We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weak on service and below expectations food wise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rafele

Rafele
29 7th Ave. South, New York City, NY 10014
+1 212-242-1999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rafele is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Morton st,
Transit: The nearest subway stations are: West4 on 6th ave where A,C,E,D,B,F,M trains are available and Christopher st station where number 1 train is available.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Weak on service and below expectations food wise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Service was only ok - the team seemed pretty rushed and a little disinterested in customers tbh
We chose from the specials as they sold them to us pretty convincingly and sounded good
After we ordered we waited about ten minutes then waiter came over and said there was no more of what my partner had ordered so had to re select
Not a massive problem but a bit annoying as waiter should have known (he'd actually given us the wrong specials menu)
The food was ok too but nothing special and orders came incorrectly and side order vegetables were so tasteless we left them
Staff bus boys dropped things and made us jump and then didn't apologise - just weak on service so coupled with the above, very forgettable food and nearly $200 for three of us without appetizers means we won't be coming back. Too many fantastic options nearby ! We were disappointed considering TA rating and commentary.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    83
    18
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
“the best italian in nyc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great space and great food. To try: polpetine, arancini and pasta with mushrooms.
best chicken and ricotta cheese cake ever. great italian wine list. warm and friendly service. enjoy

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Out of the chaotic NY to a sunny Italian province.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is one of our favorite Italian restaurants in NY. We like to sit there and chat with its owners (from Southern Italy), though the place can’t boast with a central location. We like it because it has a feel of a real Italian restaurant and love its simple but authentic Italian cuisine. There’re at least two things to test if the restaurant is a real Italian eatery or not – artichokes (carciofi) and focaccia – and both are fantastic in Rafele. Plus fantastic caponata, one of the best grilled octopus (polpo), and of course, fantastic pasta and a very good selection of wines. Besides it has a very cozy and spacy interior of some rustic Mediterranean villa with plenty of flowers and jars with pickles, olives etc. And what’s even more important for chaotic NY – this is the restaurant with personal attitude which is the rarest thing in NY!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“Felt like I was back in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place IS italy.

The food is very authentic to southern Italy. Truly amazing!

This is very much a local restaurant. The tourists you see here must have found out about it from a local!

The chef, formerly at Palma (another great restaurant nearby) has done a great job. The restaurant looks like a restaurant would look like in Italy, except more modern. There is a nice open kitchen. Food is authentic and delicious.

We had wine, the special scallop dish as an appetizer, the special butternut squash ravioli dish, a fettucini with mushrooms and truffles dish, and they brought us a delicious bread with eggplant and roasted red peppers. Plus, as a treat, they gave us free glasses of prosecco and the delicious ricotta cheese cheesecake for free too at the end of our meal. It was great and practically floated off the plate it was so light!

All in all, a great location, a great atmosphere, friendly service, and terrific authentic Italian food. Hands down the best of the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Viva l'Italia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were staying in Greenwich Village from Dec 28, 2012 - Jan 1, 2013 and happened upon this wonderful restaurant. The atmosphere was warm and friendly and the service impeccable. Our server suggested the specials and we were treated to the most amazing Capesante Con Caviale I have ever tasted, we also enjoyed the baked mozzarella and our dessert Semifreddo...to die for To our pleasant surprise Chef Raffaele came to our table and shared with us his preparations regarding our meals. What a fantastic experience! Thanks so much, we will be back and we will tell everyone we know how amazing this place is! :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafele also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Rafele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.