone has a gluten allergy or issue with dairy or pork, he will cater to that and create a wonderful four course meal that left us more than satisfied. I believe this offer was in conjunction though with having been a part of the food tour, but at least worth inquiring about. Never the less, the waitstaff were courteous and professional (even re-folding my cloth napkin while I was in the bathroom). Our group of four thought the food was wonderful. When we go back to NYC, Rafele's will certainly be on our to-do list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place is overrated. The food is average at best. The pasta is just ok, while as the pizza is mediocre

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
606 reviews 606 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Good neighbourhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is not a 'destination' restaurant for those seeking a trendy NYC experience. It is however a really good neighbourhood restaurant in the West Village. Decor is pleasant and service good. The meal was excellent...octopus to start followed by a linguini bolognese and a mixed seafood grill of swordfish, calamri and shrimp. Together with a nice bottle of Pinot Grigio the bill came to less than $75 per head plus tip, which is good value in NYC.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafele also viewed

 

Been to Rafele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.